Sempiternal - Bring Me the Horizon
Sempiternal Image

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth release for the British metalcore band was produced by Terry Date and is its first with Worship's Jordan Fish.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    Sempiternal sounds like a record that wants the world--that's all of it, not just the bits where longhairs dwell--which is refreshing for a metal record in 2013. [30 Mar 2013, p.52]
  2. 90
    Sykes’ increased vocal range also proves a formidable addition to their arsenal, coalescing with the expanded sonic palette for a more intimate, cohesive and engaging collection.
  3. Sempiternal is one of the most breathtaking and engaging albums of the year.
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    Sempiternal contains the best music this young group of musicians have ever created, and Bring Me the Horizon are now relevant in the grand scheme of things, whether you choose to admit it or not.
  5. 70
    BMTH sound more genuine, dramatic and emotional than they ever have before. [Jun 2013, p.89]
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    While Sempiternal isn’t the equal of another genre-bending record Date has worked on, Deftones’ White Pony, it represents significant and successful progression for its makers.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    For all its aggression and pop-culture pilfering, Sempiternal frequently feels like the work of a band satisfied to slide down the surface of heavy music rather than engage with its true heart.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    Sempiternal is the one of the most promising, brilliant albums of the the highly underrated Metalcore genre. The reason why metalcore is so underrated, is because, well, they're offering the same things. I've heard so many heavy metal albums that constantly contain lyrics about how the sun is going black and that we will rise as one. Well this album is a growth for the band and the genre, and its perfect. BMTH has shown people that meaningful lyrics can be given in any form of music. BMTH has grown in their last two albums, and i hope they continue to do so. It will grow their success and their ability to be more than "some guy screaming". 10/10 Amazing. Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    New bmth incredible! voice Oliver sounds much better than in the first three albums, perhaps due to the change of the genre ,but it's not important sounds unforgettably Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    this has got to be one of the biggest records of the year, running for the best album of the year, BMTH reinvents their sound and evolves as an artist. and the result is good. Sempiternal is nothing like Count you Blessings or There is hell... musically and lyrically this is their best album to date, their decision of breaking out of the underground and not minding hipster to prevent them from evolving made them better and stronger as musicians. well done boys! Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2014
    Very rarely does an album get released which is flawless. Every song is as good as the last... It isn't let down by one bad song or one bad moment. I wasn't in to Metalcore or bands that scream before this album, so hats off to Bring me the horizon! Made me a huge fan! Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    Sempiternal explores the "there is nothing above, there is nothing below" concept only hinted at on previous material, which may specifically offend some of the members of the bible belt. But in the end, musically, the band draws influences from modern rockers 30 Seconds to Mars and Linkin Park to create a magnificently maturer sound in comparison with their previous metal-esque material whilst still holding onto that aggression. Skye's new whispering clean vocals are wonderfully fit throughout the conceptually raw verses before picking up with the backing chants in the sing-along choruses. Some recommendations are the lead single "Shadow Moses", which calls back to their There Is A Heaven and even Suicide Season days, while album closer "Hospital For Souls" has some of the most meaningful lyrics in Skye's songwriting history. Overall, despite the newer experimental sound, this should please both longtime fans and newcomers. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    For those who read my review of A Flash Flood of Colour by Enter Shikari, most will probably criticise me for giving this a higher rating than that album because its practically the same. Well yes and no. On this album there's less of the political message and the electronics are far superior. Oli Sykes has mastered his metalcore growl but for the most part resorts to shouting over electronic textures (see Can You Feel My Heart) and singing on some occasions (see the dark, haunting And The Snakes Start To Sing). This is Bring Me the Horizon's most ambitious album, but given There Is A Hell's... eclectic nature this seems like natural progression and Jordan Fish (keyboards) is a worthy addition. Expand
  7. May 19, 2013
    Bring Me The Horizon impressed me with there 2010 album, There Is A Hell… The album had, for me at least, the right balance between good metal and metalcore so to speak. I am no big fan of “screamo” just as with rap music. But the album won me over with songs like “Alligator Blood” and “Blacklist”.

    There new album, one that I first heard was going to head down a more rock road, disappoints. The first song though, “Can You Feel My Heart”, is really good. It has this electronic stutter melody line for the first thirty seconds and it is repeated later in the song. The one problem I have with this is when Oli Sykes screams. He sings softly later in the song, as he does on a couple of songs from the album, it’s just this is the beginning, of what I feel to be a new Bring Me, and they don’t feel all there.

    The album gives off this angsty metalcore clichéd filled feel to it. I know that they are trying to break the conventions of their genre, but they don’t really get anywhere. There is almost a pop punk, emo scene vibe going on. It’s like they are trying to lighten their sound to be more accessible. There are spoken word sections, like at the beginning of “Hospital For Souls” which feel really out of place. The song itself is the second redeeming quality of the album. Between the opener and “Hospital For Souls” it’s just bland and boring and I don’t want to listen to it all. I just want these two song and I want a different Bring Me, one that knows where it is going. The album brings nothing new because it is bogged down in conformity. They try, and I must give them something for that, it’s just they don’t go very far.

    The band seem to do a mix of light electronic vibes with the metal well. They did it on “Blacklist” with the help of one Sonny Moore, and they do it again here. So I don’t know if maybe they should be like Enter Shikari, but I suppose we shall have to wait and see.

See all 20 User Reviews