She's In Control Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This tongue-in-cheek Canadian duo mixes 70s and 80s electro, funk, rock, and dance sounds on this debut.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. These blow-dried disco numbers are unmistakably well-toned. [18 Sep 2004, p.65]
  2. 80
    Draws intelligently on its sources, revealing itself as more than mere pastiche. [Nov 2004, p.108]
  3. These '80s-trash connoisseurs have everything electroclash lacks: full-bodied grooves, self-deprecating idiot grins, and--what's best--sax solos. [20 Feb 2004, p.66]
  4. 70
    Much more than the sum of its pastiche. [#6, p.86]
  5. Sure, it's nothing that hasn't been done before.... Still, there's no denying that She's In Control is one helluva bad-ass, booty-shakin', funky-fresh party record.
  6. 70
    The best ’80s-revival funk made by white Canadian hip-hop kids since, like, ever.
  7. The album is just disappointing: full of slick beats of undisguised artifice and lacking the one thing all good slow jams need – namely, great vocals.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. KasonK
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    DUSTED MAGAZINE i have one thing to say to you so read very closly... F*CK YOU there is several reasons your magazine is named dusted, one DUSTED MAGAZINE i have one thing to say to you so read very closly... F*CK YOU there is several reasons your magazine is named dusted, one because Nobodys ever heard of it, secondly because nobody cares for your poorly though out criticism , and lastly because your magazine collects a lot of dust because i never picked it up before nor will i ever. CHROMEO DONT LISTEN TO THESE FOOLS YOUR MUSIC IS AMAZING -fact- Collapse
  2. LydiaM
    Feb 22, 2004
    10
    Woweeeeeeee!!!! Hallelujah! Finally people who understand what real music is. Is this album good or what????!!!!!!
  3. sanam
    Feb 22, 2004
    9
    Critics keep getting caught up in the 80's, electroclash, irony, no irony comparisons but what many have yet to realize is that there is Critics keep getting caught up in the 80's, electroclash, irony, no irony comparisons but what many have yet to realize is that there is a serious shortage of feel good, sincere and musically tight bands like Chromeo. There hasn't been a live and entertaining show like Chromeo's since the Beatles' and there hasn't been a danc-y catchy album this good since 1992. Buy this album! End of debate! Expand
  4. JoelJ
    Dec 27, 2004
    9
    Yeah I agree with Sana M. Critics seem to rarely understand the delight one gets from something like this. "Yo, I'm in the studio - I Yeah I agree with Sana M. Critics seem to rarely understand the delight one gets from something like this. "Yo, I'm in the studio - I can't talk right now... no babe I can't tal... yo what?!? whatever..." (scratch scratch scratch) Expand
  5. MounirH
    Feb 23, 2004
    9
    Best thing since sliced bread!!!