Shaking the Habitual Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the Swedish electronic duo includes a 19-minute track.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 100
    An exciting, multivalent Dreijer sibling showcase. Karin provides saving shades of humanity by exercising the vocal cords nature gave her. But Olof's imagination, sense of humor, and bent rebop carry the day.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    90
    The Knife has created a work of art that’s not just a dream waiting to be realized, but a living, breathing reality that’s waking you up to what’s possible in the wildest of imaginations.
  3. Apr 11, 2013
    90
    Regardless of whether they're successful or not isn't quite the point; what makes Shaking the Habitual so important is that The Knife used an important moment in their own history to truly subvert the hierarchy that both the band and the album exist in. Thankfully, they also wrote some near-perfect music in the process.
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    The resulting album, unsurprisingly enough, contains their most texturally diverse work to date.
  5. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    However difficult the album may be, it's a rare pleasure to see artists who know how to make great pop songs eschewing expectations, growing beyond their previous oeuvre and audience to pursue a brave creative path into genuine 21st century music.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    60
    Shaking the Habitual's problem is that the Knife seem to have dismissed the idea of making your point concisely as merely another affectation of a decadent and corrupt society.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This album is everything that I want from The Knife. Its primal, invigorating, and at sometimes overbearing. I don't that this album wasThis album is everything that I want from The Knife. Its primal, invigorating, and at sometimes overbearing. I don't that this album was unexpected at all and should be looked upon as a thrillinh experience from beginning to end Expand
  2. May 21, 2013
    10
    I was apprehensive to actually give this album a listen. It is, after all, a behemoth of an album. Yet, I gave it one listen, whichI was apprehensive to actually give this album a listen. It is, after all, a behemoth of an album. Yet, I gave it one listen, which immediately led to another, then another, then another, and enough listens passed where I had spent a whole day listening to this over and over again. This is not an easy album. It's icy cold, very slow moving and expansive, but highly rewarding if given its due. I come back to this more than any other album I've heard this year, and almost as much as my two favorite albums from 2012 (Channel Orange and good kid, m.A.A.d. city, which are huge in their own way). Even the ambient tracks are somehow endearing. Against all reasoning, this is truly a masterful album. Whatever the case may be, this has changed how I listen to music. This will probably go down as my favorite album of 2013 (The National not withstanding), and may be one of my favorite albums of all time. Collapse
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Their most experimental album so far. An, maybe not as good a Silent Shout (which is impossible) but it's in another level. I find that almostTheir most experimental album so far. An, maybe not as good a Silent Shout (which is impossible) but it's in another level. I find that almost all the songs are great somehow, and this is something difficult to reach. Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    It took me a while to finally 'get it' but now I really appreciate what they did on the new album...although one disc version isIt took me a while to finally 'get it' but now I really appreciate what they did on the new album...although one disc version is better,near-20 minutes long ambient/drone track excluded from it interupts the flow too much. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    "Shaking The Habitual" is one of the strangest and most suprising albums of this year. Brave, ambitious, and irrelevantly entertaining,"Shaking The Habitual" is one of the strangest and most suprising albums of this year. Brave, ambitious, and irrelevantly entertaining, "Shaking The Habitual" is a techno chef d'oeuvre. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    7
    Shaking The Habitual is a very difficult electronic album at the best of times, but it is also a very strong, capturing collection of electricShaking The Habitual is a very difficult electronic album at the best of times, but it is also a very strong, capturing collection of electric compositions where, very often, you'll become so lost in their sound that you'll barely realize a lot of the instruments in the songs are actually acoustic. Some of the songs on here are a little too long, but that doesn't mean you won't get entranced to the point where you couldn't care less. Shaking The Habitual, is in full, the Knife's best album and surprisingly enough, their most accessible. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    5
    A considerably difficult album from The Knife. Double the length of previous release Silent Shout with some very long tracks, at least half ofA considerably difficult album from The Knife. Double the length of previous release Silent Shout with some very long tracks, at least half of which are soundscapes or collages rather than songs per se. I can see what they are aiming for but it's more art than music. I'm not giving points away for effort while stroking my chin and complimenting their bravery. It's different for sure, but don't make the mistake that sticking in a 19 minute drone/screech-athon makes you anti-establishment and therefore cool. In 'fracking fluid injection' similar noises are being created in metalwork classrooms up & down the country and 'Old Dreams Waiting to Be Realized' is comparable to sound collage projects getting bad grades in art colleges.
    The sound collages/clashes would have worked better in my mind as maybe 1-2 minute palette cleaners/mind openers between tracks, as with Ænima by Tool from 1996. After one full listen most people will skip these tracks forever after or just delete them from their listening devices, thus negating their intended purpose completely.
    A single disc made less deliberately difficult would have a broader reach and spread the message of ending extreme wealth to a wider audience.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.
  3. This Month's Best New Albums: April 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: April 2013 Image
    Published: May 1, 2013
    An unusually large group of albums received strong reviews last month, including new albums from The Knife, Kurt Vile, Ghostface Killah, James Blake, and several African artists. Get the full list inside, and listen to many of the featured albums.