Shock Value II - Timbaland
Shock Value II Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo album for the producer features appearances by Brandy, Miley Cyrus, Chris Daughtry, Drake, The Fray, Keri Hilson, Chad Kroeger, Katy Perry, and Justin Timberlake.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. The sound's still high quality on "Shock Value II," it's just not 100% his own any more - maybe 50%, maybe 75%, all depending on what the co-credits really mean.
  2. So far, so predicatable--at least until "Tomorrow In The Bottle," which features Chad Kroeger of Nickelback. That guy's got a funky bone? Talk about a shocker. [11 Dec 2009, p.115]
  3. Many of the same vices that plagued the first installment of "Shock Value" keep the second edition sodden as well: Tim's precise, micromanaged beats usually outshine his random collection of vocal collaborators.
  4. Nothing quite fits, giving the impression that this material wasn't good enough for the guest artists' own albums.
  5. Shock Value II packs plenty of heat from the layered beats, but never lets Timbaland shine as the artist he wants to become.
  6. The whole thing sounds like it was made fairly quickly, as if Tim came up with a clever idea and proceeded to fill out the track with whatever came to mind first, rather than truly enhance it.
  7. Justin Timberlake and Drake both offer admirable turns, but are forced to operate with unenviably tepid production. The overall laziness of that facet is even more inexcusable coming from one of the most renowned producers of the last decade.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. May 5, 2011
    The beats are well crafted, really foot tapping, tour songs that rock my mind are carry out, long way down, 808, morning after dark.. they really made my day, something new, something that ears can enjoy, strongly recommended.. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2011
    Well the album was ok. A couple of flops but some good songs as well I guess.
  3. Oct 17, 2010
    Thanks for selling out so hard Timbo. When you see Miley Cyrus on your album, you have STOPPED being hip hop. I love Shock Value, and Timbo was the ish back then, but this is garbage, and I'm disappointed in almost the entire album. Sorry, come back again with something better please. We do want more. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews