See You On The Other Side

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Dec 6, 2005
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 123
  2. Negative: 12 out of 123

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2015
    8
    Definitely a sudden change of pace for Korn, but it's certainly not a bad thing in a time where changing things up seem to be best for an artist that created one of the world's most hated genres.
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Heavy and groovy songs. Jonathan wrote more political stuff in this album and some pornography but I still love the album one of my favs. The songs were more creepier like the beginning of the songs, there were whispers and growls I don't know things like that and still fits in KoRn.
  3. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    If there ever was an " mature" electro sound from this band, than" see you on the other side" is their shiny template that 2011's " Path of Totallity" should have adhered to. Coming Undone definitely should be considered on of their signature tracks.
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    5
    A competent if rather static affair, Korn successfully re-enter the mainstream with SYOTOS, with Matrix adding a new liege of life to a dwindling fan base and harsh critics. 'Love Song', 'Seen It All' and 'Twisted Transistor' give fresh air to a stale genre, and it works enough for the band.
  5. Jul 7, 2011
    6
    I was very reluctant in buying this album. After I heard that Head had left to live in a Christian life i thought the instrumentals would go up **** creek without the paddle. And in ways this harped true and in others it didnt. munky did step up to a degree.
    Also when i heard that Korn enlisted production company The Matrix (pop producers responsible for acts such as Pink and Avril
    I was very reluctant in buying this album. After I heard that Head had left to live in a Christian life i thought the instrumentals would go up **** creek without the paddle. And in ways this harped true and in others it didnt. munky did step up to a degree.
    Also when i heard that Korn enlisted production company The Matrix (pop producers responsible for acts such as Pink and Avril Lavigne) I thought they were doing a desperate for more chart topping songs.
    The result, a more pop rock album than their previous efforts with singles 'Twisted Transistor' and ' Coming Undone' Very Reminiscent of the Follow the Leader Singles.
    Its a pop metal/hard rock album that more a miss than a hit.
    But after losing a band member and enlisting the producers they did its leaves the direction and experimentation of the band in limbo.
    Not a failure of an album, but it is certainly unimpressive and uninspiring compared to previous albums.
    Expand
  6. Anson
    May 13, 2007
    6
    Being a KoRn fan from way back when their first album debut, I must say since the departure of Brian "Head" Welch and since they have "mainstream" writers in their inventory of song making KoRn has been toned downed, water downed, and what pains me to say the most, they have gone against what KoRn mainly about, selling out. Although granted this new CD will gain the band new mainstream Being a KoRn fan from way back when their first album debut, I must say since the departure of Brian "Head" Welch and since they have "mainstream" writers in their inventory of song making KoRn has been toned downed, water downed, and what pains me to say the most, they have gone against what KoRn mainly about, selling out. Although granted this new CD will gain the band new mainstream fans, die hard fans like me included are disapointed, KoRn just isn't Korn anymore. Expand
  7. RyanG
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    These guys take heavy metal to a whole new level. They've set the bar extremely high! I mean, look how popular they are. A 10 is a fair grade. However dont get the edited version. TOO MANY CENCORS... Brothers and Sisters, rejoice! The album worth worshipping is finally here! Now bow down, before I pop a cap in your skull.
  8. NooniH
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    Rocks your balls off!
  9. aarone
    Jul 15, 2006
    7
    Not as good as take a look in the mirror or untouchables but still has great hooks with songs like coming undone and liar.I think they changed their sound because head left,too much of a change for me.They should return to their harder sounds and lose all the computer generated sounds.
