Seasons of Your Day Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the California alternative rock band includes appearances from all the original band members.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    Sandoval and her collaborators may never modify the melancholy torch that they bear, but they keep that fire masterfully for those of us who still have a yen for patient, no-frills sounds that happen to serve as a miracle balm.
  2. 85
    There’s nothing particularly new here, nothing cutting edge, but there is beautiful, considered, genuine songwriting, and to greet such art with any kind of disdain would be nothing short of a travesty.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Mazzy Star steadfastly stick to their dusty, psych-folk, dream-pop tableaux on Seasons of Your Day. Yet it feels nothing like a '90s hangover; in fact, the touches of organ and pedal steel that open the album hint at Beach House's hazy indie-pop.
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    78
    No analysis, no interpretation, nothing to feel uncomfortable about here, just beautiful desolation. Mazzy Star was always a band to hide away with, and nothing's changed in 2013.
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    Its lyrical understatement and deliberately minimalist presentation may not excite newcomers, but those familiar with the languid delivery of Hope Sandoval and the teasing alternation of holding back and letting go that characterizes David Roback’s music, with and without his band mates, will recognize Mazzy Star’s perch between celestial elevation and shrouded descent.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    60
    As far as comeback albums go, Seasons Of Your Day doesn’t disappoint, but few songs truly stand out.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    45
    A band reuniting implies unfinished creative business. In the case of Seasons Of The Day, one strains excessively to imagine what that business might be. [Aug-Sep 2013, p.92]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    It's as if she recorded this album right after "Among My Swan" her 2nd or 3rd album. Mazzy Star is always a treat to listen to because their of lead singer Hope Sandoval's moody and trippy songs alongside a great voice. Mazzy Star are still making relevant music well into the 21st century. I've always revisited their music. It doesn't become stale or unpalatable. This is a great album. Can't wait to see them live! She's so charismatic with a look all her own- just like all the other greats that is always is a plus!!! Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Departing from the more sophisticated sadness and meticulous beauty of Among My Swan and So Tonight That I Might See, Seasons of Your Day reveals a much more honest, edgier sound. One part blues, one part country, one part folk. Strong work 17 years overdue. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Sounds like they picked up right where they left off in the 90's and overall it's a very impressive album from start to finish. "Spoon" and "Flying Low" push their sound out the slightest bit further without changing what they are. Collapse
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    lush. lovely. sad. contemplative. beautiful. dreamy. country. reminiscent. reflective. another magnum opus by a very talented and interesting band. welcome back, mazzy star. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    This album feels like a love letter to the fans who've missed Mazzy Star. Their sound is broader but it's very true to what I found beautiful about previous albums. The Kingdom is real high point to the album and it drew me back to when I first discovered this band. It's the first song and it sets the tone for a bittersweet album. The artwork too, is great and very true to their image as a band. I'm not poetic like some reviewers and it's difficult to articulate what the image and music evokes but it's some type of a relaxed-almost melancholy-but-somehow-inspirational feeling. I haven't heard much music that can do this and it takes skill and passion to do what they do.

    For people who've never listened to Mazzy Star, I believe this album is definitely something that could speak to people of different ages and backgrounds. It's also consistent with who they are and has a seductive, melodic, ephemeral sound that is reminiscent of their other songs. It's great to hear that they're still making music and it was worth the wait. Check them out.
    Expand