Shaman

  • Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Oct 22, 2002
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WalterB
    Jan 2, 2003
    8
    It's a nice album, but it doesn't deserve a 10. Besides, I think Supernatural was better.
  2. NseE
    Nov 30, 2002
    10
    Awesome!! 'You are my kind' with Seal is out of this world.
  3. Bobby
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    This is a great album and you people that gave it a 3 rating really need to get the wax cleaned out of your ears ha!
  4. SammyO
    Nov 9, 2002
    7
    A good variety of music, with some cool songs. Carlos does his thing!
  5. CarlaN
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    It's simply one of the best CDs I've ever heard. It's for all tastes from love songs to the dance floor! Congratulations on this album! I hope we will be lucky to have such a better release album by santana next time!
  6. TimD
    Nov 12, 2002
    9
    I don't like the hip-hop, other wise the album is a solid 10 - just incredible and very healing to me at this time in my life. TD
  7. DrakeM
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    This is probably the best album of all time. For those who said "this cd sucks"or"horrible, a waste of money" obviously have no taste of music. Gil A, Josephine Hdz, and Kelso K have no idea of what music really is. Grand album I say!!!!
  8. ManuelC
    Nov 5, 2002
    8
    I think the music is great and especialy like the song by Seal
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. With Shaman, Santana delivers an album that will, no doubt, please fans of its globally successful predecessor, while at the same time reel in new ones.
  2. On Shaman, too many visitors sound as if they're climbing on a gravy train, handing over standard-issue love songs for Santana overdubs. It makes you wonder whether Santana ever met some of his collaborators.
  3. While 'Shaman' is less than the sum of its parts and strays into AOR territory too much to ever truly be cutting edge, despite its R&B and Latin infusions, it will, at least in America, sell by the truckload.