• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Aug 19, 2008
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 22 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnF.
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    Shwayze's album is BAD, and not in the Michael Jackson kind of way. Clearly Shwayze has no talent except a big mouth and connections at MTV. Shwayze is to, let''s say, Kanye West what pee is to Crystal. Avoid, less he will make more of this swill.
  2. SeanL.
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    This is act is terrible SpankRock rip off and shows how easily impressed some fans are these days. If you find shallow mindless lyrics over cheesy tacky beats to be entertaining then you might dig this. Just like Kottonmouth Kings, Bloodhound Gang and ICP, these impostors have no clue what hip hop is about and make money being a joke with no consideration for musical creativity. Save This is act is terrible SpankRock rip off and shows how easily impressed some fans are these days. If you find shallow mindless lyrics over cheesy tacky beats to be entertaining then you might dig this. Just like Kottonmouth Kings, Bloodhound Gang and ICP, these impostors have no clue what hip hop is about and make money being a joke with no consideration for musical creativity. Save yourself from his album which will make you dumber for listening to it. Expand
  3. CrapO.
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    Quite possibly as bad as anything limp bizcuit, yanni or masta p ever put out. The entire human race is ashamed of you schwayze, ashamed....
  4. BenT.
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    Not music, more an expansion of a very funny (yet utterly terrifying) franchise. The kind of thing that makes me lose faith in humanity.
  5. SteveG.
    Nov 3, 2008
    0
    Drew J., Shwayze sounds just like NSYNC and Britney Spears. In fact, the whole album sounds exactly like that LFO song "Summer Girls." The reviewers aren't hating on Shwayze because they like different unintelligent pop music, they're hating on it because they'd prefer something with substance or something that couldn't have been written and produced by a 12 year-old.
  6. JeffB.
    Dec 2, 2008
    0
    This album represents the worst that music has to offer. This rapping moron sounds like he's trying to be early Will Smith without the talent. Add to this some sort of brain dead stoner hippie, and you've got a recipe for instant failure. I hope another Shwayze album is never inflicted upon us. And as far as sidestream indie bullshit goes, I've actually discovered a lot of This album represents the worst that music has to offer. This rapping moron sounds like he's trying to be early Will Smith without the talent. Add to this some sort of brain dead stoner hippie, and you've got a recipe for instant failure. I hope another Shwayze album is never inflicted upon us. And as far as sidestream indie bullshit goes, I've actually discovered a lot of new music worth listening to through Metacritic. It's a flawed system, but it DOES work more often than not. I guess I just have taste and intelligence. Expand
  7. JordacheK
    Oct 27, 2008
    1
    This music is an example of everything wrong with society. Clearly pop music hasn't taken a step forward since "No Strings Attached".
  8. SarahT.
    Oct 8, 2008
    1
    I unfortunately saw these guys at the roxy in la at the andre legacy and dirt nasty concert- who actually have not only talent, but original lyrics. shwayze and cisco came out and did some songs and let me tell you- they were super lame and are complete POSERS! i bet their whole act is funded by cisco's trust fund. i haven't heard the entire album, but from what i heard that I unfortunately saw these guys at the roxy in la at the andre legacy and dirt nasty concert- who actually have not only talent, but original lyrics. shwayze and cisco came out and did some songs and let me tell you- they were super lame and are complete POSERS! i bet their whole act is funded by cisco's trust fund. i haven't heard the entire album, but from what i heard that night- i'd shit on the whole album if it was in front of me. Expand
  9. AndrewB
    Sep 13, 2008
    1
    I don't know how people can like this. MTV needs to stay out of making music. Danity Kane, Day 26 are some of the worst crap. Shwaze is a wannabe and the reviewers are all right. A 39 average is pretty damn generous if you ask me. They can do no right.
  10. RichC.
    Nov 16, 2008
    1
    Look at the reviewers, none of them have ever championed N Sync or Britney Spears. They look for originality and flair in their music, this lacks all of those. It's a tired 'thug life' pastiche. Boring and horribly shallow.
  11. SeanR
    Aug 25, 2008
    1
    Hahahaha Drew J, that was awesome. Not because you meant it to, but because your ridiculous comment with your 10 score only solidifies why these reviewers are probably right. I haven't listened to this album, but the band is called Shwayze. SHWAYZE. That sounds like a 1 to me.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. There may be no recognition of L.A. Style, but in their blissfully ignorant, lazily monotonous sunshine grooves, Shwayze does manage to be all about the style of L.A. in 2008, creating the quintessential record for L.A. sleazeballs.
  2. Adler's no beat master, and the tracks on Shwayze all sound like variations on thumb-strummed Jack Johnson tunes, topped with Sugar Ray-style rhymes about weed and women.
  3. 40
    The 23-year-old Malibu rapper's debut is as shallow as a spray-on tan; it's stocked with bro'd-out, giggly rhymes about 420-filled nights and T&A aplenty over lazy, midtempo beats from producer/reality-show rocker Cisco Adler.