Serena-Maneesh

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AbdulaS
    Jun 30, 2006
    1
    This is a album that is overated!To much "oh, where so special" effects and crap...buu!
  2. EvenR
    Jun 30, 2006
    2
    Ive heard better!
  3. antoniop
    Jun 23, 2006
    7
    It's a very good album, but the shadow of My bloody valentine and Spiritualized it is too much evident.
  4. thedude
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    I love the album, I love teir kin'da punk^^
  5. anaximandert
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Great!!!!
  6. JesusChrist
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    Very hyped up but still a good album. It won't reinvent the Shoegaze era but it's still worth a listen or 12.
  7. aLck
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    One of the best album i've heard in a while.Shoegaze will still live on.
  8. KevinR
    Jul 7, 2006
    9
    One of the best albums of the year so far.
  9. olae
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    superb
  10. EnariWildWolf
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Just great!
  11. TomL
    Jun 30, 2006
    3
    hey, stop ripping my fave bands from early 90ies and get rid of all those youngsters who critically acclaim you out of porportions ... you are a bleach copy of My Bloody Valentine ...
  12. CharlotMichelleSeabreeze
    Jun 30, 2006
    1
    This album gave me nothing after about 10 listenings. I got the cosmic apmosphere in the 2 first listens, but it lost my interest after some spins.
  13. Eivind
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Best norwegian album of this century so far
  14. KyleB
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    I bet those last four reviews were by the same person. My favourite album of last year.
  15. Jason
    Aug 10, 2006
    2
    Wow, guess I missed something b/c I couldn't stand this album.
  16. MihaiV
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Excellent. Very close to a masterpiece. It's true that classifying it as shoegaze is debateable. It's so much more.
  17. Garrett
    Sep 8, 2006
    8
    Sounds like more upbeat, energetic MBV. I like this album a lot, it's not amazing but it's definitely good :D
  18. BrandonH
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    I got my copy of this album last year through insound.com and it was by far the best album I heard in 2005
  19. KalebC
    Jun 16, 2006
    7
    It's good. It was better the first time I heard it when it was called "Loveless"
  20. Thomas
    Jun 21, 2006
    9
    Fantastic album from Serena. No compromise attitude to music, emotional and intelligent, although demanding to 'get into'.
  21. RG
    Apr 5, 2007
    8
    my first impression of this record was that its just another shoegaze act, but after a couple of listen, this groups really has a sound of their own even though they will never get away from the mbv comparisons. the album really has a very rock anthem feeling and its simply grand in some parts. these guys push things and just when u think they cant push anything futher they do. my first impression of this record was that its just another shoegaze act, but after a couple of listen, this groups really has a sound of their own even though they will never get away from the mbv comparisons. the album really has a very rock anthem feeling and its simply grand in some parts. these guys push things and just when u think they cant push anything futher they do. Candelighted is an unbelievable track with gorgeous arangements followed by a crash rockout of beehiver II. dont come down here is elegant dream pop and the 12 minute ender is a good closer that highlights the bands range. great first record for a group. Expand
  22. Spookrijder
    Jun 15, 2006
    9
    We don't have to wait anymore that My Bloody Valentine finally comes back, Serena-Maneesh made it and transcend the genre. And still it looks like everything coming from Norway is just brilliant, think about Supersilent, Hanne Hukkelberg, SPUNK, Fe-mail, Anja Garbarek, Jaga Jazzist, The Shining, Noxagt and so on.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Jun 21, 2006
    6
    Slow down, cowboy. This is just OK. To me it feels like "soundscape" combined with slit-my-wrists emo attitude.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Under The Radar
    80
    It's remarkable that it should all feel so cohesive, given the album's roller-coaster tendencies and overall messiness, but Serena Maneesh manage to put considerable craft behind their mess. [#12, p.93]
  2. Just don't dip into the album fleetingly - it's music that's hard to appreciate in snippets, but more than satisfactory when devoured as a whole.
  3. Spin
    40
    There are interesting moments... but too often they're smothered in a formless buzz of guitar, samples, voilin, harmonica--you name it. [Jul 2006, p.87]