Settle - Disclosure
Settle Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for the British electronic duo of Guy and Howard Lawrence features guest appearances from AlunaGeorge, Eliza Doolittle, Sasha Keable, London Grammar, Ed Macfarlane, Sam Smith, Jesse Ware, and Jamie Woon.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    100
    An album that perfectly epitomises the new wave of house music--and may even be its peak.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Nothing on Settle is left wanting. Disclosure’s debut full-length, after a series of tight and well-curated EPs, has high points as high as any record this year.
  3. It’s one of the most gleeful and replayable debuts of 2013.
  4. May 31, 2013
    80
    There’s nothing very new about the sound, but there’s a freshness and intelligence in the Lawrence brothers’ discovery of it.
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    It's the fact that Disclosure make bookish, aurally factual electronica sound so carefree that makes Settle such an artistic success.
  6. 75
    It’s hard to imagine a more inviting dance record being released in 2013.
  7. 20
    Now, it appears to have been reduced to simply a checklist of familiar sounds and effects, harnessed to the dullest beats imaginable, and dependent on outside collaborators for interest.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    One of the most ground-breaking achievements of 2013. These British musicians infuse multiple genres, and hand-pick vocals so potent, they will make anyone jump out of their seat and start dancing. Every track brings something new, yet uses the remnants of previous tracks (much like the Australian group The Avalanches). A very awesome album indeed. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I have only listened to this album and i have decided that it is a great album that has some fantastic sounds and riffs to it. Really fresh and different, with some of the collaborations are the best tracks Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    I totally hated this album when i first heard it. I didn't understand what the fuss is all about. Then it received many accolades from numerous music critics, so i decided to give it a second chance.

    I started discovering a track here and a track there that were really amazing. "Latch" and "Defeated No More" made me really wanna get up and dance.

    Then i took notice of "Help Me Lose My Mind", and i fell in love with it. And finally i re listened to the entire album, and was totally captivated by it, particularly by "F For You", "Second Chance", "You & Me", and "Boiling".

    I love how the album was like a journey to me. I'm really excited for Disclosure and can't wait for their new work.
    Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    This album is great light electro album, with a throwback at the 90s. Fun for running, chilling or in the car. Sometime towards the end it seems to linger on. I will definitely not forget it any time soon. Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    A dance album that you can actually enjoy in its entirety. No reason to cherry pick tracks here. Disclosure have created a thoughtful and surprisingly sure-handed debut that will be on a few Top 10s at the end of the year. From track to track there is nothing here that hasn't been done before, but they is rarely a miss. I look forward to the band's future projects and would love to see them progress from here. It wouldn't hurt to see other groups or electronic producers take note and consider making albums with this much kinetic synergy. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    http://osianlewis.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/disclosure-settle-album-review.html

    'Despite its issues, this is a very enjoyable album which is
    brilliantly produced and delivered. It has plenty of pop hits but also hypnotic rave worthy tracks. A good debut that I hope to hear pumping in clubs for months to come. 7/10.' Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Absolute garbage. There is nothing original here. Stay far far away. Overhyped junk, masquerading as, I don't even know. This sounds like something a high school kid put together on a mac in 1997, mixed with some sappy R&B vocals. If you dance to this you are a terrible dancer. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Freshman 15: 2013's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2013's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 17, 2013
    We take a look at the year's 15 best-reviewed debut albums, including LPs from Run the Jewels, Savages, CHVRCHES, Disclosure, Ariana Grande, and more.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.