• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Dec 6, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 131

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2016
    9
    A healthy dose of progression and a touch of pop actually help the band get back in touch with their heavier side. The results are some of their darkest material that's brimming with energy and excitement. It's without a doubt one of Korn's most focused on refined albums. The results are nothing short of excellent.

    No doubt the discerning metal fan picked up on that bit I said about the
    A healthy dose of progression and a touch of pop actually help the band get back in touch with their heavier side. The results are some of their darkest material that's brimming with energy and excitement. It's without a doubt one of Korn's most focused on refined albums. The results are nothing short of excellent.

    No doubt the discerning metal fan picked up on that bit I said about the hint of pop running through this album and may be ready to turn away from this Korn album. To do so would be a mistake. While the production group known as "The Matrix" was involved in the production of this album, this still manages to be some of Korn's heaviest and darkest material. A big shock given that The Matrix is known for working with the likes of Britney Spears and Shakira. Their pop influence does shine through in the music, but not enough to turn off metal fans.

    This is actually one of Korn's best albums. They've lost none of their lyrical edge and don't really stray far from their roots at all. They've just polished up their sound for something a little more far reaching in the metal/hard rock community. They managed to do so without selling out and screwing over their longtime fans. That's darn impressive. Even better, they made an incredible album because of it.

    9.3/10
    Expand
  2. ChrisS
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    This album is AMAZING to say the least. The songs I'VE SEEN IT ALL and COMING UNDONE are brilliant. This album also has AWSOME art work. Best album of 2005 hands down. I recommend it to anyone
  3. mikeh
    Dec 10, 2005
    7
    this is good the best tax are twisted transistor liar dont throw me away and politics
  4. MarkL
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best album Korn have made to date and an unexpected comeback for them. Everything about this album is perfection of their style. Excellent.
  5. crossi
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    i think this album is superb. it's about time that they started going in a new direction. obviously i will always love their old stuff, but this album is simply awsome. i would say overall the album is korn mixed with a newish pink floyd/ nin style throwing in a dash of morphine on some tracks
  6. bodhisattva
    Dec 10, 2005
    7
    this one is kind of a mix between untouchables and tke a look in the mirror, although not as interesting and inspired as the first one. has a few really good moments like politics, love song and open up, but the industrial flavour just souind like poor manson meet poor NIN. jonathan should realize also that he does NOT has to give us bagpipes and mumbles allways and in this album his this one is kind of a mix between untouchables and tke a look in the mirror, although not as interesting and inspired as the first one. has a few really good moments like politics, love song and open up, but the industrial flavour just souind like poor manson meet poor NIN. jonathan should realize also that he does NOT has to give us bagpipes and mumbles allways and in this album his effort to give SYOTOS the korn kliché is just embaracing. Expand
  7. ValL
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Korn has definitely branched out on this album. So many different sounds yet there's no mistaking it's Korn. Love Song and Tearjerker have a dark, melodic feel to them. Hypocrites and Liar may have a message for a certain someone? Maybe. Coming Undone has great rhythm to it. The songs are all incredible. Amazing guitar work from Munky, David's best drumming yet, Korn has definitely branched out on this album. So many different sounds yet there's no mistaking it's Korn. Love Song and Tearjerker have a dark, melodic feel to them. Hypocrites and Liar may have a message for a certain someone? Maybe. Coming Undone has great rhythm to it. The songs are all incredible. Amazing guitar work from Munky, David's best drumming yet, Fieldy's bass is sounding better than ever, and Jonathan's voice is still as hard as ever. I highly recommend adding this album to your collection! Expand
  8. gordl
    Dec 12, 2005
    8
    A lot of people will hate this record because it is a somewhat drastic departure from Korn's traditional sound. As most will know, Head (brian Welsch) has left, and it seems he's taken the 'ga-gunk-g-ga-gaaah' riffing sound with him. In its place, though, are haunting melodies, epic vocal lines, and funky rythms. It's like evil pop music on psychodelic drugs. In A lot of people will hate this record because it is a somewhat drastic departure from Korn's traditional sound. As most will know, Head (brian Welsch) has left, and it seems he's taken the 'ga-gunk-g-ga-gaaah' riffing sound with him. In its place, though, are haunting melodies, epic vocal lines, and funky rythms. It's like evil pop music on psychodelic drugs. In short, the recipe for Korn has been updated... in place of head, there's a little NIN and a little manson... If a band is gonna change direction, this is the way to do it.... Expand
  9. DenisO
    Dec 12, 2005
    9
    The new KoRn sound is stunning...something i have been waiting 4, for a long time.
  10. sean
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Surprisingly strong effort considering that they lost their guitarist who wrote so much of their music and how far into their career the band is. This is far more engaging than the last album and one of the best heavy albums I've heard in some time.
  11. MatthewM
    Dec 13, 2005
    9
    The CD was a change from the norm... I havn't decided weither it was for the best or worst. I'm reviewing it for a school newspaper, but am not sure even what to say! Twisted Transistor, was good, but had REALLY LONG INTRO! I think that a majority of the songs were better, but there were some I didn't like, (Hypocrites). Will comment when I figure out what else I want to say.
  12. [Anonymous]
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    like one of the reviews said if heavy metal was ever meant to evolve this is the begining
  13. Matt
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    A very different kind of Korn that really changes the way they go about their music. Its generally EXHILERATING as the numbers could almost be thrown on dance floors and be quite comfortable in metal mosh pits. Excellent evolutionary effort that shows Korn know how to improve the genre they created!
  14. johnm
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    This is a great album. Whether or not the songs were written by Korn or some producer they are great. Like untouchables, this is a highly produced studio album that is nonetheless gaining rave reviews. The only bad reviews are coming from sick kids who will never be satisfied with any post-life is peachy korn or indie loving critics who have hated korn from the beginning. All unbiased This is a great album. Whether or not the songs were written by Korn or some producer they are great. Like untouchables, this is a highly produced studio album that is nonetheless gaining rave reviews. The only bad reviews are coming from sick kids who will never be satisfied with any post-life is peachy korn or indie loving critics who have hated korn from the beginning. All unbiased critics have given this good reviews. Maybe the moderaters of this site should post some?/??? Expand
  15. mikew
    Dec 16, 2005
    7
    i don't like it ... but i'm still a fan
  16. NunoT
    Dec 16, 2005
    7
    Let's be honest.... the first time i listened to the album i felt that korn had blew it... But then listening more carefully to some songs you realize that there are some incredible intro's and energetic songs like "throw me away" the fantastic "liar" with the initial drum static roll, and "politics". It's not an revolutionary album but, evolutionary for korn. I believe Let's be honest.... the first time i listened to the album i felt that korn had blew it... But then listening more carefully to some songs you realize that there are some incredible intro's and energetic songs like "throw me away" the fantastic "liar" with the initial drum static roll, and "politics". It's not an revolutionary album but, evolutionary for korn. I believe that this album has great potential, but it may drive away hardcore korn fans due to the diferent (but similar) korn sound. To conclude not their best album, but it was fresh, different and kinetic has ever. Put it on your stereo and raise the volume... but don't forget to fast foward some tracks!! Best intro's ever... Expand
  17. lukew
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    This is a very good album as it has every thing. only 2 songs didnt appeal to me instantly but now they are growing on me every time i hear them. the last song tearjerker is one of the best korn songs ever. And also the artwork for the cd is just soo good check it out
  18. Will
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    well to say the least this album is amazing. they reinvent their trademark sound of blending effects such as industrial and alernative pedals to metal...this cd is no different...korn is back wit vengenance and deff are "here to stay" no pun intended...a new sound once again to keep their die hrad fans (yours truly) guessin wht they r gonig to do next and also this album proves their is well to say the least this album is amazing. they reinvent their trademark sound of blending effects such as industrial and alernative pedals to metal...this cd is no different...korn is back wit vengenance and deff are "here to stay" no pun intended...a new sound once again to keep their die hrad fans (yours truly) guessin wht they r gonig to do next and also this album proves their is life after head. and to anyone who isnt a true korn fan and jus got this cd or downloaded sum songs and bad mouths them...go back to ur music cuzz these posts r made by the true fan base of korn...rock on korn and here's to many many more albums...peace+love from will Expand
  19. Jack
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    While I doubt anyone is going to give Korn the praise that they rightly deserve, I am now convinced that they have it within themselves to evolve and become something more than what they once were. In the beginning it was all about power chords and deep, heavy bass lamented with growls and odd sounds coming from the vocal cords of Jon Davis. Since then, we've seen them rise to great While I doubt anyone is going to give Korn the praise that they rightly deserve, I am now convinced that they have it within themselves to evolve and become something more than what they once were. In the beginning it was all about power chords and deep, heavy bass lamented with growls and odd sounds coming from the vocal cords of Jon Davis. Since then, we've seen them rise to great heights (Life is Peachy, Follow the Leader), and fall to new lows (Untouchables, anyone?). However, I believe that after a period of complacency, they have finally returned to the music foray with something intelligent, sonically heavy, and overall a worthy addition to any hard rock, nu-metal, or industrial library. See You on the Other Side, while still having a few defects, is easily the best Korn album of the 21st century. Expand
  20. TimJ
    Dec 23, 2005
    9
    One of the greatest albums of 2005. Thank god for Korn, what would we do without them. Almost every single song on the album is amazing, with the exception of "10 or a 2-way". Songs like "Souvenir", "For No One", "Open Up", and "Tearjerker" are amazing in every aspect of the word. They are evolving in the right direction and I love them for it.
  21. IsiahH
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    This album is better than any album they've put out since the self-titled debut. All the tracks on this cd are just plain addictive. I can't stop listening to this so-called new direction and reinvention of KoRn.
  22. JamieS
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    Was a little tentative to begin with, on first listen it didn't feel like a koRn album but after a couple of listens the quality and creativity began to emerge. As a whole "See you on the other side" is completely different to KoRn's previous albums with only a few tracks using a familar style. Tracks like "Liar", "Hypocrites" and "Policitics" seem to hold deeper more personal Was a little tentative to begin with, on first listen it didn't feel like a koRn album but after a couple of listens the quality and creativity began to emerge. As a whole "See you on the other side" is completely different to KoRn's previous albums with only a few tracks using a familar style. Tracks like "Liar", "Hypocrites" and "Policitics" seem to hold deeper more personal feelings unlike any of Korn's other offerings. It's fresh and different and i have to say i'm loving every moment of it...KoRn have risen the bar once again! Those loyal fans who feel that Korn has crossed an unforgivable line with this album should give this another listen. Expand
  23. NickG
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    I just went out yesterday and bought the 2 disc limited edition of this cd and !wow! The new sound of the band is crazy as hell. I myself believe that losing "Head" was actualy a good thing for them..it got them thinking a lot and thus they came up with this CD.
  24. mikec
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    If your a true fan, you will like it,like I do. Track #9, the best on the cd.
  25. JamesH
    Dec 28, 2005
    9
    As a huge fan of korn I was suprised to find their signature "click" sounds virtually gone from this album. First off, the album comes off like a Rock Opera, with an introduction, lead-up, transition to "the other side", experience on the other side, and then going back. The way the songs piece together form imagery of a story being told that can be interpretted in many ways to what is As a huge fan of korn I was suprised to find their signature "click" sounds virtually gone from this album. First off, the album comes off like a Rock Opera, with an introduction, lead-up, transition to "the other side", experience on the other side, and then going back. The way the songs piece together form imagery of a story being told that can be interpretted in many ways to what is going on right now in the world. The first time I listened the only two songs I liked were "twisted transistor" and "coming undone" (both approprately the first song of "their side"), but then another grew on me, and then another, and then... So overall its a good CD but it takes getting used to. I would recommend giving it some more listening to before posting a review. Expand
  26. melissat
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    i just wanted to say that this new korn cd is awesome! korn has put a new twist into there awesome music and its better than ever! its a new creation and its different from there old cds, and even though brian head welch is no longer with korn, they still did a great job on this album.
  27. JayB
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    goodness.
  28. LeeW
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Awsome cd korn really shows the world what there made of twisted transistor- best korn song since freak on a leash
  29. RyanB
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Korns new cd is a major improvement over there previous release.ive been a korn fan since album number 1,and this one makes a decent attempt at getting back to there old hard self.its a great album and you can really hear how good it actually sounds on a higher end system,great job by korn and the producers
  30. QuintonZ
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Here is a KoRn That we all know and respect. Welcome back to the real KoRn
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. If rap-metal were ever meant to evolve, See You on the Other Side is the record that does it.
  2. Its center becomes weighed down with bland mid-tempo numbers and the final song detracts from the powerhouse close the record might have had.
  3. Billboard
    60
    For the most part, the producers simply add audio garnishing to Korn's signature sound via loops and Pro Tools trickery. [10 Dec 2005]