Seeing Sounds

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlD
    Jun 14, 2008
    6
    I am somewhat disappointed after listening to this album a few times. There are some excellent tracks (Spaz, Anti Matter, Everybody Nose) but then there is some nonsense that wouldn't be acceptable from cutting-edge artists. NERD will quickly retreat to the excuse "we made this music for ourselves and our fans" but that is no excuse for some of the filler in this album. Fly or Die I am somewhat disappointed after listening to this album a few times. There are some excellent tracks (Spaz, Anti Matter, Everybody Nose) but then there is some nonsense that wouldn't be acceptable from cutting-edge artists. NERD will quickly retreat to the excuse "we made this music for ourselves and our fans" but that is no excuse for some of the filler in this album. Fly or Die was so perfect that this album seems like they needed a reason to get the band back together again. Expand
  2. JustinK
    Jun 14, 2008
    3
    God I was really expecting something fresh from this group. They haven't come out with anything relevant since "In Search of..." Stick to producing because their albums keep sucking.
  3. JeffG
    Jun 14, 2008
    8
    The first five tracks are club fodder with an added bit of individuality. They beat mainstream hip-hop, but not by much. The second half of the album is great. These tracks, especially "Yeah You," "Love Bomb," and my favorite, "Sooner or Later," feature great harmonic progressions. Anyone looking to find great lyrics from NERD would be more successful getting a glass of water from a The first five tracks are club fodder with an added bit of individuality. They beat mainstream hip-hop, but not by much. The second half of the album is great. These tracks, especially "Yeah You," "Love Bomb," and my favorite, "Sooner or Later," feature great harmonic progressions. Anyone looking to find great lyrics from NERD would be more successful getting a glass of water from a stick. It's a weird, drugged-out side project in nature, and no one should expect literary profundity here. I like NERD for their songwriting abilities and their attitude toward crashing our concepts of genre into one another constantly. If you're not into this sort of thing, you won't be into NERD. Expand
  4. RobertF
    Jun 14, 2008
    8
    This album is not as bad as the rating states, in fact windows and anti matter are crazy. This album is like the drunken master of rock.
  5. ChrisW
    Jun 14, 2008
    2
    Although I can appreciate what they are trying to do on this record, it just comes across as annoying. It's frustrating because I believe they are way more talented than what they're showing here. The lyrics seem to be just through together without any real thought to them and the music and beats are too experimental. A big fat 2 of this one.
  6. DannyL
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    The most inventive and ambitious album a minded hip hop/alternative rock group could do, period!
  7. AdamS
    Jun 14, 2008
    9
    An excellent album. Well worth purchasing. N.E.R.D. have evolved into something qute different and after Pharrels not so excellent solo venture I am glad this album is what it is. Pick it up and turn it up!
  8. cMeezy
    Jun 15, 2008
    8
    A really fun all-around listen. Some weaker tracks but some real dope bangers and smooth stuff thrown in.
  9. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    I like most things produced by The Neptunes, and this is no exception. I can listen to each song on it's own and enjoy it. This is one of the albums that will get a larger group of people interested in N.E.R.D., but doesn't necessarily disappoint with the sound they put out.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Despite all the weight, those songs still have a way of seeming as easy and carefree as the moments when N.E.R.D. are simply bashing away (sometimes over agitated drum'n'bass), blowing off steam, and talking ridiculous nonsense. Whether taken as a diversion of throwaway fun or a deeper (or peculiar) look into what makes these men tick, the album succeeds.
  2. A streamlined slab of silky, soul-soaked rock music, Seeing Sounds succeeds in capturing the best experiments on their first two albums while injecting new-school sequences into the mix.
  3. The Neptunes don't necessarily need guest MCs to make a great album of their own, but if they want their rhymes to keep up with the strength of their tunes, they need to dig a little deeper than this.