Seventh Tree - Goldfrapp
Seventh Tree Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British group's fourth album was produced by the duo and Flood.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Goldfrapp and Gregory have made an album as hummably lovely as it is knowingly referencing of a certain tradition of neo-psychedelic English whimsy.
  2. It's a very sleepy listen--though often a vey lovely one. [29 Feb 2008, p.61]
  3. Seventh Tree is as deliciously subversive, and in some cases more so, as the duo's past work.
  4. It's clear that Goldfrapp doesn't miss the style the pair perfected on their last two albums, nor should they--this is some of their most varied, balanced, and satisfying work.
  5. Fans of Beth Orton and the French group Air will find much to swoon to throughout Seventh Tree.
  6. This whole thing sounds great, though: rue, clenched fists, and closed eyes mixed at an arena pitch.
  7. Seventh Tree, though in some respects an organic redrafting of the autoerotic Goldfrapp template, picks up where Supernature left off in its setting of the controls for the heart of the mainstream, and misses badly the slickly subversive tone that lifted the band from the realms of coffee table mediocrity.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. AndrewW.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. I sincerely believe this is their best work yet.
  2. IanS.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    Goldfrapp manages to transcend their tremendously catchy synth-pop(opera) albums (BLACK CHERRY, SUPERNATURE), returning almost to their first Goldfrapp manages to transcend their tremendously catchy synth-pop(opera) albums (BLACK CHERRY, SUPERNATURE), returning almost to their first album with a quiet, soaring, devastating, sweet semi-throwback to 60s hippie strumming and yet something so, so vital and new...epic, personal, completely necessary contemporary listening. Expand
  3. EdD.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    This is Goldfrapp for adults... You see I understand the evolution of Goldfrap this way: Felt Mountain - a pretentious 20something full of This is Goldfrapp for adults... You see I understand the evolution of Goldfrap this way: Felt Mountain - a pretentious 20something full of big books and big Ideas the he/she doesn't understand but feels compelled to speak about them with airs of superiority because he/she is in love with the contents of their own mind. (my reaction: Oooh, you're so cute! Now shuddup and lets f*ck!) Black Cherry Collapse
  4. Min
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    Love the new direction they have taken. The electro-glam-pop thing is abit done to death lately, and I applaud them for taking a risk. I Love the new direction they have taken. The electro-glam-pop thing is abit done to death lately, and I applaud them for taking a risk. I bought the limited edition box, and it was totally worth it. Beautiful photography and love the whimsy direction given by BigActive. Favourite tracks include 'Clowns', 'Some People', 'Caravan Girl' & 'A&E'. However the best track has got to be 'Monster Love' Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    This album reminds me more of their first album in the sense that it's much slower and more sentimental. The songs show how they wanted thisThis album reminds me more of their first album in the sense that it's much slower and more sentimental. The songs show how they wanted this album to be different from Black Cherry and Supernatural, and I understand some people might not like that. I still like it for what it is and hope they keep releasing great music like this. Expand
  6. CarlosR.
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    After giving up on the Glam-Rock revial thing, Goldfrapp have returned to a sound more in common with their Germanic themed "Felt Mountain" After giving up on the Glam-Rock revial thing, Goldfrapp have returned to a sound more in common with their Germanic themed "Felt Mountain" album from a few years back. Some great tunes to be found on here, mellow, chilled and quite delightful. Where it works its superb: Some People, Cologne Cerrone Houdini (the standout track by far), where it dosn't, it sucks: Caravan Girl. On the whole a great listen. An album for a long hot summers day. Expand
  7. KyleG
    Mar 4, 2008
    2
    I dunno.....I really liked the last few efforts from Goldfrapp. Played them to death actually. With this new one though, they seem to have I dunno.....I really liked the last few efforts from Goldfrapp. Played them to death actually. With this new one though, they seem to have committed the greatest sin you can in music. This record is boring. I have listened to it about 10 times after reading that you have to "give it a few listens to truly get it" but I don't get it. To me it's snooze inducing and I generally enjoy softer deliberate music. Let's go back to the fun, exotic and interesting Goldfrapp sound that you cruelly bated us with before effectively putting us to sleep. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews