Sempiternal

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Sempiternal Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth release for the British metalcore band was produced by Terry Date and is its first with Worship's Jordan Fish.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Kerrang!
    Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Sempiternal sounds like a record that wants the world--that's all of it, not just the bits where longhairs dwell--which is refreshing for a metal record in 2013. [30 Mar 2013, p.52]
  2. 90
    Sykes’ increased vocal range also proves a formidable addition to their arsenal, coalescing with the expanded sonic palette for a more intimate, cohesive and engaging collection.
  3. Sempiternal is one of the most breathtaking and engaging albums of the year.
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Sempiternal contains the best music this young group of musicians have ever created, and Bring Me the Horizon are now relevant in the grand scheme of things, whether you choose to admit it or not.
  5. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jun 25, 2013
    70
    BMTH sound more genuine, dramatic and emotional than they ever have before. [Jun 2013, p.89]
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    While Sempiternal isn’t the equal of another genre-bending record Date has worked on, Deftones’ White Pony, it represents significant and successful progression for its makers.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    For all its aggression and pop-culture pilfering, Sempiternal frequently feels like the work of a band satisfied to slide down the surface of heavy music rather than engage with its true heart.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. May 13, 2013
    10
    The truth is that it is the first album I hear from Bring Me The Horizon, but I must admit that I love. When i hear the first song "Can youThe truth is that it is the first album I hear from Bring Me The Horizon, but I must admit that I love. When i hear the first song "Can you Feel My Heart" I thought I was wrong album for a moment, but as I said, this is the first album I heard from BMTH, but when you get listening to him you realize that it is a powerful album. Ultimately Bring Me The Horizon are well energized. It's very noticeable electronic presence. Although guitarist Lee Malia said that the album would influence post-rock, electronic influences abound in this album really, with the addition of Jordan Fish (keyboards synthesizers). In short, "Sempiternal" is an excellent album that really shows what Bring Me the Horizon can do, but as I said, this is the first album I heard from them, so I can not tell if it's the better.But, incorporation keyboardist "Jordan Fish" really do look the sound of the band.
    For the moment, is the best album of the year I've heard, we'll see if another group or artist surpasses.
    Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Sempiternal is the one of the most promising, brilliant albums of the the highly underrated Metalcore genre. The reason why metalcore is soSempiternal is the one of the most promising, brilliant albums of the the highly underrated Metalcore genre. The reason why metalcore is so underrated, is because, well, they're offering the same things. I've heard so many heavy metal albums that constantly contain lyrics about how the sun is going black and that we will rise as one. Well this album is a growth for the band and the genre, and its perfect. BMTH has shown people that meaningful lyrics can be given in any form of music. BMTH has grown in their last two albums, and i hope they continue to do so. It will grow their success and their ability to be more than "some guy screaming". 10/10 Amazing. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably the BEST album I own, with no faults, all songs are great. I'm happy Oli Sykes has found a new style, and sings as well of screaming, instead of just screaming. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Bring Me The Horizon it's a typical metalcore band that has released a non typical metalcore album. Excellent mix of sounds and excellentBring Me The Horizon it's a typical metalcore band that has released a non typical metalcore album. Excellent mix of sounds and excellent songwriting. One of the best album of the 2013' Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2015
    10
    Masterpiece from Bring Me The Horizon!
    I like very songs from this album!
    Can You Feel My Heart, The House Of Wolves,Sleepwalking,Shadows
    Masterpiece from Bring Me The Horizon!
    I like very songs from this album!
    Can You Feel My Heart, The House Of Wolves,Sleepwalking,Shadows Moses,Crooked Young,Hospital Of Souls - just ten from ten.
    They have experimented with sound and I am not disappointed in them!
    Really good job!The best album of the year!
    Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    Sempiternal explores the "there is nothing above, there is nothing below" concept only hinted at on previous material, which may specificallySempiternal explores the "there is nothing above, there is nothing below" concept only hinted at on previous material, which may specifically offend some of the members of the bible belt. But in the end, musically, the band draws influences from modern rockers 30 Seconds to Mars and Linkin Park to create a magnificently maturer sound in comparison with their previous metal-esque material whilst still holding onto that aggression. Skye's new whispering clean vocals are wonderfully fit throughout the conceptually raw verses before picking up with the backing chants in the sing-along choruses. Some recommendations are the lead single "Shadow Moses", which calls back to their There Is A Heaven and even Suicide Season days, while album closer "Hospital For Souls" has some of the most meaningful lyrics in Skye's songwriting history. Overall, despite the newer experimental sound, this should please both longtime fans and newcomers. Expand
  7. May 19, 2013
    4
    Bring Me The Horizon impressed me with there 2010 album, There Is A Hell… The album had, for me at least, the right balance between good metalBring Me The Horizon impressed me with there 2010 album, There Is A Hell… The album had, for me at least, the right balance between good metal and metalcore so to speak. I am no big fan of “screamo” just as with rap music. But the album won me over with songs like “Alligator Blood” and “Blacklist”.

    There new album, one that I first heard was going to head down a more rock road, disappoints. The first song though, “Can You Feel My Heart”, is really good. It has this electronic stutter melody line for the first thirty seconds and it is repeated later in the song. The one problem I have with this is when Oli Sykes screams. He sings softly later in the song, as he does on a couple of songs from the album, it’s just this is the beginning, of what I feel to be a new Bring Me, and they don’t feel all there.

    The album gives off this angsty metalcore clichéd filled feel to it. I know that they are trying to break the conventions of their genre, but they don’t really get anywhere. There is almost a pop punk, emo scene vibe going on. It’s like they are trying to lighten their sound to be more accessible. There are spoken word sections, like at the beginning of “Hospital For Souls” which feel really out of place. The song itself is the second redeeming quality of the album. Between the opener and “Hospital For Souls” it’s just bland and boring and I don’t want to listen to it all. I just want these two song and I want a different Bring Me, one that knows where it is going. The album brings nothing new because it is bogged down in conformity. They try, and I must give them something for that, it’s just they don’t go very far.

    The band seem to do a mix of light electronic vibes with the metal well. They did it on “Blacklist” with the help of one Sonny Moore, and they do it again here. So I don’t know if maybe they should be like Enter Shikari, but I suppose we shall have to wait and see.
    Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews