Seven Swans

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 74
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 74
  3. Negative: 1 out of 74

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaleM
    Jan 19, 2006
    6
    While it is clear that he can play the banjo well, the music is simple and repititious. The album seems to have a rather narrow emotional range. Sincere-yes. Beautiful-yes. Fecund and stirring-no. Sterile-perhaps. Boring-afraid so.
  2. me
    Aug 26, 2004
    1
    ehhhhh, not so good. too much treble, not enough bass as they say.
  3. PierreB
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    I am going to buy a banjo and learn how to play it because of this album. Strange how it is that these things impart faith to me. I believe, but I'm not sure what I believe in...at the very least, I believe in Sufjan, the sincerity within his tremor, and the beauty of his songs.
  4. JanPieterM
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Gorgeous... He is like the faun playing the flute.. makes you want to cry and sleep and jump and do whatever just because it's so beautiful. Gives me an ache in the stomach every time I hear it.
  5. PeterB
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    This cd is an incredible follow-up to Greetings from Michigan! Sufjan's artistry is unbelievable and should be getting all sorts of attention, nationally. I just saw Sufjan in concert in Madison, WI., and it was one of the most complete, engaging, and beautiful performances I have ever witnessed. You've got to listen to Stevens--you won't be sorry!
  6. mrg
    May 10, 2004
    8
    While this is one great album, it isn't as diverse, interesting, or incredible as Michigan. It is definitely still worth checking out, Sufjan is clearly amazing.
  7. JohnA
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    I think we have an early front runner for 2004 AOTY. A strikingly beautiful record that builds upon the best that 'Greetings from Michigan..." had to offer.
  8. ChristopherL
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    While lacking the orchestrated complexity of Illinois, Seven Swans strips Sufjan's music down to the most basic, as well as the most beautiful, aspect of its essence. Some fine banjo work.
  9. TomW
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    Simply a stunning recording. A true masterpiece.
  10. MarkA
    Aug 27, 2004
    10
    Simply Gorgeous. The best record of the year.
  11. matta
    May 27, 2005
    9
    His Greetings From Michigan is still as a whole a better album, but some of the songs on here are so beautiful........ I can't wait for his next release "Illinois"
  12. Nick
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    The best acoustic album I have heard in my life.
  13. S.Gold
    Sep 3, 2005
    8
    Even though the music is usually quiet and simplistic, it's hardly boring. He's a very talented guy.
  14. mr.hankey
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    Well If you haven't heard of Sufjan Stevens by now since the release of his 2005 album Illinois you either live in a cave or don't know anything about the indie rock scene. Obviously It is as big as the music that they play on your MTV channel. Seven Swans by Sufjan Stevens is a hush and quiet acoustic album that shines the most at the end with a amazing song " The Well If you haven't heard of Sufjan Stevens by now since the release of his 2005 album Illinois you either live in a cave or don't know anything about the indie rock scene. Obviously It is as big as the music that they play on your MTV channel. Seven Swans by Sufjan Stevens is a hush and quiet acoustic album that shines the most at the end with a amazing song " The Transfiguration " Which in my opinion is the best on the record and the best song he has ever done. Yes, this detroit native sure can break out of two average albums and come back with 3 killer records. Luckily I became interested since he comes from where I live Detroit. He is soft and the beauty of the music sinks in but he is more amazing because with someone who makes this good music you would most likely expect them to arrogant but he is far from that he seems timid and you can tell by the songs and the lyrics. So what do I think of this album well you could say I think it is a masterpiece of modern music but it is far from perfect. It has it's faults even though they may not show as much as say the new album by the Strokes but he is doing his folk interpretation of music and thats what I like about him. Two Big Thumbs Up! Expand
  15. Jaeroplane
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Sufjan's best album, reserved for the afternoons or evenings when you need your soul to be stirred. Where Michigan and Illinoise takes you through a full spectrum of subjects, styles, emotions, and entertainments, Seven Swans forces you into a higher level of introspection.
  16. JTourke
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Bloody Brilliant!!
  17. RyanP
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    Definitely my choice for one of the top albums of the year.
  18. Derek
    Mar 21, 2004
    10
    Sufjan has done it again with Seven Swans, an amazing album with stripped down instrumention from his prior release.
  19. BarryF
    Apr 15, 2004
    10
    Believe the hype...I put off buying the CD for a few weeks, due to the hype. When I finally heard a song on NPR, I was floored. This is simply one of the most beautiful albums, EVER!
  20. markf
    May 11, 2004
    9
    Anybody who is afraid of "Christian" music or "quiet folk" should, I guess, stay away, unless they are open to awesome music, vocals and lyrics. The fact that this album is so much more might not get through to you (not that awesome Christian music has anything to apologize for; this is much better than anything else I would have categorized as such before.) Most of the album is Anybody who is afraid of "Christian" music or "quiet folk" should, I guess, stay away, unless they are open to awesome music, vocals and lyrics. The fact that this album is so much more might not get through to you (not that awesome Christian music has anything to apologize for; this is much better than anything else I would have categorized as such before.) Most of the album is beautifully-calm love songs to God, but there are several songs, especially after the epic "Sister," that incorporate some of rock's greatest motifs, namely beautiful- but-intense riffs and unbelieveably- memorable hooks. Trust me, if you even consider listening to "beautiful music", this qualifies ten times over. Expand
  21. maxdubya
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Unbelievebly good. Its rare not to find sufjan gracing my CD player, and Seven Swans is an album which is among his very finest
  22. SchmaScma
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Omg this thing frickin rules hes a friggin genius
  23. lievenb
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    beatiful album! amzing banjo and the three last songs are astonishing! What do you want more?
  24. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    I'm having trouble putting it into words how beautiful this album is. The banjo has never sounded so soothing and Sufjan's voice is so entrancing. The music just keeps getting better too; the transfiguration might be the most gorgeous thing my ears have ever experienced.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Even if we're not taken by the subject matter, we're taken by how beautifully and personally Sufjan is taken by it.
  2. He shares [Elliott] Smith's gift for sketching in complex emotional states with telling details. [19 Mar 2004, p.66]
  3. A consistently moving, subtly beautiful experience.