Sempiternal - Bring Me the Horizon
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 104
  2. Negative: 24 out of 104

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Sempiternal is the one of the most promising, brilliant albums of the the highly underrated Metalcore genre. The reason why metalcore is so underrated, is because, well, they're offering the same things. I've heard so many heavy metal albums that constantly contain lyrics about how the sun is going black and that we will rise as one. Well this album is a growth for the band and the genre, and its perfect. BMTH has shown people that meaningful lyrics can be given in any form of music. BMTH has grown in their last two albums, and i hope they continue to do so. It will grow their success and their ability to be more than "some guy screaming". 10/10 Amazing. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This album is perhaps the best album of the year. No faults included.. just pure perfection. I think the lyrics are written purely from the heart with so much emotion! The guitars sound amazing with mesmerizing riffs. Then there is the electronics added by new member Jordan Fish, well i thought the album couldn't be better but with the fantastic sounds from Jordan Fish the album gets a perfect 10 from me. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Sempiternal explores the "there is nothing above, there is nothing below" concept only hinted at on previous material, which may specifically offend some of the members of the bible belt. But in the end, musically, the band draws influences from modern rockers 30 Seconds to Mars and Linkin Park to create a magnificently maturer sound in comparison with their previous metal-esque material whilst still holding onto that aggression. Skye's new whispering clean vocals are wonderfully fit throughout the conceptually raw verses before picking up with the backing chants in the sing-along choruses. Some recommendations are the lead single "Shadow Moses", which calls back to their There Is A Heaven and even Suicide Season days, while album closer "Hospital For Souls" has some of the most meaningful lyrics in Skye's songwriting history. Overall, despite the newer experimental sound, this should please both longtime fans and newcomers. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    this has got to be one of the biggest records of the year, running for the best album of the year, BMTH reinvents their sound and evolves as an artist. and the result is good. Sempiternal is nothing like Count you Blessings or There is hell... musically and lyrically this is their best album to date, their decision of breaking out of the underground and not minding hipster to prevent them from evolving made them better and stronger as musicians. well done boys! Expand
  5. May 13, 2013
    10
    The truth is that it is the first album I hear from Bring Me The Horizon, but I must admit that I love. When i hear the first song "Can you Feel My Heart" I thought I was wrong album for a moment, but as I said, this is the first album I heard from BMTH, but when you get listening to him you realize that it is a powerful album. Ultimately Bring Me The Horizon are well energized. It's very noticeable electronic presence. Although guitarist Lee Malia said that the album would influence post-rock, electronic influences abound in this album really, with the addition of Jordan Fish (keyboards synthesizers). In short, "Sempiternal" is an excellent album that really shows what Bring Me the Horizon can do, but as I said, this is the first album I heard from them, so I can not tell if it's the better.But, incorporation keyboardist "Jordan Fish" really do look the sound of the band.
    For the moment, is the best album of the year I've heard, we'll see if another group or artist surpasses.
    Collapse
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    For those who read my review of A Flash Flood of Colour by Enter Shikari, most will probably criticise me for giving this a higher rating than that album because its practically the same. Well yes and no. On this album there's less of the political message and the electronics are far superior. Oli Sykes has mastered his metalcore growl but for the most part resorts to shouting over electronic textures (see Can You Feel My Heart) and singing on some occasions (see the dark, haunting And The Snakes Start To Sing). This is Bring Me the Horizon's most ambitious album, but given There Is A Hell's... eclectic nature this seems like natural progression and Jordan Fish (keyboards) is a worthy addition. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Bring Me the Horizon comes together with new and old sounds to make yet another ground breaking album just like There is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen it. There is a Heaven, Let's Keep it a Secret.
    Every kind of fan of them will find something to like here.
  8. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    This album absolutely surpassed any expectations I had for Bring Me the Horizon's fourth full-length album. Bring Me the Horizon has not only matured musically and aesthetically, but seems to have revolutionized the artistic journey of songwriting. Penning lyrics that may offend the pious, affirm feelings of revenge, create the notion of pessimistic optimism, Sykes manages to do all of this in a unique and artistic manner. With clear influences from other genres of music, Sempiternal solidifies BMTH position as one of the bands that can essentially remain the most underestimated, yet buzzed-about bands of 2013. If you purchase this album, be prepared to sing along to every lyric and feel the emotion that radiates from the charismatic lead singer. Overall, this band is quite possibly be one of the most underestimated within the genre but know this: It will all change with the release of such a brilliant album. Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Simply astonishing album. I've liked every album this band has ever made. But Sempiternal is epic in every sense of the word. Great work of art from the Sheffield boys
  10. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums i've heared so far. They became soo much better since there first album.
    The only Albums that come to my mind, that can be compared to this masterpiece is Hybrid Theory or Dead by April.
  11. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    This is a fantastic album. BMTH has consistently raised the bar for the whole metalcore album and continue to do so with this stunning achievement. Opening the album with "Can You Feel My Heart", which features vocalist Oliver Sykes (who is also the lyricist) singing for the first time on a BMTH record is a daring move that pays off. It sets up the rest of the album, which soars with each song. Key tracks include: "Can You Feel My Heart", "Sleepwalking", and the endgame "Shadow Moses". Expand
  12. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Bring Me The Horizon it's a typical metalcore band that has released a non typical metalcore album. Excellent mix of sounds and excellent songwriting. One of the best album of the 2013'
  13. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    New bmth incredible! voice Oliver sounds much better than in the first three albums, perhaps due to the change of the genre ,but it's not important sounds unforgettably
  14. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably the BEST album I own, with no faults, all songs are great. I'm happy Oli Sykes has found a new style, and sings as well of screaming, instead of just screaming. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 70
    BMTH sound more genuine, dramatic and emotional than they ever have before. [Jun 2013, p.89]
  2. May 13, 2013
    60
    They've long threatened to make an album that would propel them to metal's major league. This might be it. [Jun 2013, p.95]
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Sempiternal sounds like a record that wants the world--that's all of it, not just the bits where longhairs dwell--which is refreshing for a metal record in 2013. [30 Mar 2013, p.52]