Seeing Things

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2008
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkS.
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    Everyone will compare this folk/protest album to Bob Dylan for obvious reasons but the real comparison and similarity is to Bruce Springsteen. This is a very good album, in many ways better than Springsteen's folk albums but Jakob Dylan is no Johnny Cash and it would be very interesting to see Rick Rubin do an album with Springsteen.
  2. AlexF.
    Jul 10, 2008
    5
    How does this album get 81% when not a single critical review is over 80%/
  3. ToddH.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    I love the album. It's a step away from what he did with the Wallflowers and I like it. Great song writing and very listenable.
  4. RiedC.
    Jul 1, 2008
    8
    It's great. Easy to listen to. Good lyrics.
  5. SteveO.
    Jul 2, 2008
    6
    Doesn't even compare with Bob... I mean I'm sure Jakob is an extremely talented musician, as this album proves, but as a whole the album lacks one key element: songwriting.
  6. AndrewC.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    Peaches and cream! Hasn't been off my turntable since its release. Haunting, mesmerising, awesome, brilliant.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Jakob Dylan's Seeing Things is a fresh introspection to Jakob as a confessional songwriter. His lyrics stand alone as poetry and really confirms his status as a significant voice crying to be heard.
  8. ErichR.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Dylan's tracks on this album are all heard in a pure, and bare vulnerable form. You have to be able to read deeper than the face value trashy music out there in order to enjoy the wonderful and thoughtful poetry of this album.
  9. TomH
    Jun 18, 2008
    7
    A decent batch of modern folk from a familiar face. Fare amount of folk/protest songs reminiscent of Dylan Sr.
  10. MaddiL.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    I saw him in concert and he sounded exactly the same as in the album, which means awesome!
  11. SanitraD.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    A true writer in every sense. This guy is a freaking genius and a real poet's poet. How does someone like this go so under the radar? Two listens to this album and it became one of my top ten of all time. I feel like I discovered a new genre of music.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. In Rubin's hands, Seeing Things plays like a songwriter playing his newest songs in your living room--a seductive feeling that no Wallflowers record ever captured, which is an excellent reason for Dylan to step out on his own.
  2. Under Rubin's direction, Dylan's laid-back rasp, often laced with smoky harmonies, gains weight and texture.
  3. 80
    Treading his father’s path, he’s never sounded so comfortably himself.