Sigh No More

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 199

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    One of the worst named bands of recent times came out with a surprisingly good album of country rock. While not the most original record (there are hints of 88-91 era Michael Stipe/REM throughout), the record is a nice breath of fresh air amongst what's getting played over the last year or two. I think the album is a bit front-loaded with the majority of my favourite tracks in the firstOne of the worst named bands of recent times came out with a surprisingly good album of country rock. While not the most original record (there are hints of 88-91 era Michael Stipe/REM throughout), the record is a nice breath of fresh air amongst what's getting played over the last year or two. I think the album is a bit front-loaded with the majority of my favourite tracks in the first half of the album, although Dustbowl Dance does nicely as a penultimate track. The livelier tracks work better for me than the mellow ones. Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    Unbelievably chilling and beautiful. The songs are all a bit similar to one another, but if you take your time and listen to the abum more, you learn to love every single song.
  3. Oct 21, 2012
    2
    If Mumford & Sons never put out another track for the rest of time, no fan of them would notice as long as they put out the song again with new cover art. Catch my drift?
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Yes the songs sound the same. But aren't they supposed to? Folk music doesn't have many variants in sounds. With absolute deep lyrical meaning, and heart warming music. Sigh No More calms you down and prepares you for one amazing ride.
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Mumfords & Sons' Sigh No More combines some great folk-sounding guitar with some urban riffs and meaningful lyrics. It's the best release of 2010.
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Well enchained melodies constituted this record of Mr. Mumford and his sons. A dramatic air of country, bluegrass, folk and even celta is breathed with gladness, though I would say the first half of the record owns the best aroma, in particular the track "I gave you all", with an expectant intro and stunning ending. Mr. Mumford's voice is like a ring to the finger. It wears perfectly toWell enchained melodies constituted this record of Mr. Mumford and his sons. A dramatic air of country, bluegrass, folk and even celta is breathed with gladness, though I would say the first half of the record owns the best aroma, in particular the track "I gave you all", with an expectant intro and stunning ending. Mr. Mumford's voice is like a ring to the finger. It wears perfectly to the banjo, mandolin, piano and well-stationed lyrics. A record that deserves to be listened to. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Genre: Folk Rock
    One of my favourite albums of all time. Marcus Mumford's voice is truly unique and he infuses each and every song with incredible passions whether it be on the more upbeat songs such as 'The Cave' or 'Little Lion Man' or the dramatic 'Thistle and Weeds'.

    On a side note if you've not seen them live then do so. I went to watch them in Lewes recently and they were fantastic.
  8. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Except for the hit singles The Cave and Little Lion Man, there is hardly anything else that this album offers. Moreover, Little Lion Man fails to compete with the other other of its genre. The albums is not an absolute disaster. It's just that it requires a lot of refinement.
  9. May 23, 2011
    3
    I'm sorry but I've gotta go along with Pitchfork on this one. It has one song that sticks, I guess for lyrical/personal/whatever reasons. ("I Gave You All." I freakin' love that song.) But the aesthetic from one song to the next is *identical.*

    I'm not saying that they don't have a certain knack for building up the tempo to a cacophony and letting Marcus Mumford's voice ride the
    I'm sorry but I've gotta go along with Pitchfork on this one. It has one song that sticks, I guess for lyrical/personal/whatever reasons. ("I Gave You All." I freakin' love that song.) But the aesthetic from one song to the next is *identical.*

    I'm not saying that they don't have a certain knack for building up the tempo to a cacophony and letting Marcus Mumford's voice ride the instruments like a wave. They're not half bad at it. But they aren't exactly the best there's ever been, yet they do it on EVERY SONG. On a contemporary level, Arcade Fire and The Decemberists easily have them beat at that. What makes those bands as good as they are (or great, in Arcade Fire's case) is that they don't copy this formula on every song. They show off their wealth of other talents.

    When you can do something pretty-well-but-not-great, as M&S do with their folk anthemic climaxes, you should think about switching it up and writing a new song once in a while. And P4k, I'm sad to say, is spot on. When every song has the exact same formula, the album as a whole starts to sound disingenuous and I become totally disconnected with it. Imagine if Fleet Foxes had used the wordless chorus-double verse-A Capella 3-4-part harmonies on EVERY song on Sun Giant as they did with Mykonos. It would've been horrible, and a real slight to the genre of folk rock.

    I'm not going to say that this isn't a good band. (Yet.) If they could chill on the soft-loud formula like some sort of folk rock Nirvana, maybe use it on one or two songs in an album, and use the rest of the space for--I dunno--something else, I can hear what they're made of.
    Expand
  10. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    If this album is panned by critics then I don't want to have "good critical taste." Seriously, what are the losers at Pitchfork thinking? Not a masterpiece, but definitely a great listen multiple times through.
  11. May 27, 2011
    6
    I think The Cave and Little Lion Man are great songs. I have tried to listen to the rest of the songs on the album, and I just think they're bantha fodder. But who cares, those two songs alone are worth having your jetpack malfunction after being hit by accident by Han Solo. The banjo is boss.
  12. Aug 6, 2011
    4
    This isn't a terrible album, but there's nothing that makes it stand out at all. It might be a stretch to call it a "good" album really. It's an album with good songs. I don't think any song on this album is a complete dud, but that isn't the problem. The problem is that every song uses the same build up crescendo triple forte formula and it wears thin on anyone with a musical backbone.This isn't a terrible album, but there's nothing that makes it stand out at all. It might be a stretch to call it a "good" album really. It's an album with good songs. I don't think any song on this album is a complete dud, but that isn't the problem. The problem is that every song uses the same build up crescendo triple forte formula and it wears thin on anyone with a musical backbone. They're clearly a talented band who have the potential to create something fantastic, but this isn't it. Expand
  13. Feb 2, 2012
    7
    Some real gems exist in this album. That being said, there are also a few really bad tunes in the mix. I do appreciate thier brand of folk. Generally a refreshing album and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something a little different. Their style reminds me a lot of the Avett Brothers...and I do enjoy listening to the Avett Brothers. I look forward to their 2nd release toSome real gems exist in this album. That being said, there are also a few really bad tunes in the mix. I do appreciate thier brand of folk. Generally a refreshing album and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something a little different. Their style reminds me a lot of the Avett Brothers...and I do enjoy listening to the Avett Brothers. I look forward to their 2nd release to see where it goes from here. Expand
  14. Aug 18, 2010
    8
    Aside from the fact that the lead singer occasionally sounds like Dave Matthews (not even sure how that is possible through his accent), this is a really good album.
  15. Mar 4, 2013
    9
    I liked this album a lot. I first heard of this band after listening to their Grammy nomination-festooned single 'The Cave', and I loved it. So I got hold of this album, and it was definitely worth it. My other favourite songs from this record are 'Little Lion Man', 'Winter Winds', and 'Timshel'.
  16. Dec 29, 2010
    2
    The point of the Pitchfork review is that this record sounds completely contrived. They give you harmonies a la Fleet Foxes, but it feels forced, not natural. They basically sound like what every band at your crappy local Irish pub is trying to be. Unfortunately, even with success in their efforts, it comes across as an incongruous pastiche of tacky musical tricks. They might have soundedThe point of the Pitchfork review is that this record sounds completely contrived. They give you harmonies a la Fleet Foxes, but it feels forced, not natural. They basically sound like what every band at your crappy local Irish pub is trying to be. Unfortunately, even with success in their efforts, it comes across as an incongruous pastiche of tacky musical tricks. They might have sounded good at one time or another, but here they're smooshed together without an ounce of creativity or musical adventurism. They don't challenge the listener in the slightest nor do they break any musical ground. And for those of you who think that Pitchfork 'disdains' popularity, check out their review for the new Kanye album... Expand
  17. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    68 out of 100...are you **** kidding me?! Listen, I don't even know where to begin with this album. It's one of the best debut albums i've ever heard, this was their first...debut...and it's absolutely phenomenal. If you don't like things that are different, or unique, or original, than crank your new Ke$ha album and have a **** blast! but if you're interested in listening to something new68 out of 100...are you **** kidding me?! Listen, I don't even know where to begin with this album. It's one of the best debut albums i've ever heard, this was their first...debut...and it's absolutely phenomenal. If you don't like things that are different, or unique, or original, than crank your new Ke$ha album and have a **** blast! but if you're interested in listening to something new and fresh and ....i dont know...actual music...than i suggest listening to Mumford, they are folk, so if you know you don't like that kind of music, don't even try it. otherwise, don't be a douche, go buy this album! Expand
  18. Oct 23, 2011
    2
    Horrible! Trite, repetitive, excruciatingly bad lyrics. Cannot understand the fuss over them. I only wish John Belushi were still alive so he could break that overused banjo over his knee.
  19. Jun 29, 2015
    10
    Sigh No More is in my opinion the best musical album ever made. The lyrics feel like they actually have meaning and depth, very much unlike the repetitive boring garbage they release on the charts nowadays. This is REAL music, makes me proud to be British. The tune in every song is extremely powerful. My personal favourites are Little Lion Man, The Cave, Roll Away Your Stone and Hold On ToSigh No More is in my opinion the best musical album ever made. The lyrics feel like they actually have meaning and depth, very much unlike the repetitive boring garbage they release on the charts nowadays. This is REAL music, makes me proud to be British. The tune in every song is extremely powerful. My personal favourites are Little Lion Man, The Cave, Roll Away Your Stone and Hold On To What You Believe. I've constantly tried to find a folk band that can even parallel this band. I've failed. The choruses in every song feel so powerful, and there is real emotion and thought put into every word, every chord. Every single thing I've ever wanted from music has been given to me by this beautiful album, which if you think very hard and listen to all the songs in order, actually tells a well-crafted story. A timeless marvel. Expand
  20. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Great Album! Upon second listen, this is certainly one of the best albums of the year. The banjo makes these songs so beautiful, and the hoedown sections are so energetic and moving. In fact, even the silences are perfect as well.
  21. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This is by far my favourite album for 2010. I downloaded it off the net but had to buy it because I liked it so much and knew it was a cd I would want to have a real copy of. Every song on this album is full of power and awesomeness. The lyrics are unforgettable and the music pulls you right in. I have listened to this album over and over again and still have not got tired (which is sayingThis is by far my favourite album for 2010. I downloaded it off the net but had to buy it because I liked it so much and knew it was a cd I would want to have a real copy of. Every song on this album is full of power and awesomeness. The lyrics are unforgettable and the music pulls you right in. I have listened to this album over and over again and still have not got tired (which is saying a lot). I can't wait until they put out another album. Expand
  22. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is an album that truly changed my perspective on music. Such passion seems to be put into every chord and every word, I am in shock that anyone could not have fallen instantly in love with this band. People need to sit down with this album and really appreciate its message.
  23. AdamL.
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    Best album of 2009. Amazing, raw, beautiful. So good. This album honestly blows me away every time I hear it.
  24. EmilB
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    I'd even go so far as to say this is one of the best records produced during the last decade. Sweeps me off my feet every time I listen to it.
  25. TylerB
    Feb 21, 2010
    9
    One of my favorite albums of 2009.
  26. TimJ
    Feb 22, 2010
    8
    What's wrong with the folks at Pitchfork? I don't think I've ever read a more shallow review of a record. For instance, how does "Fleet Foxes style harmonies" register as a negative quality? That is one of many things about that review that boggles my mind. I think their disdain for it has far more to do with it's popularity (and the way they like to disdain popular What's wrong with the folks at Pitchfork? I don't think I've ever read a more shallow review of a record. For instance, how does "Fleet Foxes style harmonies" register as a negative quality? That is one of many things about that review that boggles my mind. I think their disdain for it has far more to do with it's popularity (and the way they like to disdain popular things) than it does with the quality of music making on the record. Expand
  27. PaulT
    Feb 16, 2010
    3
    I just do not understand this one at all... it's just so gratingly soulless, and feels like a corporate A&R driven version of the last 3 years of left alternative folk..... like The Pogues but with the grit produced out to FM blandness.
  28. D.T.
    Feb 17, 2010
    10
    The most incredible new album which breaks free of the cookie cutter controlling today's music.
  29. LamP.
    Feb 17, 2010
    8
    The lyrics feel a little redundant at times, but there are gems that stand out with such stark visibility, I was hard-pressed to listen to anything else once I put my headphones on.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. May 10, 2011
    70
    Sigh No More sees four-piece Mumford and Sons strike out for equally distinctive territory, carving out a mostly winning--if nigglingly naive--debut that deserves an audience to match its impressive convictions.
  2. 80
    Thanks to a volatile mix of the uplifting and gloomy--there's a bitter murder tale ("Dust Bowl Dance") and lingering visions of death ("Timshel")--Sigh No More transfixes.
  3. Despite any popularity which may come their way, what Mumford & Sons have produced in Sigh No More is nothing more than an empty shell of a half-decent record.