  10. FrankB
    Jun 18, 2006
    7
    Good stuff from an underrated band who spawned an underrated genre. Although not as great as "Untouchables" or their self-titled debut, it beats the snot out of the lame, generic "Take a Look In the Mirror" Jonathin explores some new topics sometimes with success ("Hypocrites") and sometimes with failure (some of the icky sex tracks) But the hooks are heavy yet at the same time Good stuff from an underrated band who spawned an underrated genre. Although not as great as "Untouchables" or their self-titled debut, it beats the snot out of the lame, generic "Take a Look In the Mirror" Jonathin explores some new topics sometimes with success ("Hypocrites") and sometimes with failure (some of the icky sex tracks) But the hooks are heavy yet at the same time incorperate an accessible melodic pop sensibility. "Twisted Transistor" balls-out rocks, while "Throw Me Away" is one of the prettiest goth songs Korn has done in a while. Not too shabby. Nu Metal-heads, rejoice. Expand
  11. JosephA
    May 12, 2006
    9
    When i saw Twisted Transister on MTV, i knew this album would be good and i was right. Its better that untouchables and take a look in the mirror bt nt as good as the earlier ones. Wheres the screaming and pain. I like tear jerker only becuase i always wanted a slow song from korn and thats what i got. :)
  12. Cody
    Apr 26, 2006
    9
    One of korn's best albums!! I love the songs coming undone and politics! A must-buy for any true korn fan!!!
  13. DanielM
    Apr 16, 2006
    9
    KoRn truley are awesome best metal around
  14. natw
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    one band member less, a fusion of early anger and newmelodics,and munky keeping it together. if the fans like it so what? bands are allowed to develop and progress their sound,who cares what the critics think,i dont think korn intended to make a commercial album .they should be respected as a band but this is just my opinion,everyone alowed one.also i bet korn are making more money than one band member less, a fusion of early anger and newmelodics,and munky keeping it together. if the fans like it so what? bands are allowed to develop and progress their sound,who cares what the critics think,i dont think korn intended to make a commercial album .they should be respected as a band but this is just my opinion,everyone alowed one.also i bet korn are making more money than the critics and they are jealous! korn are the best thing to hav happened to the music scene since sliced bread...they deserve credit for still sticking together for so many years.and all korn fans who appreciate their music and accept thy can't write another issues or 'korn' will love the album.so listen to it more than once people along with the rest of the albums so you can make a valid judgement.korn fan over and out! Expand
  15. DennieW
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Besides their 1999 album, iSsuEs, this album is freakin' awesome.
  16. Someone
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Simply awesome new album from KoRn. It's cool how they can re-invent themselves on every time!
  17. MattE
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    It took a little time to warm up to it, but now that I have I love it! Good job KoRn!!!
  18. km
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    This album is exactly what the band needed, a freakin shot in the arm! This is what all the great bands do, evolve and stay relevant. The best way to listen to these songs is definitely live, they are amazing. If not live, through good headphones is the next best. A suggestion for the next album would be to let Munky turn off distortion and some of the other pedals and rip out a solo This album is exactly what the band needed, a freakin shot in the arm! This is what all the great bands do, evolve and stay relevant. The best way to listen to these songs is definitely live, they are amazing. If not live, through good headphones is the next best. A suggestion for the next album would be to let Munky turn off distortion and some of the other pedals and rip out a solo every once in a while. This album, however, is complete without it. Including the B-sides really enchances the quality of the album, but you'd have to go out of your way to get them. Definitely buy the limited edition with the bonus disc. Expand
  19. RaymanQ
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    Not like any other album, but this was definitely a good one. Not my favorite but deserves respect for going on after losing Head.
  20. declanM
    Feb 22, 2006
    0
    these guys have totally lost it absolute rubbish what is jonathan trying to do with his voice these guys used be hardcore now there not even softcore
  21. QuintonZ
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Here is a KoRn That we all know and respect. Welcome back to the real KoRn
  22. Rycardo.
    Feb 10, 2006
    0
    What is this?? Music??? Let me laugh....
  23. RyanB
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Korns new cd is a major improvement over there previous release.ive been a korn fan since album number 1,and this one makes a decent attempt at getting back to there old hard self.its a great album and you can really hear how good it actually sounds on a higher end system,great job by korn and the producers
  24. LeeW
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Awsome cd korn really shows the world what there made of twisted transistor- best korn song since freak on a leash
  25. JayB
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    goodness.
  26. melissat
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    i just wanted to say that this new korn cd is awesome! korn has put a new twist into there awesome music and its better than ever! its a new creation and its different from there old cds, and even though brian head welch is no longer with korn, they still did a great job on this album.
  27. JamesH
    Dec 28, 2005
    9
    As a huge fan of korn I was suprised to find their signature "click" sounds virtually gone from this album. First off, the album comes off like a Rock Opera, with an introduction, lead-up, transition to "the other side", experience on the other side, and then going back. The way the songs piece together form imagery of a story being told that can be interpretted in many ways to what is As a huge fan of korn I was suprised to find their signature "click" sounds virtually gone from this album. First off, the album comes off like a Rock Opera, with an introduction, lead-up, transition to "the other side", experience on the other side, and then going back. The way the songs piece together form imagery of a story being told that can be interpretted in many ways to what is going on right now in the world. The first time I listened the only two songs I liked were "twisted transistor" and "coming undone" (both approprately the first song of "their side"), but then another grew on me, and then another, and then... So overall its a good CD but it takes getting used to. I would recommend giving it some more listening to before posting a review. Expand
  28. mikec
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    If your a true fan, you will like it,like I do. Track #9, the best on the cd.
  29. NickG
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    I just went out yesterday and bought the 2 disc limited edition of this cd and !wow! The new sound of the band is crazy as hell. I myself believe that losing "Head" was actualy a good thing for them..it got them thinking a lot and thus they came up with this CD.
  30. JamieS
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    Was a little tentative to begin with, on first listen it didn't feel like a koRn album but after a couple of listens the quality and creativity began to emerge. As a whole "See you on the other side" is completely different to KoRn's previous albums with only a few tracks using a familar style. Tracks like "Liar", "Hypocrites" and "Policitics" seem to hold deeper more personal Was a little tentative to begin with, on first listen it didn't feel like a koRn album but after a couple of listens the quality and creativity began to emerge. As a whole "See you on the other side" is completely different to KoRn's previous albums with only a few tracks using a familar style. Tracks like "Liar", "Hypocrites" and "Policitics" seem to hold deeper more personal feelings unlike any of Korn's other offerings. It's fresh and different and i have to say i'm loving every moment of it...KoRn have risen the bar once again! Those loyal fans who feel that Korn has crossed an unforgivable line with this album should give this another listen. Expand
  31. IsiahH
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    This album is better than any album they've put out since the self-titled debut. All the tracks on this cd are just plain addictive. I can't stop listening to this so-called new direction and reinvention of KoRn.
  32. VinceC
    Dec 26, 2005
    4
    wack s*it
  33. TimJ
    Dec 23, 2005
    9
    One of the greatest albums of 2005. Thank god for Korn, what would we do without them. Almost every single song on the album is amazing, with the exception of "10 or a 2-way". Songs like "Souvenir", "For No One", "Open Up", and "Tearjerker" are amazing in every aspect of the word. They are evolving in the right direction and I love them for it.
  34. Jack
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    While I doubt anyone is going to give Korn the praise that they rightly deserve, I am now convinced that they have it within themselves to evolve and become something more than what they once were. In the beginning it was all about power chords and deep, heavy bass lamented with growls and odd sounds coming from the vocal cords of Jon Davis. Since then, we've seen them rise to great While I doubt anyone is going to give Korn the praise that they rightly deserve, I am now convinced that they have it within themselves to evolve and become something more than what they once were. In the beginning it was all about power chords and deep, heavy bass lamented with growls and odd sounds coming from the vocal cords of Jon Davis. Since then, we've seen them rise to great heights (Life is Peachy, Follow the Leader), and fall to new lows (Untouchables, anyone?). However, I believe that after a period of complacency, they have finally returned to the music foray with something intelligent, sonically heavy, and overall a worthy addition to any hard rock, nu-metal, or industrial library. See You on the Other Side, while still having a few defects, is easily the best Korn album of the 21st century. Expand
  35. Will
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    well to say the least this album is amazing. they reinvent their trademark sound of blending effects such as industrial and alernative pedals to metal...this cd is no different...korn is back wit vengenance and deff are "here to stay" no pun intended...a new sound once again to keep their die hrad fans (yours truly) guessin wht they r gonig to do next and also this album proves their is well to say the least this album is amazing. they reinvent their trademark sound of blending effects such as industrial and alernative pedals to metal...this cd is no different...korn is back wit vengenance and deff are "here to stay" no pun intended...a new sound once again to keep their die hrad fans (yours truly) guessin wht they r gonig to do next and also this album proves their is life after head. and to anyone who isnt a true korn fan and jus got this cd or downloaded sum songs and bad mouths them...go back to ur music cuzz these posts r made by the true fan base of korn...rock on korn and here's to many many more albums...peace+love from will Expand
  36. AdrianH
    Dec 22, 2005
    3
    Out go's the heavy moody grunge that we all grew to love, in comes the happy clapping slow riffs. I dont like korns new evolution of heavy, and its more like evolution to the pop world. Only the first three tracks are good, but still without ultimate bass that everyone wanted. I'd recomend buying disturbed or static x's newest album, but definetely not this headache of an album.
  37. Exfan
    Dec 20, 2005
    2
    i was a huge fan, but i'm totally dissapointed...i don't know why'd they listen to anyone and start to writing about shit...WHAT THE HELL WAS WRONGWITH THEIR LYRICS TILL NOW?!?!!?!?! i will never know... making albums like this one, compared to the previous, is surely a good way to loose fans
  38. lukew
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    This is a very good album as it has every thing. only 2 songs didnt appeal to me instantly but now they are growing on me every time i hear them. the last song tearjerker is one of the best korn songs ever. And also the artwork for the cd is just soo good check it out
  39. NunoT
    Dec 16, 2005
    7
    Let's be honest.... the first time i listened to the album i felt that korn had blew it... But then listening more carefully to some songs you realize that there are some incredible intro's and energetic songs like "throw me away" the fantastic "liar" with the initial drum static roll, and "politics". It's not an revolutionary album but, evolutionary for korn. I believe Let's be honest.... the first time i listened to the album i felt that korn had blew it... But then listening more carefully to some songs you realize that there are some incredible intro's and energetic songs like "throw me away" the fantastic "liar" with the initial drum static roll, and "politics". It's not an revolutionary album but, evolutionary for korn. I believe that this album has great potential, but it may drive away hardcore korn fans due to the diferent (but similar) korn sound. To conclude not their best album, but it was fresh, different and kinetic has ever. Put it on your stereo and raise the volume... but don't forget to fast foward some tracks!! Best intro's ever... Expand
  40. mikew
    Dec 16, 2005
    7
    i don't like it ... but i'm still a fan
  41. johnm
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    This is a great album. Whether or not the songs were written by Korn or some producer they are great. Like untouchables, this is a highly produced studio album that is nonetheless gaining rave reviews. The only bad reviews are coming from sick kids who will never be satisfied with any post-life is peachy korn or indie loving critics who have hated korn from the beginning. All unbiased This is a great album. Whether or not the songs were written by Korn or some producer they are great. Like untouchables, this is a highly produced studio album that is nonetheless gaining rave reviews. The only bad reviews are coming from sick kids who will never be satisfied with any post-life is peachy korn or indie loving critics who have hated korn from the beginning. All unbiased critics have given this good reviews. Maybe the moderaters of this site should post some?/??? Expand
  42. kevinp
    Dec 14, 2005
    1
    fan since first album, and this new one is the worst album of the year, gwen stefani's new album is better than this thing korn released. the worst album of their career, i hate it and hope everyone else does too.
  43. Matt
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    A very different kind of Korn that really changes the way they go about their music. Its generally EXHILERATING as the numbers could almost be thrown on dance floors and be quite comfortable in metal mosh pits. Excellent evolutionary effort that shows Korn know how to improve the genre they created!
  44. [Anonymous]
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    like one of the reviews said if heavy metal was ever meant to evolve this is the begining
  45. DrunkenMaster
    Dec 13, 2005
    2
    Duuuude, Korn totally rulz! they r so dark and twizted they make me wanna drop outta skool and huff paint....this iz da most hardcore moozik ever!
  46. MatthewM
    Dec 13, 2005
    9
    The CD was a change from the norm... I havn't decided weither it was for the best or worst. I'm reviewing it for a school newspaper, but am not sure even what to say! Twisted Transistor, was good, but had REALLY LONG INTRO! I think that a majority of the songs were better, but there were some I didn't like, (Hypocrites). Will comment when I figure out what else I want to say.
  47. sean
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Surprisingly strong effort considering that they lost their guitarist who wrote so much of their music and how far into their career the band is. This is far more engaging than the last album and one of the best heavy albums I've heard in some time.
  48. DenisO
    Dec 12, 2005
    9
    The new KoRn sound is stunning...something i have been waiting 4, for a long time.
  49. gordl
    Dec 12, 2005
    8
    A lot of people will hate this record because it is a somewhat drastic departure from Korn's traditional sound. As most will know, Head (brian Welsch) has left, and it seems he's taken the 'ga-gunk-g-ga-gaaah' riffing sound with him. In its place, though, are haunting melodies, epic vocal lines, and funky rythms. It's like evil pop music on psychodelic drugs. In A lot of people will hate this record because it is a somewhat drastic departure from Korn's traditional sound. As most will know, Head (brian Welsch) has left, and it seems he's taken the 'ga-gunk-g-ga-gaaah' riffing sound with him. In its place, though, are haunting melodies, epic vocal lines, and funky rythms. It's like evil pop music on psychodelic drugs. In short, the recipe for Korn has been updated... in place of head, there's a little NIN and a little manson... If a band is gonna change direction, this is the way to do it.... Expand
  50. ValL
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Korn has definitely branched out on this album. So many different sounds yet there's no mistaking it's Korn. Love Song and Tearjerker have a dark, melodic feel to them. Hypocrites and Liar may have a message for a certain someone? Maybe. Coming Undone has great rhythm to it. The songs are all incredible. Amazing guitar work from Munky, David's best drumming yet, Korn has definitely branched out on this album. So many different sounds yet there's no mistaking it's Korn. Love Song and Tearjerker have a dark, melodic feel to them. Hypocrites and Liar may have a message for a certain someone? Maybe. Coming Undone has great rhythm to it. The songs are all incredible. Amazing guitar work from Munky, David's best drumming yet, Fieldy's bass is sounding better than ever, and Jonathan's voice is still as hard as ever. I highly recommend adding this album to your collection! Expand
  51. bodhisattva
    Dec 10, 2005
    7
    this one is kind of a mix between untouchables and tke a look in the mirror, although not as interesting and inspired as the first one. has a few really good moments like politics, love song and open up, but the industrial flavour just souind like poor manson meet poor NIN. jonathan should realize also that he does NOT has to give us bagpipes and mumbles allways and in this album his this one is kind of a mix between untouchables and tke a look in the mirror, although not as interesting and inspired as the first one. has a few really good moments like politics, love song and open up, but the industrial flavour just souind like poor manson meet poor NIN. jonathan should realize also that he does NOT has to give us bagpipes and mumbles allways and in this album his effort to give SYOTOS the korn kliché is just embaracing. Expand
  52. crossi
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    i think this album is superb. it's about time that they started going in a new direction. obviously i will always love their old stuff, but this album is simply awsome. i would say overall the album is korn mixed with a newish pink floyd/ nin style throwing in a dash of morphine on some tracks
  53. MarkL
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best album Korn have made to date and an unexpected comeback for them. Everything about this album is perfection of their style. Excellent.
  54. mikeh
    Dec 10, 2005
    7
    this is good the best tax are twisted transistor liar dont throw me away and politics
  55. ChrisS
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    This album is AMAZING to say the least. The songs I'VE SEEN IT ALL and COMING UNDONE are brilliant. This album also has AWSOME art work. Best album of 2005 hands down. I recommend it to anyone
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. If rap-metal were ever meant to evolve, See You on the Other Side is the record that does it.
  2. Its center becomes weighed down with bland mid-tempo numbers and the final song detracts from the powerhouse close the record might have had.
  3. Billboard
    60
    For the most part, the producers simply add audio garnishing to Korn's signature sound via loops and Pro Tools trickery. [10 Dec 2005]