User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 88
  2. Negative: 3 out of 88

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    The Pumpkins' masterpiece. Each song is constructed with beautiful guitarwork, pounding percussion, and perfectly fitting lyrics. IMO, best track is "Mayonaise."
  2. May 9, 2014
    10
    I heard this album a few days ago and immediately became a fan
    is simply wonderful, it's AGM that always makes you want to hear more
    heavy, disturbed and attractive
    as they say, problems are compensated with good records like this
    smashing pumpkins rocks
    I never wonder which an album like that would become my favorite in so little time
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    With Gish, The Pumpkins placed themselves on 'most promising artist" lists. Siamese Dream placed them on several "Best of the 90s" lists. Siamese Dream is a masterpiece in every sense.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I'm a rookie when it comes to truly appreciating music, but this band and this album have entirely changed the way I perceive music. I came to discover how many layers music can have and I found out that music can reduce you to tears when you listen to it at the right time. The powerful and still unique sound of this album remain unmatched by any other, OK Computer by Radiohead being my second at a 9.5.

    Rating a ten is something I rarely do. Reviewers, both professionals and amateurs, tend to give them out way too quickly. For me, a ten matches pure perfection. And that's what this album is. Perfection.
    Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    Easily the greatest album of all time.
  6. May 18, 2012
    10
    Has to go down as one of the greatest rock ablums of all time. I do prefer it's follow up MCATIS but this is as close to flawless as you can get. The remastered version is even better than the original. The sound quality is amazing and the extra disc of material is great for the hardcore SP fans. Today, Cherub Rock and Disarm are up there with some of the best rock singles to have ever been released but the great thing about this record is the albums tracks are just as good and in some case better. Luna, Geek USA, Mayonaise and Soma would all get on any rock album from the 90's Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This is there best album or second best either way it is amazing all the songs are great they are just either songs you jam to or songs you can just think about the world and space out into a true musical nirvana which is siamese dream
  8. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    With some fantastic demos this is an essential offering from The Smashing Pumpkins, and thankfully one which doesn't lose quality of sound in its remastering. Whilst not my favourite offering by them by far, the standard of work here will remain unreachable for the majority of bands.
  9. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    A very properly Deluxe Edition. Fresh and blunt riffs and unrepeatable tunes, the 13 tracks of the albums works as catchy as evocative. The 2nd CD proves the Pumpkins were in a state of grace that could reach never again after 90 's.
  10. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    This reissue is absolutely perfect. There's nothing more I could ask for from one of my favorite records. The bonus tracks are all great, and rare. The remaster sounds better than ever. And the DVD is phenomenal. The DVD really captures what their live sound was like when Siamese Dream was released. Everyone that loves this record needs to pick up the deluxe and vinyl.
  11. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    this album is rubbish, i dont get what the fuss is about. The first song is ok but the rest are just really boring and nothing happens
    i preferred their older stuff
  12. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    I was waiting for this day, a remastered, deluxe version of The Smashing Pumpkins classic. Full of extras. Siamese Dream is kinda of like King Crimson's "In Court Of Crimson King" full of surprises. Only Billy Corgan crafts poppier, more listener friendly songs. We all know Kurt Cobain was a genius and driving force behind Nirvana, but Dave Grohl isn't too bad neither. That can't be said about the rest of the Pumpkins, without Corgan they are nothing. Billy wrote, played, produced and perfected this album basically on his own. From what I understand he played all instruments except drums - including guitar solos. I didn't notice that much of the difference in sound, after re-mastering. Maybe it's because SD already sounded great. The b-sides are all new here with few exceptions. STP, Siamese Dream, Moleasskiss, Ache, USA, and USSR I heard for the first time and they are good additions. Overall, a treasure for every fan. Expand
  13. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    The Pumpkins couldn't get along: James Iha and D'arcy had just broken up, Chamberlin was hugely addicted to heroin, and Corgan was depressed and suicidal. Consequently, Corgan spent most of his time in the studio laying down most of the tracks for this album. Being a perfectionist, Corgan's multilayered guitar parts (heavily influenced by Loveless - "Rocket" and the second half of "Soma" could easily be found on that record) became so intricate and difficult that at the end of the outro to "Silverfuck" you can hear Corgan saying, "Okay, this take... I don't give a fuck From the triumphant "Cherub Rock" to the jam in "Hummer" to the hard rockin' guitar parts in "Geek USA" to the greatest alternative rock song of all time "Mayonaise," Siamese Dream contains everything a Pumpkins fan could ever hope for: hard rock, softer alt rock, pop sensibility, perfection. Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Just beautiful. Simply one of the best deluxe editions I've had the pleasure of owning. Of course, the original album is flawless: it continues to be one of my very favorites of all time, even after hundreds of listens. The songs, Butch's production, Billy's lyrics, the flow, and that legendary bumble bee guitar tone are undeniable. And, thank the lord, the 2011 remastered edition sounds even better than ever. It's a huge improvement over the other recent re-releases that are unfortunate casualties of the loudness war (Pearl Jam's "Ten", and Nirvana's "Nevermind" instantly come to mind). The quiets are quiet, and the louds are loud, as they were meant to be. The bonus disc is filled with interesting tracks that help build an understanding into the making of SD. Bedroom demos, rehearsal demos, and alternate recordings are a pleasure for diehard fans. The live DVD is well filmed, sounds great, and features an outstanding performance by SP. The packaging is beautiful, including postcards for each track, insightful liner notes, and a beautiful holographic re-imagining of the cover art. This is a release that is essential for Pumpkins fans, a deluxe edition that does justice to the iconic album. Collapse
  15. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    After fully exploring this package, I had no choice but to review it. This Deluxe Edition is getting my first and probably only 10. Siamese Dream DE is the DE that all should be based on. The original album touched up sounds better then ever. The second disc which features unreleased tracks, outtakes, mixes and demos, is the real attraction for the hardcore Pumpkins fan. Also included are the other things that CD's are required to have to sell, always welcome. A must have for all SP fans. 10/10. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    78
    Two decades later ... these weighty collections still earn and own those [accolades].
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    80
    Siamese Dream is full of bombastic romanticism and undiminished power. [Feb 2012, p.108]
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    100
    Manages the not-at-all-easy feat of sounding remarkably undated and, well, timeless. [#39, p. 72]