Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Their first album in almost two decades, David Roback and Hope Sandoval are on stunning form. [Oct 2013, p.71]
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Mazzy Star may not have evolved much over the past 17 years, but Season Of Your Day proves they never, ever need to. [Oct 2013, p.88]
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    Sandoval and her collaborators may never modify the melancholy torch that they bear, but they keep that fire masterfully for those of us who still have a yen for patient, no-frills sounds that happen to serve as a miracle balm.
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    82
    It’s the aural equivalent of sweet syrup—slow, molasses-y and utterly satisfying.
  5. 85
    There’s nothing particularly new here, nothing cutting edge, but there is beautiful, considered, genuine songwriting, and to greet such art with any kind of disdain would be nothing short of a travesty.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    lush. lovely. sad. contemplative. beautiful. dreamy. country. reminiscent. reflective. another magnum opus by a very talented and interestinglush. lovely. sad. contemplative. beautiful. dreamy. country. reminiscent. reflective. another magnum opus by a very talented and interesting band. welcome back, mazzy star. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Sounds like they picked up right where they left off in the 90's and overall it's a very impressive album from start to finish. "Spoon" andSounds like they picked up right where they left off in the 90's and overall it's a very impressive album from start to finish. "Spoon" and "Flying Low" push their sound out the slightest bit further without changing what they are. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    This album feels like a love letter to the fans who've missed Mazzy Star. Their sound is broader but it's very true to what I found beautifulThis album feels like a love letter to the fans who've missed Mazzy Star. Their sound is broader but it's very true to what I found beautiful about previous albums. The Kingdom is real high point to the album and it drew me back to when I first discovered this band. It's the first song and it sets the tone for a bittersweet album. The artwork too, is great and very true to their image as a band. I'm not poetic like some reviewers and it's difficult to articulate what the image and music evokes but it's some type of a relaxed-almost melancholy-but-somehow-inspirational feeling. I haven't heard much music that can do this and it takes skill and passion to do what they do.

    For people who've never listened to Mazzy Star, I believe this album is definitely something that could speak to people of different ages and backgrounds. It's also consistent with who they are and has a seductive, melodic, ephemeral sound that is reminiscent of their other songs. It's great to hear that they're still making music and it was worth the wait. Check them out.
    Full Review »