• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 1, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamK
    Nov 9, 2005
    8
    Very much a departure from traditional Trey style, Shine is a much more converntional, structured and polished construction. I like it very much, especially the guitarwork on "Wherever you may find it"
  2. Mike
    Jan 27, 2006
    8
    First three songs are immediately catchy. The rest eventually grew on me. Different from Phish yet not unfamiliar. Not a bad song on the album. Great album overall.
  3. Ben
    Nov 14, 2005
    7
    It's not Phish, but compared to what else is out there, this was a pretty good album. Great lyrics, and catchy tunes.
  4. JohnF
    Nov 18, 2005
    2
    Trey, you've let me down, good buddy! What's become of you? You're capable of so much more!
  5. BrooksH
    Nov 3, 2005
    7
    Departure from extended jams, for which he is noted for (with Phish). Clear focus on writing more concise catchy pop songs (average length of songs on the disc are around 4 mins). Trey also takes the reins on writing the lyrics with mixed results. Overall, solid musicianship and writing wins out, although this new directions will surely set-off some dies hard Phish fans.
  6. Stew
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    A very light hearted ride. Anastasios album is a branch in a new direction from his phish career. With songs that are more radio friendly theres no doubt that this album will bring many new fans.
  7. russelld
    Dec 7, 2005
    2
    almost unlistenable. you can not chart how far he has fallen in terms of song writing. you can listen to him try to wax philosophical all you want, but the bottom line is he has lost it. (i.e. Metallica)
  8. bobm
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    dont give this album a bad rating i think it was way better than PHISH's last release
  9. dorkowitz
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    deeply touching and profound. this is not phish. this is trey. and i give it a 10 -- a ' just press play album.'
  10. DanielB
    Nov 12, 2005
    1
    WTF this guy is a joke, a one trick pony.
  11. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Let's face it: Trey is not Phish. With that said, it is different than expected, almost dissappointing even. At first I absolutely hated it, then liked it, and now love it. You would appreciate it even more once seeing Trey perform the songs live.
  12. WalkerR
    Nov 2, 2005
    7
    Light up, and leave me alone.
  13. simong
    Nov 2, 2005
    5
    just not that great or that bad.
  14. Silverdy357---
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    alright, give the guy a break. hes going through a really tough time he broke up his band, moved, and turned 40. I do agree that he is capable of soo much more, but after seeing him at the orpheum 4 days ago, i realized that he hasnt changed at all, although "Shine" does make you think that. I give it a 10 because this is SOO much different then phish and his previous works. There poppy alright, give the guy a break. hes going through a really tough time he broke up his band, moved, and turned 40. I do agree that he is capable of soo much more, but after seeing him at the orpheum 4 days ago, i realized that he hasnt changed at all, although "Shine" does make you think that. I give it a 10 because this is SOO much different then phish and his previous works. There poppy riffs, lyrics that are not deep, but hopefully he will come back. BRING BACK PHISH. Expand
  15. danielleg
    Nov 3, 2005
    0
    If i were a rock writer, I would award this album no stars. Yes, zero stars.
  16. MattK
    Nov 9, 2005
    6
    I love phish's jams, and even trey's octet cd during the hiatis, but trey seems burnt out and has become a contradiction to why phish broke up in the first place. Trey;s voice will always be beautiful but his guitar solos on shine are just empty with style and character. Mike gordon, please talk to trey!
  17. brianh
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    it's so sad that people cannot accept what is...phish WAS a great band, and still is, but they cease to exist right now and maybe never will again. life's tough. trey's album embraces changes. all great artists embrace changes, though they may not be embraced by all. trey is a great artist that has created so many sounds and feelings through his career, this is just the it's so sad that people cannot accept what is...phish WAS a great band, and still is, but they cease to exist right now and maybe never will again. life's tough. trey's album embraces changes. all great artists embrace changes, though they may not be embraced by all. trey is a great artist that has created so many sounds and feelings through his career, this is just the next step, and it is a new and unique one. nay sayers will gripe that this sound is too "poppy." get a life. so what should it sound like? phish? or oysterhead? or trey's old band? its so easy to harsh on something when it's not what you already know or are familiar with. this album is so very different. it not only overflows with emotion unlike any other album that trey has been a part of, but it is also unified and brilliantly composed, much moreso than trey's last solo effort. bottom line: trey is going to create his art with his own intentions and for his own reasons. i welcome the changes...and when one can open their mind enough to do the same they will be able to hear it as it should be heard, the way it IS Expand
  18. MarkyM
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    you don't know what else this guy's accomplished! he is really an amazing musician, to be able to sing at the same time! be grateful :)
  19. ChristophM
    May 28, 2006
    9
    This is easily Anastasio's best work outside of Phish and is shaping up to be my favorite Summertime album. From the title track to the closing track there are alot of fantastic melodies interwoven with hopeful, sunny lyrics put a smile on my face and make me feel good to be alive. Brendan O'brien's expert style of production puts the artists he produces so many leagues This is easily Anastasio's best work outside of Phish and is shaping up to be my favorite Summertime album. From the title track to the closing track there are alot of fantastic melodies interwoven with hopeful, sunny lyrics put a smile on my face and make me feel good to be alive. Brendan O'brien's expert style of production puts the artists he produces so many leagues above what they do without him and this is the case again. This is definetily more inspired material than the last few Phish albums and Trey's stab at crafting songs and writing his own lyrics for an entire album work well. The songs are short, catchy, with no jamming and no long guitar solos but if I wanted a Phish album I would listen to a Phish album. Great listening, good fun! Go get it. Collapse
  20. RyanL
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Its easy for a critic to simply do his job and comment on every aspect of an album, but what is difficult is for a critic comment on the authors intent. This album ranks a ten with me because it isnt the words that carry you places. In fact, the only words that ever carry me anywhere are the words of outstanding lyricists like Johnny Cash, David Bowie, and a few good poets. To reject an Its easy for a critic to simply do his job and comment on every aspect of an album, but what is difficult is for a critic comment on the authors intent. This album ranks a ten with me because it isnt the words that carry you places. In fact, the only words that ever carry me anywhere are the words of outstanding lyricists like Johnny Cash, David Bowie, and a few good poets. To reject an album because there is a lack of word creativity is ignorant. I believe that by simplifying the words involved with these songs, listeners can focus more on the melodies that bring forth the true passion. I dont think what I am saying is an example of a fan not seeing the truth, ultimately its mr. Anastasio that said it best. "Come as melody", NOT come as words. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Though not terrible, Trey Anastasio's latest is miles below what he's done before.
  2. Billboard
    70
    Easily the radio-friendliest set ever from the Phish camp.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Anastasio's crafted the loud-but-tasteful, radio-friendly songs Phish were never able to create. [4 Nov 2005, p.73]