Sempiternal

  • Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Apr 2, 2013
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Sempiternal is one of the most breathtaking and engaging albums of the year.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Bring Me the Horizon have been working slowly but surely to refine their sound for years now, and with Sempiternal, it feels like their patience and hard work are finally beginning to pay dividends.
  3. 90
    Sykes’ increased vocal range also proves a formidable addition to their arsenal, coalescing with the expanded sonic palette for a more intimate, cohesive and engaging collection.
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    While Sempiternal isn’t the equal of another genre-bending record Date has worked on, Deftones’ White Pony, it represents significant and successful progression for its makers.
  5. 70
    BMTH sound more genuine, dramatic and emotional than they ever have before. [Jun 2013, p.89]
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Bring Me The Horizon have crafted an album that, while not as post-rock-influenced as hinted at, is definitely post-Bring Me The Horizon, at least as we once knew them.
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Sempiternal sounds like a record that wants the world--that's all of it, not just the bits where longhairs dwell--which is refreshing for a metal record in 2013. [30 Mar 2013, p.52]
  8. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    With all the ingredients for success laid bare, Sempiternal comes as the lightbulb moment--the clicking into place of every cog and spring, Bring Me The Horizon more than ready to accept the gauntlet thrown to them.
  9. Ready to break noisily out of the underground, the quintet have made one of the year’s most accomplished metal albums.
  10. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Sempiternal contains the best music this young group of musicians have ever created, and Bring Me the Horizon are now relevant in the grand scheme of things, whether you choose to admit it or not.
  11. May 13, 2013
    60
    They've long threatened to make an album that would propel them to metal's major league. This might be it. [Jun 2013, p.95]
  12. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    For all its aggression and pop-culture pilfering, Sempiternal frequently feels like the work of a band satisfied to slide down the surface of heavy music rather than engage with its true heart.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Sempiternal is the one of the most promising, brilliant albums of the the highly underrated Metalcore genre. The reason why metalcore is soSempiternal is the one of the most promising, brilliant albums of the the highly underrated Metalcore genre. The reason why metalcore is so underrated, is because, well, they're offering the same things. I've heard so many heavy metal albums that constantly contain lyrics about how the sun is going black and that we will rise as one. Well this album is a growth for the band and the genre, and its perfect. BMTH has shown people that meaningful lyrics can be given in any form of music. BMTH has grown in their last two albums, and i hope they continue to do so. It will grow their success and their ability to be more than "some guy screaming". 10/10 Amazing. Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This album is perhaps the best album of the year. No faults included.. just pure perfection. I think the lyrics are written purely from theThis album is perhaps the best album of the year. No faults included.. just pure perfection. I think the lyrics are written purely from the heart with so much emotion! The guitars sound amazing with mesmerizing riffs. Then there is the electronics added by new member Jordan Fish, well i thought the album couldn't be better but with the fantastic sounds from Jordan Fish the album gets a perfect 10 from me. Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2015
    10
    It's a refinement of their already excellent work on "There is a hell...". Mix in the bits of bold experimentation the band tries here and youIt's a refinement of their already excellent work on "There is a hell...". Mix in the bits of bold experimentation the band tries here and you have an excellent album with surprisingly diverse themes scattered throughout the tracks. It's one of the most refreshing and masterfully created albums you'll find in the metal genre or any of it's subgenres.

    The first track on the album "Can You Feel My Heart" is sure to shock fans. It's a track that heavily experiments with elements of pop. If that's not your cup of tea don't let it detract you from the rest of the album. It's still very much in touch with bands metal roots.

    It's fantastic, heavy, and at times very emotional. This isn't the type of album that's going to stick with one theme and say the same thing different ways across all of the songs here. The diversity in the tone of songs as well as in the range of vocals lead singer Oliver Sykes is capable of using set this album apart and ensure there's always something exciting just around the corner.

    Tracks like "House of Wolves" and "Crooked Young" are brutal attacks on religion. Then you have tracks like "And the Snakes Start to Sing" and "Hospital for Souls" which are emotional ballads that are surprisingly cathartic and aren't afraid to get heavy. "Go to Hell, for Heaven's Sake" is a powerful dis song and "Antivist" is about anarchy and saying screw the system. All that diversity and even more is present in the themes the songs in this album carry. It's a mature work that touches on a lot of different themes.

    Of course none of that would matter if everything didn't sound good. Luckily, Bring Me the Horizon took the fantastic sound from their previous album and darn near perfected it. Once again Sykes shows that he knows how to write excellent lyrics that have a masterful flow to them and can bring out some real emotions. With this album Bring Me the Horizon has established themselves as one of the elite in the metal genre. Heck, with talent like this they could probably establish themselves as one of the elite in any genre they wanted to. This is that good of an album.
    Full Review »