Show Your Bones

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 95
  2. Negative: 4 out of 95

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    8
    Really good album. Great follow-up to Fever To Tell. It amazes me how they've evolved as a band.
  2. FabioL
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    A great album all around. Worlds different than Fever to Tell... still a masterpiece.
  3. JustinC
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    The popmatters.com review had it right. This album rocks hard in a way that is at once distinctly YYYs and yet pushing forward into new territory.
  4. JyotirmayaD
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    The sound of a band who have found their mark and taking it to new, exciting different places! It's call growth!
  5. sk
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    it s better than their debut album. NY is back
  6. Dave
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Great CD, one of the best of the year!
  7. HallgeirA
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    cool. Great
  8. PaulO
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    A step-up from Fever To Tell, in terms of songwriting. If the intent of this album was to show that "Maps" wasn't just a fluke, mission accomplished.
  9. ED209
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Hat to disagree, but I find "...Bones" to be much more ambitious than the previous recordings. Sounds are given space to breathe, the buzz-saw guitars that everyone seems to think have dissappeared are still there, only now they are only a part of the overall picture...they wash over dreamy synths, under Karen O.'s voice (Oh, that voice!)... All in all, a far superior effort to Hat to disagree, but I find "...Bones" to be much more ambitious than the previous recordings. Sounds are given space to breathe, the buzz-saw guitars that everyone seems to think have dissappeared are still there, only now they are only a part of the overall picture...they wash over dreamy synths, under Karen O.'s voice (Oh, that voice!)... All in all, a far superior effort to "Fever...", and, aside from the new TVOTR and/or Goldfrapp, the best record of 2006 so far. Expand
  10. MikeT
    May 9, 2006
    1
    If you liked anything about Fever to Tell then you will NOT like Show Your Bones. The passion of the music, the amazing vocals by Karen O, and the alternating grinding and crying guitar are all gone, replaced by pop-influenced, watered-down rock. No punk, no spirit, no flavor. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs as you know it are dead.
  11. JohnS
    Mar 27, 2006
    7
    Alas...I must say it is a bit of a disappoint after Fever. Pretty solid album, but nothing that knocks your socks off.
  12. AlexJ
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Has a totally different sound than the previous album but I found it much more interesting although there aren't super stand out songs like "maps". But the fact it only took me 2 listens to love it says alot.
  13. AdrianoC
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Question: is "Show your bones" as good as "Fever to tell"? When I listened to it for the first time, my answer was a straight "No". Now, if you ask me, I'll say: I don't know. Not as immediate as their debut, this album has and advantage: it gets better and better with each listen. I predict a 10 ahead.
  14. Pierre-LucN
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    This album is better than the first. Even if the first was awesome
  15. cleopatraj
    Mar 29, 2006
    5
    I have to agree soomewhat with Todd L. While it's not bad, it's pretty bland. I forgot that it was on for a while. What I liked about them was their recklessnes and nasty sonic fun on "Fever..."--mostly because they were exceptionally good at it. I'm glad they didn't rehash the same formula, but unfortunately they're not nearly as interesting or inspired without I have to agree soomewhat with Todd L. While it's not bad, it's pretty bland. I forgot that it was on for a while. What I liked about them was their recklessnes and nasty sonic fun on "Fever..."--mostly because they were exceptionally good at it. I'm glad they didn't rehash the same formula, but unfortunately they're not nearly as interesting or inspired without the over the top attitude and style. Expand
  16. Rusty
    Mar 29, 2006
    5
    Five very good songs, five boring/average songs, and one terrible song ("Phenomena"). Disappointing.
  17. justinb
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    this is awesome...so much more refined than 'fever to tell,' the songs are more developed and each song is really good, what more could anyone want?
  18. matta
    Apr 21, 2006
    8
    No real stand-outs, but a very consistent and memorable album. Despite the metascore, this album is superior to Fever To Tell. A solid sophomore effort.
  19. VasSa
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    ???????? ?????????, ???? ? 2006 ?????? ? ???? ????)
  20. OsakasanK
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Jack Johnson? O_o Far from it. Show Your Bones is an absolutely brilliant record that finds the YYY's tightening up their sound and increasing their commercial appeal without compromising the passion and wildness at the core of their best work. Karen O expresses more in a single note than most singer can manage in the course of a whole song; and Nick Zinner is easily one of the best Jack Johnson? O_o Far from it. Show Your Bones is an absolutely brilliant record that finds the YYY's tightening up their sound and increasing their commercial appeal without compromising the passion and wildness at the core of their best work. Karen O expresses more in a single note than most singer can manage in the course of a whole song; and Nick Zinner is easily one of the best guitarists around, avoiding the cliches of rock guitar in favor of far more unconventional and interesting sounds. The songwriting is also far more consistent than their previous album, and that's saying something. This is one of the best albums I've heard this year so far. Expand
  21. AndyW
    Apr 6, 2006
    7
    I have to admit when I hear tunes off of Fever To Tell, I feel absolutely disgusted by it. "Maps", however, pulls off a sound that's so unique and so distinct compared to rest of the songs off the album, that I wish every track was like that. I was starting to lose faith in the Yeah Yeah Yeahs...and then Gold Lion came out. Possibly, one of the most catchiest alternative singles of I have to admit when I hear tunes off of Fever To Tell, I feel absolutely disgusted by it. "Maps", however, pulls off a sound that's so unique and so distinct compared to rest of the songs off the album, that I wish every track was like that. I was starting to lose faith in the Yeah Yeah Yeahs...and then Gold Lion came out. Possibly, one of the most catchiest alternative singles of today. It reminds of back in the day when Pixies released Where Is My Mind?, and how big that song was back then. Once I heard this I decided to pick up the album. I can't say that I'm blown away by it, but there are some pretty neat/great tracks on this album. But again, it isn't groundbreaking. Although, tracks 1 - 7 completely fit the mood of the album. So let me give you the lowdown..... Song structure - 6.5 Vocals - 8 Guitars - 9 Drums - 6 Overall album production/lyrical content: 3.5/5 Expand
  22. RandyB
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    While 2003's FEVER TO TELL had moments of brilliance in "Rich", "Man" and "Maps" and a certain appeal, it grew to be too much over the course of the whole thing. The Yeahs' new album SHOW YOUR BONES is a leaner and ultimately fiercer record. Each song sounds different from the last, and each one is memorable. Karen O's lyrics may be a bit scattershot, but they show While 2003's FEVER TO TELL had moments of brilliance in "Rich", "Man" and "Maps" and a certain appeal, it grew to be too much over the course of the whole thing. The Yeahs' new album SHOW YOUR BONES is a leaner and ultimately fiercer record. Each song sounds different from the last, and each one is memorable. Karen O's lyrics may be a bit scattershot, but they show cleverness, and her voice soars and hisses in all the right places. Delivery is everything, or at least a good chunk of it (because while a song may be saying something beautiful as in Oasis' "Wonderwall", if it's executed poorly it can sound terible), and the Yeah's play every song like it's the best thing you've ever heard. Some may carp that the Yeah's have sold out or wimped out, but honestly, would you have preferred more of the same old same old? If Quentin Tarantino had just cloned Pulp Fiction in Kill Bill would anybody have cared about the film? SHOW YOUR BONES is not the sound of a band "selling out", but the sound of a band confident and grown up enough to say: "Yeah, we sold a million records-so what about it?" So far, it's the best record of the year. Expand
  23. sM
    May 1, 2006
    9
    'Phenomenon' is the greatest YYY track ever...
  24. NickyV
    May 15, 2006
    10
    I loved loved loved fever to tell...and I'm loving loving loving show your bones...karen-O is so....different....unembarassed and raw...it's ..........lovely....
  25. NickE
    Aug 23, 2007
    6
    I give this somewhere between a 6 and a 7. The sound is definitely more polished and the songs are more tamely written than most everything on "Fever to Tell". Which isn't to say that they're bad - some tracks, particularly the first few, are outstanding. But a lot of the really poppy flourishes fall flat. By the end of this album I felt like it could have been the score for the I give this somewhere between a 6 and a 7. The sound is definitely more polished and the songs are more tamely written than most everything on "Fever to Tell". Which isn't to say that they're bad - some tracks, particularly the first few, are outstanding. But a lot of the really poppy flourishes fall flat. By the end of this album I felt like it could have been the score for the movie "Reality Bites" had it come out a dozen years earlier. And I don't mean that as a compliment. Expand
  26. ryanr
    Mar 27, 2006
    6
    Ive never voted on this, but i felt i had to for this becaus the first cd rocked my face off. I had such high expectations for this and the rock is there but you have to be patient and listen to the cd for like 5 times before your realize it. There are some really good tracks on here but as for a follow up album it seriously lacks what Fever to Tell brought to the table. If this cd would Ive never voted on this, but i felt i had to for this becaus the first cd rocked my face off. I had such high expectations for this and the rock is there but you have to be patient and listen to the cd for like 5 times before your realize it. There are some really good tracks on here but as for a follow up album it seriously lacks what Fever to Tell brought to the table. If this cd would have came out first and then Fever to Tell this album would be genious but honestly this is pretty over-rated. Lasty Nick needed to step up the game not lose it for a stupid-ass acoustic guitar. Expand
  27. geraldine
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Simply amazing. Can't wait to see them performing.
  28. ToddL
    Mar 28, 2006
    2
    Very boring. They've lost everything that made Fever so unique and fun.
  29. Matt
    Mar 28, 2006
    7
    Fever To Tell sounded like a disorganized wreck to me, with Karen O making stupid noises. But Show Your Bones has the Yeah Yeah Yeahs finding their voice. There's the occasional filler - and it's not close to a classic - but for the most part, it balances their punk energy with melody and structure.
  30. TomB.
    Mar 29, 2006
    7
    By almost any measure, this album is loads better than the first one. Tuneless yelping for most of the first has been replaced by songs here. Well done; I'd now go see them live.
  31. chriss
    Mar 31, 2006
    2
    Very disappointing. Sounds like generic indie rock now whereas before they had something different going for them. Too Cat Power-y. Boo!
  32. sarahg
    Mar 30, 2006
    6
    No one can accuse Karen O of being annoying on this record. For some critics, her newly refined, sometimes subdued vocals will indicate the band has grown up and improved. But I miss the popiness and all the moments that made me smile on Fever. I think this record gets as it goes on. It's at least melodic and tender in the seond half. The earnest, unfun, groove-based rock on the No one can accuse Karen O of being annoying on this record. For some critics, her newly refined, sometimes subdued vocals will indicate the band has grown up and improved. But I miss the popiness and all the moments that made me smile on Fever. I think this record gets as it goes on. It's at least melodic and tender in the seond half. The earnest, unfun, groove-based rock on the first half just doesn't seem that special. Expand
  33. DaniiF
    Mar 31, 2006
    7
    I prefer Fever to Tell, but there are some good tracks on this new album.
  34. ZakT
    Mar 30, 2006
    8
    "Show Your Bones" has some of the things that I loved about "Fever to Tell" and is missing some of the things that I loved about "Fever to Tell". This would be fine if it then replaced some of the old things that I loved with new ones, but it doesn't, making for a slightly disappointing follow up. (Its still a good album, I just loved "Fever to Tell", so virtually anything would be a "Show Your Bones" has some of the things that I loved about "Fever to Tell" and is missing some of the things that I loved about "Fever to Tell". This would be fine if it then replaced some of the old things that I loved with new ones, but it doesn't, making for a slightly disappointing follow up. (Its still a good album, I just loved "Fever to Tell", so virtually anything would be a step down) Expand
  35. DanB.
    Apr 17, 2006
    8
    not really a big fan of their's but this is great
  36. AaronQ
    Apr 28, 2006
    4
    Totally boring.
  37. KurtCobain
    Apr 4, 2006
    2
    Saying the album sounds like Cat Power is giving it too much credit. It sounds more like Jack Johnson.
  38. EvanD
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This is beautiful.
  39. ptha
    Apr 6, 2006
    7
    It's a toned down, more nuanced version of "Fever to Tell". It's reassuring to hear that the YYYs are not just a one trick pony. They've navigated the treacherous waters that are the 2nd album quite nicely, can't wait to hear what in store for no. 3.
  40. Frostg
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. When I read the reviews from places like Pitchfork I wonder if they bothered to listen to it more than once or twice. I realyl liked it to start with and with time I am now seeing just how good this album is. It is also not fair or meaningful to say "not as good as the early stuff". This album stands on its own merits. An album like this makes me wish I could This is an amazing album. When I read the reviews from places like Pitchfork I wonder if they bothered to listen to it more than once or twice. I realyl liked it to start with and with time I am now seeing just how good this album is. It is also not fair or meaningful to say "not as good as the early stuff". This album stands on its own merits. An album like this makes me wish I could start a band tonight and try and do something half as good. Expand
  41. AnnS
    Apr 7, 2006
    7
    While Show Your Bones seemed to me more of a "crowd-pleaser", with hints of a pop-like Tegan and Sara sound, it really isn't as horrible as everyone is saying. I agree it's much more mainstream sounding than the fantastic, loud, progressive art rock that Fever To Tell produced, which is indeed somewhat disappointing. However, I think that if this were their first album, and it While Show Your Bones seemed to me more of a "crowd-pleaser", with hints of a pop-like Tegan and Sara sound, it really isn't as horrible as everyone is saying. I agree it's much more mainstream sounding than the fantastic, loud, progressive art rock that Fever To Tell produced, which is indeed somewhat disappointing. However, I think that if this were their first album, and it didn't have to meet the expectations of Fever To Tell, it would have been given more of the praise it deserves. A good, solid album. Worth a shot. Expand
  42. AmandaD
    Apr 7, 2006
    9
    love it.
  43. ChristopherH
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Really good.
  44. JasonA
    May 4, 2006
    8
    I liked a few older YYY's tracks but never bothered to check out their first full length album. I happened upon Show Your Bones and when i finally sat down and gave it a chance I fell in love. Give it a few listens and you may feel the same way. Slightly more mature sound but I mean that in the best way. The last few tracks drag a little bit but other than that I can't fault this album.
  45. AndrewA
    Jun 26, 2006
    8
    If "Fever to Tell" was too chaotic for you, then you´ll love this record.
  46. Jahar
    Jun 29, 2006
    8
    Much more polished and listener friendly than "Fever to Tell."
  47. MarthaStewart
    Jun 8, 2006
    7
    not their best effort
  48. AmurabiM
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    It´s clear than "Show Your Bones" shows...some guts. Brave, coraegous and risked, this album is just a continuation of the wonderful job of previous album. But, "Show..." is more than that. It seems than the band are trylng not just show its bones but they are trying to do something more affordable with them. This is a personal album for The Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Looks like a change, It´s clear than "Show Your Bones" shows...some guts. Brave, coraegous and risked, this album is just a continuation of the wonderful job of previous album. But, "Show..." is more than that. It seems than the band are trylng not just show its bones but they are trying to do something more affordable with them. This is a personal album for The Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Looks like a change, musically and personally. Ambitious, powerful and conscious that they are the avant garde (for the failure of The Strokes) of alternative music right now. They are not trying to replicate its first album, au contraire, they are trying to redefine its sound. A sound than its closer to a dance punk music than art punk. Producer seems very important here. The producer makes them sound bigger, louder and clearer. They have fantastic songs: "Gold Lion", "Way Out" and "Fancy" (with some keyboards inside). But the glorious, "Cheated Hearts", "Dudley" and, above all, "Turn Into", elevates to the band to the status of great roc´k´n´roll bands. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs made a fantastic album, but the real brain in this is the guitar player Nick Zinner, a guy who plays monstruous riffs and textures similar to My Bloody Valentine, with the same skills. Karen O looks changed, but her voice is just the same. This album looks alike a couple dancing in its wedding, savage, sensual but overall, exquisitely as the whole album is playing. This is a magnificent album, a triumph to this band previousily called: "The Nerd, The Goth and The Whore". Expand
  49. Betty
    Jul 1, 2006
    5
    Very sour sophomore album. Trying too hard to fit with other things that are popular right now. Karen may as well join Tegan and Sara, she sounds enough like them now.
  50. thirdeye
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    absolutely amazing in every way.
  51. marrrrrrshall
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    reallllllllllly good album. cheated hearts, gold lion and phenomena are absoutley awesome!
  52. D
    May 23, 2006
    9
    Kicks a*% and takes names!
  53. PedroO
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Siouxsie must love this. I do.
  54. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    8
    For a band with a Riot Grrl influence, this album is remarkably polished in sound. A number of songs rate among the best of 2006, including 'Turn Into', 'Cheated Hearts', 'Honeybear' and 'Gold Lion'. Karen O made quite an impression down under in her live performances in 2003 ;-)
  55. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    Decent follow up to their debut Fever to Tell. There's not too much of a change but SYB is slightly less rocky and a little bit more melodic but has all the trademarks that would have attracted you to the band in the first place. The early and latter parts of the records do a good job of holding up a slightly lagging middle section.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Short answer: it’s good.
  2. Billboard
    60
    Much of the material on the quirky "Show Your Bones" is more intimate and, at times, tentative. [1 Apr 2006]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Show Your Bones picks up where "Maps" left off, with the trio finding a middle ground between self-conscious primitivism and refined pop. [31 Mar 2006, p.60]