Shangri-la

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RicardoG
    Dec 3, 2004
    9
    One of the nicest albums I've purchased since MK started his solo carreer... although it lacks some... vivacity, as U can find in 'Sailing to Philadelphia'
  2. DavidS
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Great CD. Played it through repeatidly over the past 2 weeks. Not a bad track on it.
  3. RichardW
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Agree with other comments, I've always found Knopflers stuff takes a few listens before you get into them, then it does just get better and better - breathtaking, the guy is a genious, people that disagree are actually tonedeaf.
  4. MadhusudanT
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    This CD is great.....music is breathtaking......go and get it now
  5. DenisV
    Jan 11, 2006
    9
    I find I have to listen to Mark Knofpler albums several times before you really appreciate how beautiful and emotion filled his songs often are.
  6. VidarP
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    Fantastic, those that don't agree are tonedeaf
  7. Vishal
    Nov 8, 2004
    9
    I love MK's guitar solos in Sultans of Swing and Telegraph Road. This album though not guitar heavy is an excellent piece of work. soothing tracks all of them - perfect for a loong drive alone or listening at night
  8. MORGANM
    Dec 31, 2004
    4
    Sorry but Mark's phoning it in on this one - a couple of tracks try to raise their heads but basically it's bad Brit C&W and depressing too, saved only by the predictably high production values. Only buy if you aim to leave your kids the full MK set!
  9. kevinc
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    as far as albums go, how many can you think of where you llike each song? I thougt so. This is a 10/10
  10. VicR
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    As usual a treat to listen to. Thoughtful, moody, beautiful, incredibly well played guitar. He just gets better and better. He is The Man!!!
  11. AvivG
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    the rythem, the voice, the ambience, The trowlerman song - make u want to have a long trip.
  12. AndrewC
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    Forgot I even had this album. Then played it in the car. Now, can't stop playing it. Every song is fine. Taseful playing, smooth singing. Best album I've heard in years. Pleasant surprise.
  13. RichardB
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    This is Mark Knopfler post Dire Straits, the best solo album he has done and showing an incredible maturity in his voice, the album is worth it for 5:15am alone!
  14. RUIM
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    makes me fell real nice, when i stop and listen this cd.
  15. MatthieuR
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    If you like Knopfler, you'll love this album. It is more accessible than the folksy "Ragpicker's Dream", and shows yet again how Knopfler is one of this generation's best, most original songwriters
  16. elbertj
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Mark Knopfler once again has come through with another fine works. While I agree the guitar solos we all love so much were minimal compared to his other projects, it is truly an awesome album. Mark is my favorite musician in the world.
  17. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    The only hard time I have with Mark Knopfler's music is when it's time to figure out which album I want to listen to. Shanrgi-la only delights, after countless spins.
  18. gug
    Nov 17, 2015
    10
    Undoubtedly Knopfler's best solo album and easily tops anything recorded with Dire Straits. Almost every single song is of stunning quality. Why themusic trade rags give this album such poor reviews at times is absurd.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Q Magazine
    70
    A wry and considered thing. [Oct 2004, p.128]
  2. Blender
    40
    Like [J.J.] Cale, Knopfler prefers murmuring to emoting while threading fancy little guitar figures through songs that can't decide whether to shuffle into the haze or nod off. [Nov 2004, p.136]
  3. Rolling Stone
    70
    Mixes sunniness and darkness in artful ways. [28 Oct 2004, p.102]