User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 139

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    4
    There is one saving grace to this album- The forboding Sense of Impending Happiness
    The rest is over filtered, over processed garbage. Again, Im a HIM fan, but this is the first album I've refused to buy. I bought the one good track on ITunes... I guess it can be credited to their new producer? The album feels like the band is trying to become 'Americanised', and at points you can hear
    There is one saving grace to this album- The forboding Sense of Impending Happiness
    The rest is over filtered, over processed garbage. Again, Im a HIM fan, but this is the first album I've refused to buy. I bought the one good track on ITunes... I guess it can be credited to their new producer? The album feels like the band is trying to become 'Americanised', and at points you can hear Ville forcing an american accent ("heart-killER") emphasizing certain parts of words that he normally dosent, and it really bothers me. Coming after an album as strong as 'Venus Doom' this is a complete letdown. If your a fan of their deep and dark music (and by deep, I dont mean the lyrics lol) then this album will leave you feeling..jipped.
    Expand
  2. AlexandraZ.
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    To me this album seemed to become something totally new from the band without them losing the features I have always loved them for.
  3. FredH.
    Feb 26, 2010
    8
    Aside from the autotuned mess that is the first track, this album is fantastic.
  4. IgorS.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    Very good album.
  5. IrynaA.
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Perfect album. Very impressive and passion.
  6. CoopE.
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Its so f*cking awesome i love from the first track "In Venere Veritas" to the space techno finisher "The Foreboding Sense Of Impending Happiness" its an amazing record its a new and improved sound from a break away from the "Love Metal" sound and which sounds like a up beat "Razorblade Romance" with a lot more keyboard synth sounds i love it its a great improvement on the new HIM sound.
  7. DinC.
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Great work. Great sound. And great band.
  8. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    The tracks' composition may seem similar but the great sound and nice lyrics make this album a must for H.I.M fans and is in my opinion their best just after Razorblade Romance.
  9. Aug 12, 2016
    8
    Although is not a bad album, I think H.I.M. tried to go a little bit more mainstream with this album.
    Something that will attract new listeners. Some kind of pop-rock choruses but other than that it still feels like H.I.M.
    Nice to see the band trying something a little different.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. This is a solid album, rife with brooding love metal and big choruses, but while this is HIM’s most accessible album to date it’s also the most unpalatable, as Ville takes one step too many towards self-satire.
  2. Alternative Press
    70
    When the band are a little more concrete and less spooky, the results are especially compelling, but Screamworks is ultimately successful in its blending of melody and muscle. [Mar 2010, p.90]
  3. The material sits within the band’s canon well enough to please longtime fans, and listeners looking for some kind of middle ground between Evanescence, late-period Queensrÿche and Fall Out Boy will more than likely find a few wicked gems to hang their heads to.