Scarlet's Walk

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Scarlet's Walk Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The suddenly prolific Amos returns with 18 new tracks, begging the question: Y Kant Tori Capitalize Her Song Titles? The album, her first for Epic, is structured as a cross-country journey through the U.S.

Top Track

A Sorta Fairytale
On my way up north, up on the Ventura I pulled back the hood and I was talking to you And I knew then it would be a life long thing But I didn't know... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Blender
    100
    Uncommonly rich and unfashionably gynocentric, Scarlet's Walk makes the personal universal, using the stories of women lost, left and unseen to chart a map of the American psyche. [#11, p.124]
  2. A magnificent, epic take on American history and mythology.
  3. Spin
    90
    As usual, her melodies stubbornly refuse to turn into hooks, preferring to twirl into new territory. But her approach suits the material, which flows like the colors on a weather map, from Los Angeles to Nevada, from New York to Virginia, gathering thunder along the way. [Nov 2002]
  4. Amid all the elegantly sweeping, minor-key arrangements are the usual aggravating moments.
  5. Yes, it’s a concept album, but it’s not crap. Actually, Scarlet’s Walk is very suitable for an artist with Amos’ capacity for spewing drama from her intense and highly articulated words.
  6. Walk isn't groundbreaking as much as typical Tori Amos--a dramatic menagerie of atmospheric tracks filled with manic piano, morose characters and so many literary allusions you'll need CliffsNotes to figure 'em out.
  7. Entertainment Weekly
    16
    Cumulative effect? Soul-depleting. [1 Nov 2002, p.70]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Not only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The albumNot only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world with us, unedited. The lyrics are definitely not mumbo jumbo, I'd rather say they're like a stream of consciousness in a similar literary vein to James Joyce, but where with Joyce the reader has to rely on intellectual effort, with Tori Amos this kind of literal understanding is not necessary because the music and the voice give so many emotional and spiritual clues to what the meaning behind the words is. I disagree with JoeSixpack's view that this album is overcompressed, let alone the most overcompressed of our times. I wonder if JoeSixpack has heard any chart pop over the past 10 years. No, this is a beautifully engineered album, as well as produced, written and performed. Expand
  2. TrixieL
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I love this album, nuff said
  3. Katie
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    The more I listen to this CD, the more I love it! In Tori's new version of old music, she states her messages in ways normal, unplagued The more I listen to this CD, the more I love it! In Tori's new version of old music, she states her messages in ways normal, unplagued people can understand. Tori is so awesome! Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2017
    10
    "Scarlet's Walk" is a milestone in Tori Amos's career. After a first decade of music marked by alternative rock and electronica (1992-2002),"Scarlet's Walk" is a milestone in Tori Amos's career. After a first decade of music marked by alternative rock and electronica (1992-2002), the American artist stepped into the realms of AOR and folk to deliver an album that works as a "sonic novel", telling the story of Scarlet, an archetypal female character that travels through the United States in search of her own identity: during her trip, Scarlet meets people in very different circumstances, from pornstars to cowboys, and delves into the history of the Native Americans, also dealing with topics such as politics, mental illness, homophobia and death. The music is lush and sensual, but never feels overproduced or baroque; on the contrary, the songs benefit from a quite sparse production based on piano/keyboard, acoustic guitars and organic percussion, with the occasional accompaniment of strings ("Strange", "Mrs. Jesus", "Gold Dust"). The songs in "Scarlet's Walk" can be counted among Amos's best vocal performances ever. The single "A Sorta Fairytale" is a perfect example of the album's relaxed spirit, with most of the tracks being slow or midtempo numbers. Best songs: "A Sorta Fairytale", "Strange", "Carbon", "I Can't See New York", "Virginia", "Gold Dust". Expand
  5. AddieW
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    Some of her better work since Under the Pink... it's nice to see her get back to the roots that I fell in love listening to (wasn't Some of her better work since Under the Pink... it's nice to see her get back to the roots that I fell in love listening to (wasn't a big fan of Strange Little Girls). It's just nice to find an artist who does her own thing and has a fan base who deeply understands her. I've been a fan forever and will listen to her no matter what... but this able was a refreshing step back to all that is Tori Amos Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    There are songs that fail to attract my attention, such as "Do not make me come to Vegas" or "Sweet Sangria". The truth is that I care muchThere are songs that fail to attract my attention, such as "Do not make me come to Vegas" or "Sweet Sangria". The truth is that I care much about the rhythm of the tracks (even more so than the lyrics itself). From the time you hear "Taxi ride" or "Virginia" I consider them as treasures of the master tori-pieces. Expand
  7. jamesb
    Nov 6, 2002
    1
    don't trust any reviewer that thinks they're on a first-name basis with tori amos. here's the truth about this thing. don't trust any reviewer that thinks they're on a first-name basis with tori amos. here's the truth about this thing. it's about 10 songs too long. it's completely irrelevant. it will only appeal to her core fanbase and select members of the VH1 crowd who live for this kind of sentimental fluff. nobody needs to hear this. completely irrelevant. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews