Shine On

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2006
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 64
  2. Negative: 19 out of 64

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidG
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    This band sounds like a bunch of great bands. So what? It sounds great! Show me a new band that doesn't sound like someone else and I'll show you a band that sounds like crap. Jet outdid themselves here. It sounds better live....go see them before you tear them apart.
  2. BrianV
    Oct 28, 2006
    8
    Not as fine as their Get Born debut. But where this album succeeds (Put Your Money, Shine On), it can't be beat. Put Your Money is alone worth the price of the CD.
  3. sophiem
    Nov 19, 2006
    8
    i used to really dislike Jet. they copied the beatles and are just aother band. But, I saw them at Make Poverty History on Friday night. they were amazing live and the songs from the new album are great. seeing them perform really helped me appreciate the music my only criticism is that nic Cester was chewing gum during their whole time slot, and it really frustrated me!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  4. gregs
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    love the album...can listen to the whole thing non-stop...everybody else just shut up and enjoy MUSIC for what it is...for you people looking to hear NEW stuff...then don't even bother posting up any reviews of it because you don't belong here...go back and listen to your emo bands...JET keeps the classic rock sound alive these days...they know where the great music really is. love the album...can listen to the whole thing non-stop...everybody else just shut up and enjoy MUSIC for what it is...for you people looking to hear NEW stuff...then don't even bother posting up any reviews of it because you don't belong here...go back and listen to your emo bands...JET keeps the classic rock sound alive these days...they know where the great music really is. All the new stuff out there will never be as big as REAL rock........ever. Expand
  5. JoeC
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    No massive change in direction but why should there be, this relives classic rock and roll at it's best, Come On Come on and stand up will sound brilliant live. Go see this band and you will understand !!!
  6. joec
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    mega
  7. Giulio
    Oct 5, 2006
    8
    It rocks if you like '70s sound otherwise don't buy it!
  8. Paolo
    Oct 11, 2006
    7
    I am not agree with the negative reviews. This cd includes some good songs (Holiday, That's All Lies, Kings Horses, Shine On, Come On Come On, Rip It Up, Shiny Magazine) although not innovative. It's only r'n'r, enjoy it!
  9. JoachimH
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    This is a brilliant album. I love it, man! Jeg kan godt lide Jet!
  10. DavidL
    Oct 11, 2006
    8
    Jet's GET BORN, as a whole, was an average CD. A few of the songs had some catchy riffs, but the majority of the tracks just didn't have the oommph they needed. Enter SHINE ON. The second release from JET is a much better organized, better sounding album. The songs have a 70's rock flair to them, and many have catchy tunes you'll be humming as you're off to work Jet's GET BORN, as a whole, was an average CD. A few of the songs had some catchy riffs, but the majority of the tracks just didn't have the oommph they needed. Enter SHINE ON. The second release from JET is a much better organized, better sounding album. The songs have a 70's rock flair to them, and many have catchy tunes you'll be humming as you're off to work or school. Sure, it's a bit different from their first, but SHINE ON is a worthy release if you don't expect perfection, just a rip-roarin' good time. Expand
  11. sm
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    i used to hate jet, then i saw them at Make Poverty History on friday and they were amazing, it made me appreciate the music so much more, my onkly critism is that lead singer Nic Cester was chewing gum and it frustrated me. They did copy the beatles, but their music is actually pretty good.
  12. KyleH
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    Old fashioned 60's rock. Lifts your spirit. Wish the words were as good as the melodies.
  13. IgorN
    Oct 12, 2006
    9
    better than get born
  14. ChristianM
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    Another great album from JET Rock and roll with balls swinging for those interested in listening good tunes rather than picking where every blues/ rock progression "got born"
  15. JayC
    Oct 20, 2006
    8
    The sound of the record is amazing - Guitar rock the way it should be recorded. Of the 14 songs all are very good except 2 that I have to skip each time they come on! How can that guy scream like that?? It's a keeper.
  16. ChrisC
    Oct 29, 2006
    9
    OK so little on this album is original but come on, they exist in a world where popular music is at an all time low. At least with this band there are guitars in the top 40!
  17. DGiambroni
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    This album rocks, it is way better than get born and their lyrics and licks have matured! A++. Great album, go buy it now!
  18. nickm
    Oct 5, 2006
    7
    a solid album, however a tad disappointing. When are you fellas going to try something a little new
  19. GrahamR.
    Aug 30, 2007
    8
    Great rock album, hugely under rated. Clever, inventive, fresh yet heavily based on the classic sounds of the Stones, Faces and the Beatles. Thinking man's rock n roll, yet with enough firepower to get you air guitaring to the max.
  20. ehog
    Nov 28, 2006
    7
    It may not be groundbreaking stuff, but it's still a solid album. Its like the comfort food of the music world
  21. MIkeG
    Oct 14, 2006
    9
    Those who rated this cd low doesn't understand the nitch this band fills between bubble gum and gangster rap. This album is just what the doctor ordered for what I was looking for in music. These boys rock as well as have great harmonies between the band. To knock this album can only re inforce my belief that your taste surley must be in your ass.
  22. DustinT
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    I thought this ablum was super solid and an awsome follow up to their debut album. If you didn't like this you should listen to Justin Timberlake
  23. John
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    I dig it. Simple, yes, but I did not expect a reinvention of the wheel purchasing a Jet album.
  24. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    This isn't as good as Get Born, but it's good. Very good. Jet is the modern day Beatles. Simple as that.
    The title track is good, and Rip it up is a sleeper track.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. While occasionally generic, nothing on Shine On is as annoying as their breakthrough single, Are You Gonna Be My Girl.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Mostly forgettable. [6 Oct 2006, p.68]
  3. Get Born's follow-up suggests their musical palette is substantially broader than that of their progenitors or than their Cro-Magnon image suggests... [but] the lyrics are agonisingly stupid throughout.