Sempiternal - Bring Me the Horizon
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 107
  2. Negative: 24 out of 107

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    this has got to be one of the biggest records of the year, running for the best album of the year, BMTH reinvents their sound and evolves as an artist. and the result is good. Sempiternal is nothing like Count you Blessings or There is hell... musically and lyrically this is their best album to date, their decision of breaking out of the underground and not minding hipster to prevent them from evolving made them better and stronger as musicians. well done boys! Expand
  2. May 13, 2013
    10
    The truth is that it is the first album I hear from Bring Me The Horizon, but I must admit that I love. When i hear the first song "Can you Feel My Heart" I thought I was wrong album for a moment, but as I said, this is the first album I heard from BMTH, but when you get listening to him you realize that it is a powerful album. Ultimately Bring Me The Horizon are well energized. It's very noticeable electronic presence. Although guitarist Lee Malia said that the album would influence post-rock, electronic influences abound in this album really, with the addition of Jordan Fish (keyboards synthesizers). In short, "Sempiternal" is an excellent album that really shows what Bring Me the Horizon can do, but as I said, this is the first album I heard from them, so I can not tell if it's the better.But, incorporation keyboardist "Jordan Fish" really do look the sound of the band.
    For the moment, is the best album of the year I've heard, we'll see if another group or artist surpasses.
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    This album is perhaps the best album of the year. No faults included.. just pure perfection. I think the lyrics are written purely from the heart with so much emotion! The guitars sound amazing with mesmerizing riffs. Then there is the electronics added by new member Jordan Fish, well i thought the album couldn't be better but with the fantastic sounds from Jordan Fish the album gets a perfect 10 from me. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Bring Me the Horizon comes together with new and old sounds to make yet another ground breaking album just like There is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen it. There is a Heaven, Let's Keep it a Secret.
    Every kind of fan of them will find something to like here.
  5. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    Very rarely does an album get released which is flawless. Every song is as good as the last... It isn't let down by one bad song or one bad moment. I wasn't in to Metalcore or bands that scream before this album, so hats off to Bring me the horizon! Made me a huge fan!
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Simply astonishing album. I've liked every album this band has ever made. But Sempiternal is epic in every sense of the word. Great work of art from the Sheffield boys
  7. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums i've heared so far. They became soo much better since there first album.
    The only Albums that come to my mind, that can be compared to this masterpiece is Hybrid Theory or Dead by April.
  8. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Sempiternal is the one of the most promising, brilliant albums of the the highly underrated Metalcore genre. The reason why metalcore is so underrated, is because, well, they're offering the same things. I've heard so many heavy metal albums that constantly contain lyrics about how the sun is going black and that we will rise as one. Well this album is a growth for the band and the genre, and its perfect. BMTH has shown people that meaningful lyrics can be given in any form of music. BMTH has grown in their last two albums, and i hope they continue to do so. It will grow their success and their ability to be more than "some guy screaming". 10/10 Amazing. Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    This is a fantastic album. BMTH has consistently raised the bar for the whole metalcore album and continue to do so with this stunning achievement. Opening the album with "Can You Feel My Heart", which features vocalist Oliver Sykes (who is also the lyricist) singing for the first time on a BMTH record is a daring move that pays off. It sets up the rest of the album, which soars with each song. Key tracks include: "Can You Feel My Heart", "Sleepwalking", and the endgame "Shadow Moses". Expand
  10. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Bring Me The Horizon it's a typical metalcore band that has released a non typical metalcore album. Excellent mix of sounds and excellent songwriting. One of the best album of the 2013'
  11. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    New bmth incredible! voice Oliver sounds much better than in the first three albums, perhaps due to the change of the genre ,but it's not important sounds unforgettably
  12. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably the BEST album I own, with no faults, all songs are great. I'm happy Oli Sykes has found a new style, and sings as well of screaming, instead of just screaming. Expand
  13. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Sempiternal explores the "there is nothing above, there is nothing below" concept only hinted at on previous material, which may specifically offend some of the members of the bible belt. But in the end, musically, the band draws influences from modern rockers 30 Seconds to Mars and Linkin Park to create a magnificently maturer sound in comparison with their previous metal-esque material whilst still holding onto that aggression. Skye's new whispering clean vocals are wonderfully fit throughout the conceptually raw verses before picking up with the backing chants in the sing-along choruses. Some recommendations are the lead single "Shadow Moses", which calls back to their There Is A Heaven and even Suicide Season days, while album closer "Hospital For Souls" has some of the most meaningful lyrics in Skye's songwriting history. Overall, despite the newer experimental sound, this should please both longtime fans and newcomers. Expand
  14. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    For those who read my review of A Flash Flood of Colour by Enter Shikari, most will probably criticise me for giving this a higher rating than that album because its practically the same. Well yes and no. On this album there's less of the political message and the electronics are far superior. Oli Sykes has mastered his metalcore growl but for the most part resorts to shouting over electronic textures (see Can You Feel My Heart) and singing on some occasions (see the dark, haunting And The Snakes Start To Sing). This is Bring Me the Horizon's most ambitious album, but given There Is A Hell's... eclectic nature this seems like natural progression and Jordan Fish (keyboards) is a worthy addition. Expand
  15. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    This album absolutely surpassed any expectations I had for Bring Me the Horizon's fourth full-length album. Bring Me the Horizon has not only matured musically and aesthetically, but seems to have revolutionized the artistic journey of songwriting. Penning lyrics that may offend the pious, affirm feelings of revenge, create the notion of pessimistic optimism, Sykes manages to do all of this in a unique and artistic manner. With clear influences from other genres of music, Sempiternal solidifies BMTH position as one of the bands that can essentially remain the most underestimated, yet buzzed-about bands of 2013. If you purchase this album, be prepared to sing along to every lyric and feel the emotion that radiates from the charismatic lead singer. Overall, this band is quite possibly be one of the most underestimated within the genre but know this: It will all change with the release of such a brilliant album. Expand
  16. May 1, 2013
    8
    Interesting new abulm, new sound seems to have worked some of the songs on this abulm are some of the best they have ever done
  17. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    This album has single-handedly proven to me that it’s possible for a bad band to become good. I haven’t heard too much from their previous work aside from one track from each album, but from what I’ve heard they started out as an awful, generic, monotonous, breakdown-infested deathcore band. The song from their last album showed some promise musically but was thoroughly defecated on by frontman Oli Sykes’ pig-squeal vocals. This of course has led to BMTH’s bad rap in the music world, particularly among metalheads. However, it seems that with Sempiternal, this band has pretty much reached their potential. For one thing, instead of the typical forced-sounding mix of 90% obnoxious screaming & 10% whiny singing in the chorus, Sempiternal is a lot more well-executed in the vocal department, both in creating a good balance & making the vocals themselves sound, you know... good. I'm not the biggest fan of screams but I can tell a good one from a bad one. The transitions between clean & unclean vocals feel very natural, and most of the time the latter serves more to compliment the songwriting than to just sound br00tl. In a way this new balance almost reminds me of early Linkin Park, but with screaming instead of rapping. Safe to say Oli’s sense of vocal control & restraint (when necessary) has greatly improved. The instrumentation has taken a big step up too, incorporating some more smooth pseudo-electronic influences, most notable on tracks like Can You Feel My Heart, Sleepwalking & And the Snakes Start to Sing, while also keeping a solid metalcore feel throughout. Can You Feel My Heart in particular has a very catchy synth riff that basically uses spliced & looped vocal samples as part of the hook. And the Snakes Start to Sing is also a notable departure, slowly but effectively building up from somber alt-rock with pounding drums & electronic rhythms to a dramatic orchestral metal song. Pretty much every track here is packed with big hooks, staying memorable while rarely trying too hard to be infectious. If there’s one weakness to be found in the album, it’s the lyrics. While nothing is completely terrible, most of them are pretty generic “tortured guy” stuff. It works fairly well on Can You Feel My Heart (with some good lines like “I can’t drown my demons, they know how to swim”) but any further attempts are kinda underwhelming. Another recurring theme is the bashing of religion. Now even though I’m Christian I’m okay with anti-religious messages as long as they’re done with thoughtfulness, intelligence & maturity. Yeah, let’s just say Oli Sykes is no Greg Graffin. Because of this songs like The House of Wolves & Crooked Young (which literally includes him screaming “F*CK YOUR FAITH!” at the top of his lungs), while good musically, are among my least favorite tracks. The excessive cursing & the line “middle fingers up if you don’t give a f*ck” in Antivist is admittedly a bit cringeworthy as well. I don’t really have any complaints other than that though. In all other departments this is a very solid album, using elements of metalcore, alternative & experimental rock, leaving the deathcore behind. Let’s hope it stays that way.

