Section.80 - Kendrick Lamar
Section.80 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The California rapper who worked on Dr. Dre's Detox album releases his third independent album, featuring Colin Munroe, GLC, RZA, Schoolboy Q, Ashtro Bot, BJ the Chicago Kid, and Ab-Soul as guests.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    Section80 may not be a sacred text but I've got the feeling that in five years it may just prove to be prophetic.
  2. It's said that Lamar's goal here was to prove himself capable of standing alone. Well, in certainly one of the greatest critical understatements written, he's done it.
  3. Just when you're thinking not bad at all, come some songs.
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    This 23-year-old may have been searching for answers, but that journey allowed him to find one of this year's most outstanding albums with Section.80.
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    The album is still a must-have any true hip-hop head, and it is certainly a promising release from the young emcee, but just don't go in expecting an easy, feel-good listen.
  6. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Self-serious flaws and all, Section.80 still stands as a powerful document of a tremendously promising young guy figuring out his voice.
  7. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    He doesn't quite sell the thesis that that's the point.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Since the release of this album, I have heard/seen multiple people call Kendrick Lamar, "the next 2pac". This is a false statement, becauseSince the release of this album, I have heard/seen multiple people call Kendrick Lamar, "the next 2pac". This is a false statement, because Kendrick Lamar is the next Kendrick Lamar, and the only one at that. The only comparison I would make, is that he too gives a voice to his generation. His ear for production is quite astounding, and his lyricism and flow are both jaw dropping. Lamar dwells on a variety of subjects, most notably the Reagan Era, and the crack epidemic that occurred in his decade. There is no denying that in the matter of a few short years, this will be looked back upon as a classic, and I will surely have no arguments towards that. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Section.80 is a self explanatory show of self brilliance and intelligence from the young mastermind. Each track with carefully constructedSection.80 is a self explanatory show of self brilliance and intelligence from the young mastermind. Each track with carefully constructed rhymes and beats to make this a wonderful ecstatic listen. From the pop electro sounding A.D.H.D to the jazzy classic upbeat Rigamortus, this album gives a lot of diversity, especially in the raps. This is a great example of what this young unique Kendrick has to offer hip hop, and we should all be looking forward to his upcoming material. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    without any exaggeration, in ten years, this could be viewed as an album that defines a generation. from beginning to end this album weaves awithout any exaggeration, in ten years, this could be viewed as an album that defines a generation. from beginning to end this album weaves a story of the ills and influences of a society manipulated by drugs, sex, technology, and media. a truly inspiring piece of hip hop that i can honestly say is one of the best albums I've heard in the past five years. it continues to astonish me over a month later and after countless listens front to back. the genius of kendrick lamar on this piece is that he not only paints a thought provoking and heart wrenching image of his growth in the unforgiving city of Compton, but he allows all of America, all creeds and ethnicities, to empathize with that situation. It is his raw connection with contemporary society as a whole that makes kendrick lamar a once in a generation musical talent. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Look back at it, it was easily the best rap album of 2011 in my opinion. Production, lyrics, and everything about it is solid. Kendrick did aLook back at it, it was easily the best rap album of 2011 in my opinion. Production, lyrics, and everything about it is solid. Kendrick did a great job with this album. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    Claiming Tupac Shakur came to him in his dream as his inspiration to make this album, lets hope more of these "dreams" happen more often. AnClaiming Tupac Shakur came to him in his dream as his inspiration to make this album, lets hope more of these "dreams" happen more often. An amazing album with substance to last. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    A fantastic and gripping rap album. Probably my favorite rap album of 2011 and definitely in top 3 of my favs for the year. In this album,A fantastic and gripping rap album. Probably my favorite rap album of 2011 and definitely in top 3 of my favs for the year. In this album, Kendrick relays intelligent verses that serve a purpose. "HiiiPower" is a fantastic track and is amazingly produced by J. Cole. "Ronald Reagen Era" also has a few great hooks. Great album and I cannot wait to hear more from this promising, young rapper. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    He is an awesome rapper, indeed. But in 10 songs of this 16 track album he doesn't show that. He makes it relatively good with the great songsHe is an awesome rapper, indeed. But in 10 songs of this 16 track album he doesn't show that. He makes it relatively good with the great songs (e.g. Keisha's Song, Rigamortis, HiiiPoWeR) but the album isn't any more than a 6, so. Some stuff on here is pretty disappointing, nothing is bad, but as I've listened to 'good kid, m.A.A.d city' first, I am disapointed with this former release. Anyway, Kendrick Lamar is one of the best rappers of our time, the lyrics are really good but as I said, many tracks disappointed me. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews