• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 1, 2005
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. This is for all the listeners who liked Phish's good taste, eclectic nature, and Anastasio's playing, but never liked one of their albums.
  2. Shine won't win over many nondevotees, but it's also not just a series of launching pads for guitar solos. [3 Nov 2005, p.90]
  3. Anastasio's crafted the loud-but-tasteful, radio-friendly songs Phish were never able to create. [4 Nov 2005, p.73]
  4. It's actually a good radio-rock disc, just not the crossover hit Anastasio's been after. [Dec 2005, p.115]
  5. 60
    There's no jam-band noodling, and Anastasio's indelible head-bobbing cheer is now attached to the kidn of straightforward hooks Phish preferred to twist. [Dec 2005, p.144]
  6. It’s unquestionable that Shine contains more than a few of the most embarrassing recorded moments of Anastasio’s career... More often than not however, Shine serves as a fine reminder that Anastasio is a pro who’s been doing the rock thing far too long to release a crap product.
  7. Easily the radio-friendliest set ever from the Phish camp.
  8. These aren't profound new sounds, but Anastasio embraces proven rock formulas and makes them his own, free from the cul-de-sac jams of Phish and the expectations of fans and drifters. [30 Oct 2005]
  9. Though not terrible, Trey Anastasio's latest is miles below what he's done before.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. ChristophM
    May 28, 2006
    9
    This is easily Anastasio's best work outside of Phish and is shaping up to be my favorite Summertime album. From the title track to the This is easily Anastasio's best work outside of Phish and is shaping up to be my favorite Summertime album. From the title track to the closing track there are alot of fantastic melodies interwoven with hopeful, sunny lyrics put a smile on my face and make me feel good to be alive. Brendan O'brien's expert style of production puts the artists he produces so many leagues above what they do without him and this is the case again. This is definetily more inspired material than the last few Phish albums and Trey's stab at crafting songs and writing his own lyrics for an entire album work well. The songs are short, catchy, with no jamming and no long guitar solos but if I wanted a Phish album I would listen to a Phish album. Great listening, good fun! Go get it. Full Review »
  2. dorkowitz
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    deeply touching and profound. this is not phish. this is trey. and i give it a 10 -- a ' just press play album.'
  3. Mike
    Jan 27, 2006
    8
    First three songs are immediately catchy. The rest eventually grew on me. Different from Phish yet not unfamiliar. Not a bad song on the First three songs are immediately catchy. The rest eventually grew on me. Different from Phish yet not unfamiliar. Not a bad song on the album. Great album overall. Full Review »