Show Your Bones - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Show Your Bones Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The New York trio's short but highly anticipated sophomore set--which features a mellower, more polished sound--was produced by Squeak E Clean and mixed by Alan Moulder.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    The best thing about the second Yeah Yeah Yeahs album is the fact that it defies expectations, yet seems like the perfectly logical next step for such an adventurous band. [Apr 2006, p.81]
  2. No, local slump-spotters, this isn't the Yeahs' Room on Fire. Far from it.
  3. With Show Your Bones, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have proven themselves worthy of the hype, and, more importantly, the excitement caused by an undeniably fantastic record.
  4. There's no 'difficult second album' syndrome here - Show Your Bones is the sound of a bang irretrievably, irresistibly and deservedly hurtling towards the big time.
  5. It's flawed, but applause for adding vulnerability to their game plan, at the very least.
  6. On Show Your Bones the Yeah Yeah Yeahs occupy only one corner of the territory they claimed on Fever, walking confidently in their own footsteps but without claiming any new ground.
  7. Gone is the glitzy art-punk, spastic freak-out, and unfathomable screaming. Here now instead is simple melody, nasal singing, and familiar songs, which begs the question: Y Control?

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 55
  2. Negative: 4 out of 55
  1. FabioL
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    A great album all around. Worlds different than Fever to Tell... still a masterpiece.
  2. justinb
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    this is awesome...so much more refined than 'fever to tell,' the songs are more developed and each song is really good, what more could anyone want? Expand
  3. OsakasanK
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Jack Johnson? O_o Far from it. Show Your Bones is an absolutely brilliant record that finds the YYY's tightening up their sound and increasing their commercial appeal without compromising the passion and wildness at the core of their best work. Karen O expresses more in a single note than most singer can manage in the course of a whole song; and Nick Zinner is easily one of the best guitarists around, avoiding the cliches of rock guitar in favor of far more unconventional and interesting sounds. The songwriting is also far more consistent than their previous album, and that's saying something. This is one of the best albums I've heard this year so far. Expand
  4. matta
    Apr 21, 2006
    8
    No real stand-outs, but a very consistent and memorable album. Despite the metascore, this album is superior to Fever To Tell. A solid sophomore effort. Expand
  5. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    8
    For a band with a Riot Grrl influence, this album is remarkably polished in sound. A number of songs rate among the best of 2006, including 'Turn Into', 'Cheated Hearts', 'Honeybear' and 'Gold Lion'. Karen O made quite an impression down under in her live performances in 2003 ;-) Expand
  6. AndyW
    Apr 6, 2006
    7
    I have to admit when I hear tunes off of Fever To Tell, I feel absolutely disgusted by it. "Maps", however, pulls off a sound that's so unique and so distinct compared to rest of the songs off the album, that I wish every track was like that. I was starting to lose faith in the Yeah Yeah Yeahs...and then Gold Lion came out. Possibly, one of the most catchiest alternative singles of today. It reminds of back in the day when Pixies released Where Is My Mind?, and how big that song was back then. Once I heard this I decided to pick up the album. I can't say that I'm blown away by it, but there are some pretty neat/great tracks on this album. But again, it isn't groundbreaking. Although, tracks 1 - 7 completely fit the mood of the album. So let me give you the lowdown..... Song structure - 6.5 Vocals - 8 Guitars - 9 Drums - 6 Overall album production/lyrical content: 3.5/5 Collapse
  7. MikeT
    May 9, 2006
    1
    If you liked anything about Fever to Tell then you will NOT like Show Your Bones. The passion of the music, the amazing vocals by Karen O, and the alternating grinding and crying guitar are all gone, replaced by pop-influenced, watered-down rock. No punk, no spirit, no flavor. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs as you know it are dead. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews