Shock'n Y'All

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 11 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobTheRocker
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    This is a great album with some smooth licks and attitude. I noticed that some dickhead at EOnline saw fit to stereotype all those who may enjoy this album as xenophobic red-necks. What a hypocrit. Can someone please give that angry asshole a hug?
  2. FirHousen
    Jan 10, 2004
    1
    Toby used to be a great vocalist and songwriter when he was a bit serious and a bit lighthearted. Now, it's pure bravado, machismo, and arrogance. I don't care if that's how he is in real life, but I don't need that attitude in EVERY song. Nor do I need him parading the American flag around to make money. I want back pre-How Do You Like Me Now? Toby. That had heart.
  3. FirHousen
    Jan 10, 2004
    1
    Toby used to be a great vocalist and songwriter when he was a bit serious and a bit lighthearted. Now, it's pure bravado, machismo, and arrogance. I don't care if that's how he is in real life, but I don't need that attitude in EVERY song. Nor do I need him parading the American flag around to make money. I want back pre-How Do You Like Me Now? Toby. That had heart.
  4. annabellew
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    Thank God someone like him really cares for us. I support our troops 100% and as a veteran it is really touching to see that someone like him appreciates us. Thank you Toby Keith!!!!!! God bless you always......
  5. DebbieH
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    "Thank God", for Toby Keith, his musicis so supportive of our Armed Forces. My son is serving over seas, and his Shock'n Y'All music gives me strength to go on every day, and motivates others to support our troops. Thanks Again for a wonderful album. Keep up the wonderful work.
  6. LaRissaA
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    American Soldier is the best song that i have ever herd wrote for and out our troops and how he respects the honor and tradition that they instill in their everyday life
  7. ericw
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    i love the song about smoking weed with willie thats too cool.
  8. AWapcaplet
    Sep 14, 2004
    0
    A fecal tornado.
  9. AWapcaplet
    Sep 14, 2004
    0
    A fecal tornado.
  10. SamD
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    Wow more crappy "music" from a sexist redneck
  11. timduffy
    Dec 17, 2003
    0
    this music actually causes iritable bowl syndrome.
  12. NADINEB
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    This is a great CD
  13. PhilM
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Once again Toby comes through with a great mix of music. Love it!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Blender
    40
    Keith has a gift for wrapping angry thoughts in man-of-the-people plain-speak, with a Lynyrd Skynyrd-meet-Jimmy Buffett friendliness. But underneath, there's often a set of mean cliches. [Dec 2003, p.138]
  2. Keith is happy to be a dirty old SOB, cracking jokes, drinking beer, and flirting with the ladies, and that makes Shock'n Y'All a fun, rough, rowdy album that wins you over despite your better impulses.
  3. If he approached these songs with the slightest hint of subtlety, he might get his point across, but he's happy just hammering everyone with his trailer-park politics.