Screaming Bloody Murder Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    They're no longer a phenomenon; instead, Sum 41 have continued to mature into a rather good band.
  2. 58
    Murder ultimately drowns in flavorless thrashing. [1 Apr 2011, p.77]
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    50
    While we believe that Sum 41 have the potential to succeed without the aid of power chords, the fact that only a handful of the musical ideas on the album are fully developed makes for a frustrating listening experience.
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    40
    Whibley cleans out his soul closet over operatic hard rock, rain-swept balladry and bad Green Day opera punk--often crammed into the same song. If he's trying to show breakups are arduous, it worked.
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Sadly, Sum 41 spread the good stuff far too thin over an ambitious but not always successful 15 songs, and, to paraphrase an old title of theirs, there's too much filler and not enough killer material to truly convince. [26 Mar 2011, p.52]
  6. Mar 31, 2011
    40
    They're still making forays into metal (Crash), but most Sum fans will agree that the band just hasn't been the same since guitarist Brownsound left town.
  7. Mar 29, 2011
    30
    Revolting, messy, lazy, and undeniably Sum 41, Screaming Bloody Murder is a dead band moaning in its grave. Any highlights here more or less just belong to other, better bands, or even Sum 41 themselves from the past.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    I think this is the best Sum 41 album... Very good songs... Screaming Bloody Murder the single was really good......................................... Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This album is a breath of fresh air for Sum 41. After their disappointing 2007 album "Underclass Hero", they've come back after a long break to prove themselves. Their song writing is much stronger this time around. Songs like Screaming Bloody Murder and Skumf*k have a very familiar Sum 41 sound, with a darker, heavier twist. They also have new songs like Blood In My Eyes, which has very strong guitar work, on the album. There are also two songs that are simply Rock n' Roll. 'Time For You To Go' and 'Baby You Don't Want To Know'. It is a very different direction for Sum41. Then there is 'Crash', which is one of the best ballads the band has ever come up with. I'm not one to listen to lyrics to often, but this song that was written about a car crash that front man Derek Whibley witnessed, really hit me.

    Overall, this is a very solid album. If you are a longtime Sum 41 fan, there are songs for you. If you are new to the band, there are many different styles found on Screaming Bloody Murder that are sure to suit some of our tastes. The album is much heavier than their last, and a very large improvement. I am extremely happy for the band. They took 4 years to make this album, but the extra time has seemed to pay off.
    Collapse
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Sum 41 have been developing real character in the past 2 albums.
    This new album really gives the band a more hard rock flavor, a la My
    Chemical Romance
    but with a different voice to it.
    Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    I have never looked forward as much as I have for this. Screaming Bloody Murder too put it simply is perfection. Catchy, more technical and heavier than other albums, my personal favourite! Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    It's a great album. And there are great messages in the lyrics. It lacks epic guitar solos from brown sound but its just amazing how great the songs are. RECOMENDED Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    I actually made an account due to the madness evident with the critic reviews. Make no mistake this is not only SUM 41's best album since All Killer (albeit with a different darker flavour) it is an excellent album full stop. Highly recommended Expand
  7. Oct 1, 2011
    3
    this album is very disapointing. i was expecting this band to grow and create there own style, instead they destroy there reputation as a band and at this point should disband Expand

See all 17 User Reviews