Seven Swans - Sufjan Stevens
Seven Swans Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The indie singer-songwriter's fourth solo album, produced by Danielson Famile's Daniel Smith, follows on the heels of his critically-lauded 2003 effort 'Greetings From Michigan.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. He shares [Elliott] Smith's gift for sketching in complex emotional states with telling details. [19 Mar 2004, p.66]
  2. A record of remarkable delicacy.
  3. "Seven Swans" is as a graceful tour de force of an album - beguiling, bewitching and beautiful.
  4. Even if we're not taken by the subject matter, we're taken by how beautifully and personally Sufjan is taken by it.
  5. 80
    Stevens' strumming often has an unworldly quality that transcends folk archetypes. [Apr 2004, p.92]
  6. Stevens has a beautiful voice and a rare melodic instinct but it is the passion with which he performs these songs that causes them to communicate so much, so well.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Derek
    Mar 21, 2004
    10
    Sufjan has done it again with Seven Swans, an amazing album with stripped down instrumention from his prior release.
  2. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    I'm having trouble putting it into words how beautiful this album is. The banjo has never sounded so soothing and Sufjan's voice is so entrancing. The music just keeps getting better too; the transfiguration might be the most gorgeous thing my ears have ever experienced. Collapse
  3. MarkA
    Aug 27, 2004
    10
    Simply Gorgeous. The best record of the year.
  4. mr.hankey
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    Well If you haven't heard of Sufjan Stevens by now since the release of his 2005 album Illinois you either live in a cave or don't know anything about the indie rock scene. Obviously It is as big as the music that they play on your MTV channel. Seven Swans by Sufjan Stevens is a hush and quiet acoustic album that shines the most at the end with a amazing song " The Transfiguration " Which in my opinion is the best on the record and the best song he has ever done. Yes, this detroit native sure can break out of two average albums and come back with 3 killer records. Luckily I became interested since he comes from where I live Detroit. He is soft and the beauty of the music sinks in but he is more amazing because with someone who makes this good music you would most likely expect them to arrogant but he is far from that he seems timid and you can tell by the songs and the lyrics. So what do I think of this album well you could say I think it is a masterpiece of modern music but it is far from perfect. It has it's faults even though they may not show as much as say the new album by the Strokes but he is doing his folk interpretation of music and thats what I like about him. Two Big Thumbs Up! Expand
  5. JTourke
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Bloody Brilliant!!
  6. matta
    May 27, 2005
    9
    His Greetings From Michigan is still as a whole a better album, but some of the songs on here are so beautiful........ I can't wait for his next release "Illinois" Expand
  7. me
    Aug 26, 2004
    1
    ehhhhh, not so good. too much treble, not enough bass as they say.

See all 24 User Reviews