Scarlet's Walk

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Scarlet's Walk Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The suddenly prolific Amos returns with 18 new tracks, begging the question: Y Kant Tori Capitalize Her Song Titles? The album, her first for Epic, is structured as a cross-country journey through the U.S.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Blender
    100
    Uncommonly rich and unfashionably gynocentric, Scarlet's Walk makes the personal universal, using the stories of women lost, left and unseen to chart a map of the American psyche. [#11, p.124]
  2. A magnificent, epic take on American history and mythology.
  3. Spin
    90
    As usual, her melodies stubbornly refuse to turn into hooks, preferring to twirl into new territory. But her approach suits the material, which flows like the colors on a weather map, from Los Angeles to Nevada, from New York to Virginia, gathering thunder along the way. [Nov 2002]
  4. Amid all the elegantly sweeping, minor-key arrangements are the usual aggravating moments.
  5. Yes, it’s a concept album, but it’s not crap. Actually, Scarlet’s Walk is very suitable for an artist with Amos’ capacity for spewing drama from her intense and highly articulated words.
  6. Walk isn't groundbreaking as much as typical Tori Amos--a dramatic menagerie of atmospheric tracks filled with manic piano, morose characters and so many literary allusions you'll need CliffsNotes to figure 'em out.
  7. Entertainment Weekly
    16
    Cumulative effect? Soul-depleting. [1 Nov 2002, p.70]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 75
  2. Negative: 4 out of 75
  1. Natasha
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part II...or Part II of just about any album she's made--don't hold it against Scarlet--and don't hold it against Tori--you should have stopped purchasing her albums at some point in 1998 for your own good! Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Not only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The albumNot only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world with us, unedited. The lyrics are definitely not mumbo jumbo, I'd rather say they're like a stream of consciousness in a similar literary vein to James Joyce, but where with Joyce the reader has to rely on intellectual effort, with Tori Amos this kind of literal understanding is not necessary because the music and the voice give so many emotional and spiritual clues to what the meaning behind the words is. I disagree with JoeSixpack's view that this album is overcompressed, let alone the most overcompressed of our times. I wonder if JoeSixpack has heard any chart pop over the past 10 years. No, this is a beautifully engineered album, as well as produced, written and performed. Expand
  3. Katie
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    The more I listen to this CD, the more I love it! In Tori's new version of old music, she states her messages in ways normal, unplagued The more I listen to this CD, the more I love it! In Tori's new version of old music, she states her messages in ways normal, unplagued people can understand. Tori is so awesome! Expand
  4. DamienB
    May 20, 2006
    10
    an amazing album and is deff. one of my fav. tori albums expecially virginia and gold dust!!!! if i may say A may zing@!!
  5. Bratt
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Contains some of her best material yet. The last track, "Gold Dust" is just that. Stunningly powerful. This album feels like a best friend. I Contains some of her best material yet. The last track, "Gold Dust" is just that. Stunningly powerful. This album feels like a best friend. I don't feel her work has got the credit it deserves. There's so much here of value. Expand
  6. AndreaN.
    Sep 25, 2005
    9
    Musically, this is unquestionably Tori Amos' best album since Under the Pink. Songs like "A Sorta Fairytale", "Taxi Ride", and Musically, this is unquestionably Tori Amos' best album since Under the Pink. Songs like "A Sorta Fairytale", "Taxi Ride", and "Virginia" are among the best she's every written. Personally, I love the fact that Amos's lyrics are often cryptic-- I don't consider her overly precious, and I suspect that she isn't really trying to make sense so much as contribute to a certain sonic vibe. This is one of my favourite albums, period. Expand
  7. jamesb
    Nov 6, 2002
    1
    don't trust any reviewer that thinks they're on a first-name basis with tori amos. here's the truth about this thing. don't trust any reviewer that thinks they're on a first-name basis with tori amos. here's the truth about this thing. it's about 10 songs too long. it's completely irrelevant. it will only appeal to her core fanbase and select members of the VH1 crowd who live for this kind of sentimental fluff. nobody needs to hear this. completely irrelevant. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews