Sigh No More

Sigh No More Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Markus Dravs, the debut album for the folk rock quartet went platinum in the UK.

Top Track

The Cave
It's empty in the valley of your heart The sun, it rises slowly as you walk Away from all the fears And all the faults you've left behind The... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. This is an album that knocks you over at first. But when you gather yourself, get back on your feet and listen again, you'll want to hit the play button a second time.
  2. Q Magazine
    80
    Marcus Mumford's wearied vocal keeps the mood honest, rather than histrionic, and he finds a gentle beauty on 'After The Storm's' lonely walk home. [Nov 2009, p.115]
  3. 80
    Thanks to a volatile mix of the uplifting and gloomy--there's a bitter murder tale ("Dust Bowl Dance") and lingering visions of death ("Timshel")--Sigh No More transfixes.
  4. Yet Mumford's desperation, elevated in TNT dynamics, can be thrilling.
  5. The room for improvement only makes this consistent, catchy and accessible album all the more successful.
  6. Uncut
    60
    Their accomplished bluegrass, folk and country hybrid expresses the heartache familiar to fans of Will Oldham and Damien Rice. [Nov 2009, p.94]
  7. Every hoedown on Sigh No More-- every rush of instruments in rhythmic and melodic lockstep-- conveys the same sense of hollow, self-aggrandizing drama.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 6 out of 49
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This is by far my favourite album for 2010. I downloaded it off the net but had to buy it because I liked it so much and knew it was a cd IThis is by far my favourite album for 2010. I downloaded it off the net but had to buy it because I liked it so much and knew it was a cd I would want to have a real copy of. Every song on this album is full of power and awesomeness. The lyrics are unforgettable and the music pulls you right in. I have listened to this album over and over again and still have not got tired (which is saying a lot). I can't wait until they put out another album. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is an album that truly changed my perspective on music. Such passion seems to be put into every chord and every word, I am in shock thatThis is an album that truly changed my perspective on music. Such passion seems to be put into every chord and every word, I am in shock that anyone could not have fallen instantly in love with this band. People need to sit down with this album and really appreciate its message. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing music. I just discovered them a week ago and can't stop listening to them. The lyrics are well done, with an intelligentAbsolutely amazing music. I just discovered them a week ago and can't stop listening to them. The lyrics are well done, with an intelligent feel to them. Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    Dear MadJ: You sound like a douchebag. You are exactly the kind of person I hate: The kind of person who doesn't really care that much aboutDear MadJ: You sound like a douchebag. You are exactly the kind of person I hate: The kind of person who doesn't really care that much about music, they just want to sound smart on the Internet. The kind of person that will agree and worship at the feet of Pitchfork. This is an amazing album, a great sound, soulful vocals, and it's just generally a crowd-pleaser. I'm 16 years old and I love it; so does my 55-year old mother. In summary, I point to the two reviews you have written: the one for this album, and one for MBDTF, giving it a 10. Which both happen to be the same scores Pitchfork gave them. Pitchfork publishes their own reviews, we don't need to read the summaries from you. Expand
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    One of the worst named bands of recent times came out with a surprisingly good album of country rock. While not the most original recordOne of the worst named bands of recent times came out with a surprisingly good album of country rock. While not the most original record (there are hints of 88-91 era Michael Stipe/REM throughout), the record is a nice breath of fresh air amongst what's getting played over the last year or two. I think the album is a bit front-loaded with the majority of my favourite tracks in the first half of the album, although Dustbowl Dance does nicely as a penultimate track. The livelier tracks work better for me than the mellow ones. Expand
  6. Oren
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    Very nice album! Grows on you quickly.
  7. Oct 21, 2012
    2
    If Mumford & Sons never put out another track for the rest of time, no fan of them would notice as long as they put out the song again withIf Mumford & Sons never put out another track for the rest of time, no fan of them would notice as long as they put out the song again with new cover art. Catch my drift? Expand

See all 49 User Reviews