    Top 5 tracks: Can You Feel My Heart, And the Snakes Start to Sing, Shadow Moses, Hospital for Souls, Go to Hell for Heaven’s Sake.
    Score: 76/100
    Expand
  18. May 19, 2013
    4
    Bring Me The Horizon impressed me with there 2010 album, There Is A Hell… The album had, for me at least, the right balance between good metal and metalcore so to speak. I am no big fan of “screamo” just as with rap music. But the album won me over with songs like “Alligator Blood” and “Blacklist”.

    There new album, one that I first heard was going to head down a more rock road,
    disappoints. The first song though, “Can You Feel My Heart”, is really good. It has this electronic stutter melody line for the first thirty seconds and it is repeated later in the song. The one problem I have with this is when Oli Sykes screams. He sings softly later in the song, as he does on a couple of songs from the album, it’s just this is the beginning, of what I feel to be a new Bring Me, and they don’t feel all there.

    The album gives off this angsty metalcore clichéd filled feel to it. I know that they are trying to break the conventions of their genre, but they don’t really get anywhere. There is almost a pop punk, emo scene vibe going on. It’s like they are trying to lighten their sound to be more accessible. There are spoken word sections, like at the beginning of “Hospital For Souls” which feel really out of place. The song itself is the second redeeming quality of the album. Between the opener and “Hospital For Souls” it’s just bland and boring and I don’t want to listen to it all. I just want these two song and I want a different Bring Me, one that knows where it is going. The album brings nothing new because it is bogged down in conformity. They try, and I must give them something for that, it’s just they don’t go very far.

    The band seem to do a mix of light electronic vibes with the metal well. They did it on “Blacklist” with the help of one Sonny Moore, and they do it again here. So I don’t know if maybe they should be like Enter Shikari, but I suppose we shall have to wait and see.
    Expand
  19. May 25, 2014
    4
    This is a remarkable improvement over their prior abysmal albums. However, this still falls flat in many ways. I like that they are progressing as a band, but they are floundering at times, too. Olly Sykes is one of the worst lyricists I've ever seen. He is misogynistic, illiterate, and it makes it hard to approach this as an art. If they can try being more instrumental, they could move in the right direction to become a more enjoyable band. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 70
    BMTH sound more genuine, dramatic and emotional than they ever have before. [Jun 2013, p.89]
  2. May 13, 2013
    60
    They've long threatened to make an album that would propel them to metal's major league. This might be it. [Jun 2013, p.95]
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Sempiternal sounds like a record that wants the world--that's all of it, not just the bits where longhairs dwell--which is refreshing for a metal record in 2013. [30 Mar 2013, p.52]