Sigh No More - Mumford & Sons
Sigh No More Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Markus Dravs, the debut album for the folk rock quartet went platinum in the UK.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. This is an album that knocks you over at first. But when you gather yourself, get back on your feet and listen again, you'll want to hit the play button a second time.
  2. 80
    Thanks to a volatile mix of the uplifting and gloomy--there's a bitter murder tale ("Dust Bowl Dance") and lingering visions of death ("Timshel")--Sigh No More transfixes.
  3. Surprisingly complex and unexpectedly mature for a group of early twentysomethings, it's more often that their post-"O Brother Where Art Thou" sexy banjoing brings the surprises. [Winter 2010, p.64]
  4. For all the torments and uncertainties Mr. Mumford sings about on this album, there's the momentum of a hoedown to carry him through.
  5. Yet Mumford's desperation, elevated in TNT dynamics, can be thrilling.
  6. Sigh No More is an impressive debut, but one that impresses more for its promise of the future than it does its wildly inconsistent place in the present.
  7. Every hoedown on Sigh No More-- every rush of instruments in rhythmic and melodic lockstep-- conveys the same sense of hollow, self-aggrandizing drama.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 6 out of 48
  1. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    I suppose I am like the majority of people who's eyes (and ears) where recently opened to Mumford & Sons. Maybe if I were more privy to the world of "alt folk" I would I would not think so much of this album, judging from the scores provided by people with a broader knowledge of this genre. What I can say is that if this is the worst, blandest and emptiest that this genre has to offer, then those of you who are "in the know" are at best very lucky people and at worst very cynical and pretentious.
    For the average music lover who's Ipods contain artists ranging from Jon Mayer to Bun B to maybe even Eva Cassidy, this album is a breath of fresh air. Maybe it's because the perspectives of the 2 camps are so different that most will either love it or hate it. Personally, I loved it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is an album that truly changed my perspective on music. Such passion seems to be put into every chord and every word, I am in shock that anyone could not have fallen instantly in love with this band. People need to sit down with this album and really appreciate its message. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing music. I just discovered them a week ago and can't stop listening to them. The lyrics are well done, with an intelligent feel to them. Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    Dear MadJ: You sound like a douchebag. You are exactly the kind of person I hate: The kind of person who doesn't really care that much about music, they just want to sound smart on the Internet. The kind of person that will agree and worship at the feet of Pitchfork. This is an amazing album, a great sound, soulful vocals, and it's just generally a crowd-pleaser. I'm 16 years old and I love it; so does my 55-year old mother. In summary, I point to the two reviews you have written: the one for this album, and one for MBDTF, giving it a 10. Which both happen to be the same scores Pitchfork gave them. Pitchfork publishes their own reviews, we don't need to read the summaries from you. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    There they are, Mumford & Sons. The band I've come to (lovingly) refer to as either folk-pop-rock or pop-folk-rock. It's the best label for this band and their 2 albums. Sigh No More & especially the song "The Cave" exploded this band into, pretty much, worldwide-fame. A thing which breeds hatred in the elitist hipster circles of anything "Indie". So bashing is expected with anything they will do & did from this album on.
    But here's a shocker for those people.. It's a great album! They will laugh at that of course, and call them possibly me) names, to afterwards go back to their thumbs-up-asses circle-jerk over "real" (indie)folk bands. Until those get popular of course.

    Why is that important to put in front of my review? Because once you realize how that elitist wannabe-intellectual driven part of the music world works, you'll know how to spot & filter it from the "general opinion".
    Now onto the actual review.

    Sigh No More starts slow & gentle, lamenting over sparse guitar accompaniment. Until about half-way through it becomes an upbeat statement on love, repeated lyrics with building up music. It's a great starter, and will get the feel of the album started.

    Let's be real.. everyone knows The Cave. That song was a complete summer hit. And rightfully so, it's got the vibe that fits sunny weather. That may sound odd, but those weird little things are important to me. I don't listen to a song if the "vibe" isn't right. And the Cave (Mumford & Sons in general) and sunny weather go hand in hand.
    It truly is a great song.

    Winter Winds, ironically, is also a very warm and "sunny" song. Picture a sunny day in early Fall.. such an image goes perfectly with this song. Granted that you don't live in a lifeless place, in that case "point missed".

    White Blank Pages is a song of lamenting love, with increasing accompaniment & harmonization. It moves the album to a more minor sound. It's a very good song,

    I Gave You All, the first of the 3 darker songs on the album. It's pure heartbreak & searching for as to why it came to that point. Towards the end it treads lightly into the land of rock. This song is one of the highlights of the album.

    Little Lion Man is another very well known song from this album. It's not really a favorite of mine, but it's a good song.

    Timshel is the gentlest song on the album. It's stays soft during the entire song. It appears to be a song of support, of comfort. "You are not alone in this".

    Thistle & Weeds is one of my favorites. It's a song heavy in metaphor, and alludes to two persons who deal with some form of trauma. But where one seems to have abandoned all, the other picks up the pieces of him & himself. It's very atmospheric.

    Awake My Soul is kind of gospel-folk with an anthemic build-up. It works, it sounds very good. Can't say it's a favorite, but it a good song.

    Dust Bowl Dance is an atmospheric revenge tale, that also alludes to the Grapes of Wrath. It goes into full on rock territory as the song progresses. It's an absolute favorite.

    After the Storm is another favorite! It's slowed down & sounding very open. Filling the space with Marcus's vocals & some sparse guitars, and later in the song increasing accompaniment of ambient strings & accordion, and soft (well placed) hits on the toms. It's a very "soaring" song, despite it's slow tempo.

    It's a great album, it really is. If you like anything that ranges from rock, folk, singer-songwriters or generally have a wide taste in music, you should definitely give it a show. I would give it an ~8.5/10 but that's not possible here, so I'll stick to 8/10.
    Expand
  6. Oren
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    Very nice album! Grows on you quickly.
  7. Oct 23, 2011
    2
    Horrible! Trite, repetitive, excruciatingly bad lyrics. Cannot understand the fuss over them. I only wish John Belushi were still alive so he could break that overused banjo over his knee. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews