Show Your Bones

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 96
  2. Negative: 4 out of 96

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    8
    Really good album. Great follow-up to Fever To Tell. It amazes me how they've evolved as a band.
  2. FabioL
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    A great album all around. Worlds different than Fever to Tell... still a masterpiece.
  3. JustinC
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    The popmatters.com review had it right. This album rocks hard in a way that is at once distinctly YYYs and yet pushing forward into new territory.
  4. JyotirmayaD
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    The sound of a band who have found their mark and taking it to new, exciting different places! It's call growth!
  5. sk
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    it s better than their debut album. NY is back
  6. Dave
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Great CD, one of the best of the year!
  7. HallgeirA
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    cool. Great
  8. PaulO
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    A step-up from Fever To Tell, in terms of songwriting. If the intent of this album was to show that "Maps" wasn't just a fluke, mission accomplished.
  9. ED209
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Hat to disagree, but I find "...Bones" to be much more ambitious than the previous recordings. Sounds are given space to breathe, the buzz-saw guitars that everyone seems to think have dissappeared are still there, only now they are only a part of the overall picture...they wash over dreamy synths, under Karen O.'s voice (Oh, that voice!)... All in all, a far superior effort to Hat to disagree, but I find "...Bones" to be much more ambitious than the previous recordings. Sounds are given space to breathe, the buzz-saw guitars that everyone seems to think have dissappeared are still there, only now they are only a part of the overall picture...they wash over dreamy synths, under Karen O.'s voice (Oh, that voice!)... All in all, a far superior effort to "Fever...", and, aside from the new TVOTR and/or Goldfrapp, the best record of 2006 so far. Expand
  10. JohnS
    Mar 27, 2006
    7
    Alas...I must say it is a bit of a disappoint after Fever. Pretty solid album, but nothing that knocks your socks off.
  11. AlexJ
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Has a totally different sound than the previous album but I found it much more interesting although there aren't super stand out songs like "maps". But the fact it only took me 2 listens to love it says alot.
  12. AdrianoC
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Question: is "Show your bones" as good as "Fever to tell"? When I listened to it for the first time, my answer was a straight "No". Now, if you ask me, I'll say: I don't know. Not as immediate as their debut, this album has and advantage: it gets better and better with each listen. I predict a 10 ahead.
  13. Pierre-LucN
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    This album is better than the first. Even if the first was awesome
  14. justinb
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    this is awesome...so much more refined than 'fever to tell,' the songs are more developed and each song is really good, what more could anyone want?
  15. matta
    Apr 21, 2006
    8
    No real stand-outs, but a very consistent and memorable album. Despite the metascore, this album is superior to Fever To Tell. A solid sophomore effort.
  16. VasSa
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    ???????? ?????????, ???? ? 2006 ?????? ? ???? ????)
  17. OsakasanK
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Jack Johnson? O_o Far from it. Show Your Bones is an absolutely brilliant record that finds the YYY's tightening up their sound and increasing their commercial appeal without compromising the passion and wildness at the core of their best work. Karen O expresses more in a single note than most singer can manage in the course of a whole song; and Nick Zinner is easily one of the best Jack Johnson? O_o Far from it. Show Your Bones is an absolutely brilliant record that finds the YYY's tightening up their sound and increasing their commercial appeal without compromising the passion and wildness at the core of their best work. Karen O expresses more in a single note than most singer can manage in the course of a whole song; and Nick Zinner is easily one of the best guitarists around, avoiding the cliches of rock guitar in favor of far more unconventional and interesting sounds. The songwriting is also far more consistent than their previous album, and that's saying something. This is one of the best albums I've heard this year so far. Expand
  18. AndyW
    Apr 6, 2006
    7
    I have to admit when I hear tunes off of Fever To Tell, I feel absolutely disgusted by it. "Maps", however, pulls off a sound that's so unique and so distinct compared to rest of the songs off the album, that I wish every track was like that. I was starting to lose faith in the Yeah Yeah Yeahs...and then Gold Lion came out. Possibly, one of the most catchiest alternative singles of I have to admit when I hear tunes off of Fever To Tell, I feel absolutely disgusted by it. "Maps", however, pulls off a sound that's so unique and so distinct compared to rest of the songs off the album, that I wish every track was like that. I was starting to lose faith in the Yeah Yeah Yeahs...and then Gold Lion came out. Possibly, one of the most catchiest alternative singles of today. It reminds of back in the day when Pixies released Where Is My Mind?, and how big that song was back then. Once I heard this I decided to pick up the album. I can't say that I'm blown away by it, but there are some pretty neat/great tracks on this album. But again, it isn't groundbreaking. Although, tracks 1 - 7 completely fit the mood of the album. So let me give you the lowdown..... Song structure - 6.5 Vocals - 8 Guitars - 9 Drums - 6 Overall album production/lyrical content: 3.5/5 Expand
  19. RandyB
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    While 2003's FEVER TO TELL had moments of brilliance in "Rich", "Man" and "Maps" and a certain appeal, it grew to be too much over the course of the whole thing. The Yeahs' new album SHOW YOUR BONES is a leaner and ultimately fiercer record. Each song sounds different from the last, and each one is memorable. Karen O's lyrics may be a bit scattershot, but they show While 2003's FEVER TO TELL had moments of brilliance in "Rich", "Man" and "Maps" and a certain appeal, it grew to be too much over the course of the whole thing. The Yeahs' new album SHOW YOUR BONES is a leaner and ultimately fiercer record. Each song sounds different from the last, and each one is memorable. Karen O's lyrics may be a bit scattershot, but they show cleverness, and her voice soars and hisses in all the right places. Delivery is everything, or at least a good chunk of it (because while a song may be saying something beautiful as in Oasis' "Wonderwall", if it's executed poorly it can sound terible), and the Yeah's play every song like it's the best thing you've ever heard. Some may carp that the Yeah's have sold out or wimped out, but honestly, would you have preferred more of the same old same old? If Quentin Tarantino had just cloned Pulp Fiction in Kill Bill would anybody have cared about the film? SHOW YOUR BONES is not the sound of a band "selling out", but the sound of a band confident and grown up enough to say: "Yeah, we sold a million records-so what about it?" So far, it's the best record of the year. Expand
  20. sM
    May 1, 2006
    9
    'Phenomenon' is the greatest YYY track ever...
  21. NickyV
    May 15, 2006
    10
    I loved loved loved fever to tell...and I'm loving loving loving show your bones...karen-O is so....different....unembarassed and raw...it's ..........lovely....
  22. geraldine
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Simply amazing. Can't wait to see them performing.
  23. Matt
    Mar 28, 2006
    7
    Fever To Tell sounded like a disorganized wreck to me, with Karen O making stupid noises. But Show Your Bones has the Yeah Yeah Yeahs finding their voice. There's the occasional filler - and it's not close to a classic - but for the most part, it balances their punk energy with melody and structure.
  24. TomB.
    Mar 29, 2006
    7
    By almost any measure, this album is loads better than the first one. Tuneless yelping for most of the first has been replaced by songs here. Well done; I'd now go see them live.
  25. DaniiF
    Mar 31, 2006
    7
    I prefer Fever to Tell, but there are some good tracks on this new album.
  26. ZakT
    Mar 30, 2006
    8
    "Show Your Bones" has some of the things that I loved about "Fever to Tell" and is missing some of the things that I loved about "Fever to Tell". This would be fine if it then replaced some of the old things that I loved with new ones, but it doesn't, making for a slightly disappointing follow up. (Its still a good album, I just loved "Fever to Tell", so virtually anything would be a "Show Your Bones" has some of the things that I loved about "Fever to Tell" and is missing some of the things that I loved about "Fever to Tell". This would be fine if it then replaced some of the old things that I loved with new ones, but it doesn't, making for a slightly disappointing follow up. (Its still a good album, I just loved "Fever to Tell", so virtually anything would be a step down) Expand
  27. DanB.
    Apr 17, 2006
    8
    not really a big fan of their's but this is great
  28. EvanD
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    This is beautiful.
  29. ptha
    Apr 6, 2006
    7
    It's a toned down, more nuanced version of "Fever to Tell". It's reassuring to hear that the YYYs are not just a one trick pony. They've navigated the treacherous waters that are the 2nd album quite nicely, can't wait to hear what in store for no. 3.
  30. Frostg
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. When I read the reviews from places like Pitchfork I wonder if they bothered to listen to it more than once or twice. I realyl liked it to start with and with time I am now seeing just how good this album is. It is also not fair or meaningful to say "not as good as the early stuff". This album stands on its own merits. An album like this makes me wish I could This is an amazing album. When I read the reviews from places like Pitchfork I wonder if they bothered to listen to it more than once or twice. I realyl liked it to start with and with time I am now seeing just how good this album is. It is also not fair or meaningful to say "not as good as the early stuff". This album stands on its own merits. An album like this makes me wish I could start a band tonight and try and do something half as good. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Short answer: it’s good.
  2. Billboard
    60
    Much of the material on the quirky "Show Your Bones" is more intimate and, at times, tentative. [1 Apr 2006]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Show Your Bones picks up where "Maps" left off, with the trio finding a middle ground between self-conscious primitivism and refined pop. [31 Mar 2006, p.60]