Shogun - Trivium
Shogun Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the Florida-based metal quartet was produced by Nick Raskulinecz.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Shogun is easily Trivium's most challenging and ambitious album yet, and even though it isn't likely to spawn any hit singles, it was clearly the album Trivium had to make in order to get unduly prejudiced metalheads off their backs and finally silence undue suspicions over their abundant talent and devotion to heavy metal.
  2. In its place exists an album that rewards the listener with sharp riffs and excellent musicianship about as often as it frustrates with slapdash structures and trite over-drama.
  3. Shogun is by no means an outstanding metal album, but it should be enough to satisfy both fans of their older material and those attracted to the meatier hooks of ‘Anthem (We Are The Fire)’ and ‘Entrance Of The Conflagration.’
  4. So while fourth album Shogun is impressive, Trivium continues ro make "...And Justice For All" when they could do with a "Black Album" instead. [Nov2008, p.107]
  5. Shogun's assembly and architecture is devoid of the lively attack and emotional elan necessary to make this a true entry into the pantheon of heavy-metal long-players. [Nov 2008, p.158]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to metacritic. They do a poor job of collecting all the reviews (they also sometimes get the scores wrong on some reviews). ThisDon't listen to metacritic. They do a poor job of collecting all the reviews (they also sometimes get the scores wrong on some reviews). This album is Trivium's strongest effort to date combining all past elements from their previous albums. It should be on the shelves of anyone who enjoys music in general. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Hands down. Best metal album of 2008. No excuses.
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Really epic.
    This work further emphasized this young band greatness and dedication.
    The riffs and guitar solos just perfect and stunning
    Really epic.
    This work further emphasized this young band greatness and dedication.
    The riffs and guitar solos just perfect and stunning detail, the bass sounds more epic than the look soft and guttural vocals of Matt Heafy and letters incomparable.
    Shogun shows that trivium is not a simple copy of eighties thrash in a modern way, this work comes (in my view) to be comparable with all epic bands of heavy and thrash metal, including the epic band metalllica.
    You can not die without having fled this epic album.
    Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    Wow. The only I reason I didn't score this album a 10 is because I just can't see everybody out there really understanding the music. ThisWow. The only I reason I didn't score this album a 10 is because I just can't see everybody out there really understanding the music. This album had one solid musical theme: To push Trivium way past what everyone was expecting. I would possibly put this album in a "Best of Decade..." list. Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    It's funny. If tracks 7 and 8 "The Calamity" & "He Who Spawned the Furies" were cut from this album, I'd have given it a 10 instead of a 9.It's funny. If tracks 7 and 8 "The Calamity" & "He Who Spawned the Furies" were cut from this album, I'd have given it a 10 instead of a 9. That's how good the rest of the songs are. Epic riff after epic riff and impeccable solo after impeccable solo. The bass and drums sound great and are sufficiently high up in the mix. This album is fantastic and the songs really speak for themselves. No embellishment here. No choirs, pianos, harps, samples, ballads, or anything to weigh it down. Apart from the two weak songs (which still would beat the hell out of half the metal bands today), this is about as good as metal gets.

    Standouts are Kirisute Gomen, Throes of Perdition, and perhaps the most amazing 9+ minute track I've heard since "To Live is To Die", Shogun.
    Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    This album is really a big departure from the heavy thrash influence that was so prominent on their previous album The Crusade. It seemsThis album is really a big departure from the heavy thrash influence that was so prominent on their previous album The Crusade. It seems Trivium has found a nice counter balance between Ascendancy and The Crusade that pays tribute to 80's thrash and the hard edge breakdowns and hooks of today's melodic metal scene. Subject to much hate from metal heads everywhere, Trivium seems unfazed by public opinion and this band basically beats to the sound of their own drum, as if to say we don't care what you think or say about us and if you don't like it then kick rocks. Expand
  7. MarkK
    Mar 14, 2009
    8
    It's better then their earlier work but it still sounds like Iron Maiden done in a very hyperactive manner.

See all 15 User Reviews