• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Section.80 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The California rapper who worked on Dr. Dre's Detox album releases his third independent album, featuring Colin Munroe, GLC, RZA, Schoolboy Q, Ashtro Bot, BJ the Chicago Kid, and Ab-Soul as guests.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    Section80 may not be a sacred text but I've got the feeling that in five years it may just prove to be prophetic.
  2. It's said that Lamar's goal here was to prove himself capable of standing alone. Well, in certainly one of the greatest critical understatements written, he's done it.
  3. Just when you're thinking not bad at all, come some songs.
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Self-serious flaws and all, Section.80 still stands as a powerful document of a tremendously promising young guy figuring out his voice.
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Section.80 proves is that its author's brain is neither lost nor useless, as he weaves together carefully constructed thoughts before spewing raps on each of the project's 16 tracks, ensuring nothing is disposable or without purpose.
  6. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    This 23-year-old may have been searching for answers, but that journey allowed him to find one of this year's most outstanding albums with Section.80.
  7. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    He doesn't quite sell the thesis that that's the point.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Since the release of this album, I have heard/seen multiple people call Kendrick Lamar, "the next 2pac". This is a false statement, becauseSince the release of this album, I have heard/seen multiple people call Kendrick Lamar, "the next 2pac". This is a false statement, because Kendrick Lamar is the next Kendrick Lamar, and the only one at that. The only comparison I would make, is that he too gives a voice to his generation. His ear for production is quite astounding, and his lyricism and flow are both jaw dropping. Lamar dwells on a variety of subjects, most notably the Reagan Era, and the crack epidemic that occurred in his decade. There is no denying that in the matter of a few short years, this will be looked back upon as a classic, and I will surely have no arguments towards that. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    This album will most likely be considered a classic in times to come, and it will be one because this album is simply amazing. My favoriteThis album will most likely be considered a classic in times to come, and it will be one because this album is simply amazing. My favorite tracks are your Ethnicity", "Ronald Reagan Era", and "HiiPower". Expand
  3. May 2, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  4. JRG
    Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Section.80 is a fantastic album. Overlooked by many, it is the third studio album by Compton rapper Kendrick Lamar, and his technical "Debut,"Section.80 is a fantastic album. Overlooked by many, it is the third studio album by Compton rapper Kendrick Lamar, and his technical "Debut," as the previous two have been labeled as mixtapes. Kendrick steps up his game from his previous works, crafting a coherent album that is tied together by the themes, sound, the interludes, and even the cover. The album's subject matter focuses on the plight of the "80s babies" and simultaneously plays on the term "Section 80" used to label certain types of project housing. Kendrick's raps span multiple scenarios, using both first person and third person to detail struggles pertaining to sex, drugs, and the twisted realities of the world and culture these 80s babies are living in.

    The production, though not necessarily groundbreaking, is fitting for the direction of the album. From the anthemic Spiteful Chant horns to the slick, choppy HiiiPower synths, the beats are all memorable and relatively dark. More lighthearted production is displayed on tracks such as Hol Up and Rigamortus, as Lamar interjects humor and wit to provide a break from the heavier subject matter. The tracks mesh well regardless, as Lamar is able to insert deep and insightful lines into the most laid back songs (His line "Look at my life and look at yours, get some ambition." from Blow My High).

    I'd talk about more songs but I'm lazy, and you should hear them all anyway. My favorite release of 2011, tied with Big KRIT's Return of 4eva.
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    Section.80 was easily the best hip-hop album of 2011. Kendrick Lamar's lyricism, usage of word play, and overall delivery were practicallySection.80 was easily the best hip-hop album of 2011. Kendrick Lamar's lyricism, usage of word play, and overall delivery were practically perfected. Adding to the rapping aspect, the production on "Section.80" is for the most part great. With minor flaws, "Section.80" will be looked back on as one of the instrumental albums in representing the generation and time period during which it was released. Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    Kendrick came out to be one of the most flowing artists lyrically. He chooses his words wisely enough to appeal all kinds of people. HeKendrick came out to be one of the most flowing artists lyrically. He chooses his words wisely enough to appeal all kinds of people. He captures the young and gives our future something to look forward to. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    He is an awesome rapper, indeed. But in 10 songs of this 16 track album he doesn't show that. He makes it relatively good with the great songsHe is an awesome rapper, indeed. But in 10 songs of this 16 track album he doesn't show that. He makes it relatively good with the great songs (e.g. Keisha's Song, Rigamortis, HiiiPoWeR) but the album isn't any more than a 6, so. Some stuff on here is pretty disappointing, nothing is bad, but as I've listened to 'good kid, m.A.A.d city' first, I am disapointed with this former release. Anyway, Kendrick Lamar is one of the best rappers of our time, the lyrics are really good but as I said, many tracks disappointed me. Collapse

See all 29 User Reviews