Shields

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Shields Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the Brooklyn rock band was recorded in New York after a recordings session in Texas was largely scrapped.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    100
    It's the construction of it all that's so perfect: that the music can follow, this time, but still be what Grizzly Bear are all about.
  2. 90
    For how uncharacteristic it might seem for a band whose greatest gift, all along, was nuance, this louder take suits the band brilliantly.
  3. 90
    Although Veckatimest might be more of an emotionally-driven album, Shields continues to showcase a band that is somehow--as good as they currently are--simply getting better and better, regardless of the location, the circumstances, regardless of the schedules.
  4. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    It's a warm-blooded record, beholden to analogue gear and flawless mastering--one destined to fit snugly on a turntable rather than to live as ones and zeros on your iPod.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    With Shields, they still sound like Radiohead at a Buddhist retreat, but the songs are more muscular, increasingly driven by drummer Christopher Bear's innate swing.
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    78
    More than anything, Shields feels like a deliberate maturation of Arcade Fire's The Suburbs, trading adolescent angst for an older disillusion and heartbreak. The same tension exists between the two, especially in swelling closers "Half Gate" and "Sun in Your Eyes," yet here, they're more intricately expressed and controlled.
  7. Sep 14, 2012
    60
    Pretty but formless, Shields plays like a calculated retreat into something altogether indistinct and inconsequential.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    Grizzly Bear's great effort has come. First hearing this, it felt a bit different, but with elements from their previous album, theirGrizzly Bear's great effort has come. First hearing this, it felt a bit different, but with elements from their previous album, their previous album, this is a superb 10-track album worth buying. Tracks to listen to: Yet Again, Sun In Your Eyes and Gun-Shy. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2017
    10
    Lo escuché por primera vez a principios del 2013, y desde entonces este album me parece una obra de arte en su totalidad. Cada canción, cadaLo escuché por primera vez a principios del 2013, y desde entonces este album me parece una obra de arte en su totalidad. Cada canción, cada pista y melodía de Shields me llevaron a distintos lugares de mi imaginación. Creo además que no hay una pista que no me haya, ni siquiera gustado, sino encantado. Definitivamente, sin dudas, este es el album que en mi opinión representa a la banda. Un verdadero 10, una joya que nos dejaron Ed Droste, Chris Bear, Chris Taylor y Daniel Rossen. Admirable desde toda perspectiva. Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    10/10 best new grizzly bear.10/10 best new grizzly bear. boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooobssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    Great production, per usual. To me, it is "Veckatimest" but with out the classic "Two Weeks/Ready,Able," So I guess a 9 does it justice.Great production, per usual. To me, it is "Veckatimest" but with out the classic "Two Weeks/Ready,Able," So I guess a 9 does it justice. Grizzly Bear did it again! Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    This was a pleasant surprise. An album that demands to be listened to many times to get its full clarity. A near perfect blend of pop andThis was a pleasant surprise. An album that demands to be listened to many times to get its full clarity. A near perfect blend of pop and texture. My favorite songs are Speak in Rounds, Yet Again and Half Gate (a clear take off My Morning Jacket), but the others are great also. Like most, I believe this is their best and most creative effort. Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    This is by far Grizzly Bear's best album to date. Shields shows another side to Grizzly Bear that is both unexpected, and absolutelyThis is by far Grizzly Bear's best album to date. Shields shows another side to Grizzly Bear that is both unexpected, and absolutely enthralling. The musicianship is top-notch, the lyrics speak for themselves, and the vocals are wonderful. Almost all the tracks really stand-out. All In All, Shields is a great album that I recommend to anyone that appreciates great music. B+ Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    5
    This is FAR from being as good as Veckatimest. It starts and ends strong but the entire middle (half the album or more) is a giant slump. IThis is FAR from being as good as Veckatimest. It starts and ends strong but the entire middle (half the album or more) is a giant slump. I don't know what people are thinking these days. I could name hit after hit off of Veck. This one has 1 or 2. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. September's Best New Music

    September's Best New Music Image
    Published: September 28, 2012
    Listen to the best albums released over the past month, including new releases from Grizzly Bear, Bob Dylan, Amanda Palmer, and more.