User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 89
  2. Negative: 3 out of 89

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AC
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Another great by album by Stars, they've simply becomed my 2nd favorite band (behind Interpol) working right now in the music industry, there unique and beautiful to listen to. After, "Heart" I didn'y think they were capable of matching the greatness of that album...boy was I wrong! Even though, I prefer "Heart" alittle bit more, SYOF is still an incredible follow-up and in Another great by album by Stars, they've simply becomed my 2nd favorite band (behind Interpol) working right now in the music industry, there unique and beautiful to listen to. After, "Heart" I didn'y think they were capable of matching the greatness of that album...boy was I wrong! Even though, I prefer "Heart" alittle bit more, SYOF is still an incredible follow-up and in someways just as good. Once again, there's no better duo in music right now togther than Torquil Campbell and Amy Millan, there amazing together! Talk about chemistry. There lush, sophisticated, harmoic and soothing music is like no other. This is another perfect pop record by them. My favorite album of 03. Can't wait for there next one! Expand
  2. MeatBag
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Talk about consistensy. This band has already made three damn good albums. But this one has to be my favorite, is just so beautiful, catchy & poetic. Hopefully, there next album can be as good.
  3. AlfredT.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    I can honestly say that this is my favorite album (not without heavy competition) but there just isn't an album that I love front to back, back to front as much as this one. I got it on my I-tunes (I did actually purchase the album by the way) and I got all the songs rated with five stars except "He Lied About Death" (which has four). I always loved this album but what put it at the I can honestly say that this is my favorite album (not without heavy competition) but there just isn't an album that I love front to back, back to front as much as this one. I got it on my I-tunes (I did actually purchase the album by the way) and I got all the songs rated with five stars except "He Lied About Death" (which has four). I always loved this album but what put it at the top was after seeing them live earlier this year. It was amazing and if you get a chance to see them live please don't miss the opportunity. I promise you will not regret it. Expand
  4. LawrenceP
    Mar 7, 2005
    9
    As good as their last two LP's. I think Tony Hoffer production helps. " Ageless Beauty" should be a major hit.
  5. AaronS
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Look out!
  6. DominikS
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    This is the best Indie-Pop Album I am ever heard! The Stars with Set Yourself on Fire! The Beautiful side of Music has a name. For me it is the Album of the Year 2005!
  7. JulianaV
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    Just GREAT
  8. DJ
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Best album of 05. Pop music at it's finest.
  9. IQMagazine
    Mar 11, 2005
    8
    Strong offering from this Canadian band. Without braking new grounds they manage to create a sweet indie pop sound with lyrics to match. The use of both male and female voices work to perfection. For fans of Belle & Sebastian and Death Cab For Cutie.
  10. WangF
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    A lot better than their Heart LP, and that is saying something.
  11. PhilipR
    Mar 8, 2005
    9
    Set yourself on fire is the perfect exemple of a chamber-pop meet indie rock meet sophisticated has hell songwriting. Anybody who loved their fellows from Montréal (Arcade Fire and The Dears) should really dig this incredible record.
  12. PattyM.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    This albums is absoulety amazing, I honestly can't stop listening to it. Everything for the lyrics to the hypnotic keyboard sounds. If I was deserted on a island and had to pick one CD from '05 to take with me this would defintely be it.
  13. MarcB
    Jun 5, 2005
    8
    Correct me if i'm wrong, but i think that this band is from montreal(again!!!)one sure thing is i was suprised when i heard that this one came out before the arcade fire! Letting me perplex for a moment...after two or three listens it seems to be another great indie band from canada who keeps suprising me at each time. They have great melodies and the girl has a sweet voice between Correct me if i'm wrong, but i think that this band is from montreal(again!!!)one sure thing is i was suprised when i heard that this one came out before the arcade fire! Letting me perplex for a moment...after two or three listens it seems to be another great indie band from canada who keeps suprising me at each time. They have great melodies and the girl has a sweet voice between those weird noises and subtile bass lines. Expand
  14. KatherineW
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    I dont think that there are actually words that excist that could properly describe this album. It makes me want to cry, laugh, sing loudly, just everything!
  15. ChrissieW
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Stars' third album, and by far their best, sucks you in a cynic and spits you out a romantic. Beautiful melodies combined with Amy's angelic voice and smart lyrics make this album one of the best you'll hear.
  16. PaulM
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    It really is wonderful and 'Ageless Beauty' has to be one of the greatest indie pop songs of all time.
  17. MusicMaven
    Sep 16, 2005
    8
    A baroque production which encompasses chiming guitars, tinkling synths, and complimentary male/female vocals in support of excellent songs about the vagaries of love and relationships. Stars manage to avoid letting the songs become too twee or emo -- it's simply ace indie-pop.
  18. DavidM
    Sep 2, 2005
    5
    After a year of tracking music on Metacritic, I've come to realize it's number one flaw...it constantly leads to an over-inflated evaluation of middle-of-the-road, immaculately produced, pretty pop albums such as these. I'll be straightforward here, I gravitate towards extremes...extreme mellow, extreme volume, extreme aggression, extreme introspections...the danger zones. After a year of tracking music on Metacritic, I've come to realize it's number one flaw...it constantly leads to an over-inflated evaluation of middle-of-the-road, immaculately produced, pretty pop albums such as these. I'll be straightforward here, I gravitate towards extremes...extreme mellow, extreme volume, extreme aggression, extreme introspections...the danger zones. Safe stuff like this is never going to sell me completely. That said, even with my biases, this album does not deserve an 8, immaculate production does not compensate for average songs and average musical ideas. It's not bad, and it's way better than the Go Betweens, but like the Go Betweens, vastly overrated and none too inspiring. None of the emotional charge of Montreal counterparts Arcade Fire. Expand
  19. mikels
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    a clean, delicious, intricate album that deserves 10 listens before judging, then a listen per day. overly incredible live, with swirling washes of sound moving through the crowd. my new favorite band!
  20. williamo
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    This is not just a good band on album! You have to see them in show! They are amazing!
  21. SamK
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    A Modern Mastepiece. I try to listen to it everyday.
  22. DamienD
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Lovely, beautiful, amazing and a joy to listen to. One of my personal favorites.
  23. JustinV
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    Amazing CD....total at ease, chill tone.
  24. DaveH
    Dec 23, 2005
    9
    As good as an album can be without changing your life.
  25. MartinW
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing, covering deep spectrums musically and lyrically. An unpraised band masters another record. I saw them recently and they are just as wonderful live. Even met a couple of them and they are the humblest people I've ever met in that position.
  26. Anandgyan
    Mar 14, 2005
    9
    Maybe no " Elevator Love Song " here but plenty to satisfy. Deserves the comparison to B&S, AF and yet thoroughly themselves. Nice.
  27. jake
    Mar 7, 2005
    9
    why is canadian music so good lately - this album brings together smart and catchy unlike so many other indie albums of late - broken social scene, arcade fire, the stills - it goes on and on - i'm moving up there
  28. [Anonymous]
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    One of the best pop albums in a while. Songs like "the big fight", "one more night" and "celebration guns" are just great to listen to any time of the day. Think Belle & Sebastian, without the fluff, darker, and more electropop.
  29. miker
    May 12, 2005
    7
    see, it was one of those albums you love too much at first. and when that is the case, 9 out of 10 times it grows old quick. hence the case in point here.
  30. SoftRevolution
    May 13, 2005
    10
    This is the best album of the year
  31. PaulL
    May 14, 2005
    10
    I've been listening to this for three months and it's still the CD I listen to the most. Utterly listenable pop music with just enough edge and layering to keep things interesting without sounding pretentious. It gets better the more you listen to it.
  32. davidm
    May 21, 2005
    10
    Quite gorgeous music....why isn't it out in the UK?
  33. Stacy
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    One of my favorite albums...
  34. AmandaK
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    i love this album alot...although i must admit i like heart better
  35. K.H.
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Great vibe! The lyrics are well written and correspond perfectly with the mellow instruments! I love it!
  36. AliC
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    A genuinely brilliant album. This is intelligent, layered and emotive pop that crawls under your skin. The comparisons with the delgados are well deserved. And like the delgados, this band will probably remain relatively unknown despite their clear superioroty over much of the rest of the marketplace.
  37. Logan
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Truly wonderful! Filled with tons and tons marvelous songs from start to finish. Great music that anyone can enjoy.
  38. Ronnie
    May 5, 2007
    10
    My favorite album of 05. A real gem from this talented canadian band.
  39. Blake
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    BEST ALBUM OF ALL TIME!!! Beautiful little gem.
  40. SergioM
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    Fantastic... Stars evokes the call and respone of Human League, the quiet beauty of Belle & Sebastian, and the delight in pop of Prefab Spout. When did the indie Canadian scene become this fantastic? One of the best albums of 2005
  41. ElizabethP
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    This band is a awesome but not as emotionally driven as the Arcade Fire. This is how pop music should be catchy, bouncing, and memorable. Another terrific band from Canada!
  42. ChrisC
    Mar 14, 2005
    9
    I enjoyed this a lot. Strong songwriting, and I like the male/female vocal dynamic.
  43. NickK
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    This album is fantastic. It has one of the best intros I've ever heard, too! Although it's more preachy and political than their previous album (which is also amazing), the sweet sound of all the vocals are the cherry on top of this parfait. Really, really, well done. And they're Canadian too! ;)
  44. TheWrath
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    One of the top dream pop/indie albums released so far this year with very little filler in comparison to their last album Heart. I was surprised with closer listens the intermingling of love songs and political commentary.
  45. lock
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This album has officially kicked my ass. Oh, and see them live if you get a chance....you will not be disappointed.
  46. DanC
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    The male/female dynamic back and forth seeing is what really makes this album memorable.
  47. Paige
    May 16, 2005
    10
    Wow! this is a breakthrough for Indie, i can honestly say i can't start my day with out it!
  48. PaulPaul
    May 24, 2005
    10
    One of the greatest records this year.
  49. matta
    May 27, 2005
    9
    Why is Canadian music so damn good lately? ALong with the Arcade Fire, Ron Sexsmith, Rufus, and Broken Social Scene, Stars is not only one of the best canadian indie rock bands, but one of the best bands currently working. Great cd.
  50. Devon
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    so great. I love it! BUY NOW! the songs are so amazing.
  51. LeoT
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    Deeply poetic without being pretentious, intelligent without being esoteric, novel while being sublime.
  52. MarkF
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    The little band that could. A beautiful record that take a few listenings to realize how thrilling it is. Stars seems so modest and nondescript that the beauty of the music could easily be overlooked. Stars are like a more cohesive and tuneful version of the Delgados.
  53. ReginaH
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    Can't get enough!
  54. samantha
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    i love this cd. the music just lifts my mood
  55. Frank
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Lovely and beautiful! Another fine album by my favorite band in music. Buy this album, you won't regret.
  56. RocoC
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Great album about love.
  57. tim
    May 22, 2007
    9
    I forgot about this record. 2005 was such an aweful year it was hard to find true gems in a sea of crap. I used to get them confused with Azure Ray, Let's Go Sailing, Midnight Movies, High Violets and Frou Frou so I kind of clumped them in that whole nugazer catagory. This record proves their on a level of their own. Excellent!
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Set Yourself on Fire is about breaking up and breaking down, and as such the album feels wontedly cathartic, like the moments right after you hit your emotional nadir and start getting your shit together. Stars handle the mood delicately with few slip-ups; my only complaint is that they never handle much of anything else.
  2. Stars sound confident enough to set anything on fire.
  3. 91
    Delicate Casio-toned anthems. [Mar 2005, p.91]