• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Scarlet's Walk Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The suddenly prolific Amos returns with 18 new tracks, begging the question: Y Kant Tori Capitalize Her Song Titles? The album, her first for Epic, is structured as a cross-country journey through the U.S.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. 100
    Uncommonly rich and unfashionably gynocentric, Scarlet's Walk makes the personal universal, using the stories of women lost, left and unseen to chart a map of the American psyche. [#11, p.124]
  2. A magnificent, epic take on American history and mythology.
  3. 90
    As usual, her melodies stubbornly refuse to turn into hooks, preferring to twirl into new territory. But her approach suits the material, which flows like the colors on a weather map, from Los Angeles to Nevada, from New York to Virginia, gathering thunder along the way. [Nov 2002]
  4. Amid all the elegantly sweeping, minor-key arrangements are the usual aggravating moments.
  5. Yes, it’s a concept album, but it’s not crap. Actually, Scarlet’s Walk is very suitable for an artist with Amos’ capacity for spewing drama from her intense and highly articulated words.
  6. Walk isn't groundbreaking as much as typical Tori Amos--a dramatic menagerie of atmospheric tracks filled with manic piano, morose characters and so many literary allusions you'll need CliffsNotes to figure 'em out.
  7. Cumulative effect? Soul-depleting. [1 Nov 2002, p.70]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 4 out of 72
  1. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Not only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The albumNot only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world with us, unedited. The lyrics are definitely not mumbo jumbo, I'd rather say they're like a stream of consciousness in a similar literary vein to James Joyce, but where with Joyce the reader has to rely on intellectual effort, with Tori Amos this kind of literal understanding is not necessary because the music and the voice give so many emotional and spiritual clues to what the meaning behind the words is. I disagree with JoeSixpack's view that this album is overcompressed, let alone the most overcompressed of our times. I wonder if JoeSixpack has heard any chart pop over the past 10 years. No, this is a beautifully engineered album, as well as produced, written and performed. Collapse
  2. annan
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    An amazing album and the best one shes done.
  3. JamesS
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    Without sacrificing her style, Tori Amos has evolved her music to one which allows for a wider listening audience. My parents even love it!
  4. Bratt
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Contains some of her best material yet. The last track, "Gold Dust" is just that. Stunningly powerful. This album feels like a best friend. I Contains some of her best material yet. The last track, "Gold Dust" is just that. Stunningly powerful. This album feels like a best friend. I don't feel her work has got the credit it deserves. There's so much here of value. Expand
  5. RandyB
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    This concept album about a girl named Scarlet (an alter ego for Tori I suspect) going on a cross-country road-trip is in so many ways pretty. This concept album about a girl named Scarlet (an alter ego for Tori I suspect) going on a cross-country road-trip is in so many ways pretty. Sometimes it Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    There are songs that fail to attract my attention, such as "Do not make me come to Vegas" or "Sweet Sangria". The truth is that I care muchThere are songs that fail to attract my attention, such as "Do not make me come to Vegas" or "Sweet Sangria". The truth is that I care much about the rhythm of the tracks (even more so than the lyrics itself). From the time you hear "Taxi ride" or "Virginia" I consider them as treasures of the master tori-pieces. Expand
  7. jamesb
    Nov 6, 2002
    1
    don't trust any reviewer that thinks they're on a first-name basis with tori amos. here's the truth about this thing. don't trust any reviewer that thinks they're on a first-name basis with tori amos. here's the truth about this thing. it's about 10 songs too long. it's completely irrelevant. it will only appeal to her core fanbase and select members of the VH1 crowd who live for this kind of sentimental fluff. nobody needs to hear this. completely irrelevant. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews