Serena-Maneesh

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. antoniop
    Jun 23, 2006
    7
    It's a very good album, but the shadow of My bloody valentine and Spiritualized it is too much evident.
  2. thedude
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    I love the album, I love teir kin'da punk^^
  3. anaximandert
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Great!!!!
  4. JesusChrist
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    Very hyped up but still a good album. It won't reinvent the Shoegaze era but it's still worth a listen or 12.
  5. aLck
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    One of the best album i've heard in a while.Shoegaze will still live on.
  6. KevinR
    Jul 7, 2006
    9
    One of the best albums of the year so far.
  7. olae
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    superb
  8. EnariWildWolf
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Just great!
  9. Eivind
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Best norwegian album of this century so far
  10. KyleB
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    I bet those last four reviews were by the same person. My favourite album of last year.
  11. MihaiV
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Excellent. Very close to a masterpiece. It's true that classifying it as shoegaze is debateable. It's so much more.
  12. Garrett
    Sep 8, 2006
    8
    Sounds like more upbeat, energetic MBV. I like this album a lot, it's not amazing but it's definitely good :D
  13. BrandonH
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    I got my copy of this album last year through insound.com and it was by far the best album I heard in 2005
  14. KalebC
    Jun 16, 2006
    7
    It's good. It was better the first time I heard it when it was called "Loveless"
  15. Thomas
    Jun 21, 2006
    9
    Fantastic album from Serena. No compromise attitude to music, emotional and intelligent, although demanding to 'get into'.
  16. RG
    Apr 5, 2007
    8
    my first impression of this record was that its just another shoegaze act, but after a couple of listen, this groups really has a sound of their own even though they will never get away from the mbv comparisons. the album really has a very rock anthem feeling and its simply grand in some parts. these guys push things and just when u think they cant push anything futher they do. my first impression of this record was that its just another shoegaze act, but after a couple of listen, this groups really has a sound of their own even though they will never get away from the mbv comparisons. the album really has a very rock anthem feeling and its simply grand in some parts. these guys push things and just when u think they cant push anything futher they do. Candelighted is an unbelievable track with gorgeous arangements followed by a crash rockout of beehiver II. dont come down here is elegant dream pop and the 12 minute ender is a good closer that highlights the bands range. great first record for a group. Expand
  17. Spookrijder
    Jun 15, 2006
    9
    We don't have to wait anymore that My Bloody Valentine finally comes back, Serena-Maneesh made it and transcend the genre. And still it looks like everything coming from Norway is just brilliant, think about Supersilent, Hanne Hukkelberg, SPUNK, Fe-mail, Anja Garbarek, Jaga Jazzist, The Shining, Noxagt and so on.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. It's remarkable that it should all feel so cohesive, given the album's roller-coaster tendencies and overall messiness, but Serena Maneesh manage to put considerable craft behind their mess. [#12, p.93]
  2. Just don't dip into the album fleetingly - it's music that's hard to appreciate in snippets, but more than satisfactory when devoured as a whole.
  3. 40
    There are interesting moments... but too often they're smothered in a formless buzz of guitar, samples, voilin, harmonica--you name it. [Jul 2006, p.87]