See You On The Other Side

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
See You On The Other Side Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Matrix co-produced the band's first album since 2003.

Top Track

Twisted Transistor
Hey you, hey you Devil's little sister Listening to your Twisted transistor Hold it between your legs Turn it up, turn it up The wind is coming... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Los Angeles Times
    88
    While some recent Korn records sometimes got lost in the sludge, "Twisted Transistor" and other new tracks reach back to find harsh, and intimate, hard-rock hooks. [6 Dec 2005]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Sonically stunning stuff. [16 Dec 2005, p.80]
  3. If rap-metal were ever meant to evolve, See You on the Other Side is the record that does it.
  4. Blender
    60
    Less scary but more melodic, Korn guns for hits, not street cred. [Mar 2006, p.113]
  5. Billboard
    60
    For the most part, the producers simply add audio garnishing to Korn's signature sound via loops and Pro Tools trickery. [10 Dec 2005]
  6. Unfortunately, singer Jonathan Davis can't find the focus and freshness to match the band's reanimated riffs.
  7. Despite this album's production credits reading like a PhD thesis, Korn's commercial masterplan is fatally undermined by certain glaring weaknesses, the main one being that their singer is a dunderheaded, sexist, self-pitying fool.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Heavy and groovy songs. Jonathan wrote more political stuff in this album and some pornography but I still love the album one of my favs. TheHeavy and groovy songs. Jonathan wrote more political stuff in this album and some pornography but I still love the album one of my favs. The songs were more creepier like the beginning of the songs, there were whispers and growls I don't know things like that and still fits in KoRn. Expand
  2. IsiahH
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    This album is better than any album they've put out since the self-titled debut. All the tracks on this cd are just plain addictive. I This album is better than any album they've put out since the self-titled debut. All the tracks on this cd are just plain addictive. I can't stop listening to this so-called new direction and reinvention of KoRn. Expand
  3. km
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    This album is exactly what the band needed, a freakin shot in the arm! This is what all the great bands do, evolve and stay relevant. The This album is exactly what the band needed, a freakin shot in the arm! This is what all the great bands do, evolve and stay relevant. The best way to listen to these songs is definitely live, they are amazing. If not live, through good headphones is the next best. A suggestion for the next album would be to let Munky turn off distortion and some of the other pedals and rip out a solo every once in a while. This album, however, is complete without it. Including the B-sides really enchances the quality of the album, but you'd have to go out of your way to get them. Definitely buy the limited edition with the bonus disc. Expand
  4. crossi
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    i think this album is superb. it's about time that they started going in a new direction. obviously i will always love their old stuff, i think this album is superb. it's about time that they started going in a new direction. obviously i will always love their old stuff, but this album is simply awsome. i would say overall the album is korn mixed with a newish pink floyd/ nin style throwing in a dash of morphine on some tracks Expand
  5. TimJ
    Dec 23, 2005
    9
    One of the greatest albums of 2005. Thank god for Korn, what would we do without them. Almost every single song on the album is amazing, with One of the greatest albums of 2005. Thank god for Korn, what would we do without them. Almost every single song on the album is amazing, with the exception of "10 or a 2-way". Songs like "Souvenir", "For No One", "Open Up", and "Tearjerker" are amazing in every aspect of the word. They are evolving in the right direction and I love them for it. Expand
  6. FrankB
    Jun 18, 2006
    7
    Good stuff from an underrated band who spawned an underrated genre. Although not as great as "Untouchables" or their self-titled debut, it Good stuff from an underrated band who spawned an underrated genre. Although not as great as "Untouchables" or their self-titled debut, it beats the snot out of the lame, generic "Take a Look In the Mirror" Jonathin explores some new topics sometimes with success ("Hypocrites") and sometimes with failure (some of the icky sex tracks) But the hooks are heavy yet at the same time incorperate an accessible melodic pop sensibility. "Twisted Transistor" balls-out rocks, while "Throw Me Away" is one of the prettiest goth songs Korn has done in a while. Not too shabby. Nu Metal-heads, rejoice. Expand
  7. Rycardo.
    Feb 10, 2006
    0
    What is this?? Music??? Let me laugh....

See all 57 User Reviews