User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 220

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. zdw
    Dec 10, 2014
    9
    Gets everything right as far as I'm concerned. Has a very energetic, melodic feel. You might not care for the vocalist - Kele Okereke has a heavy accent and sometimes sings slightly off key, but in my opinion not enough to negatively affect the album, but actually adds character to it and couldn't imagine this album without Okereke's vocals.

    Banquet is by far my favorite, the "turning
    Gets everything right as far as I'm concerned. Has a very energetic, melodic feel. You might not care for the vocalist - Kele Okereke has a heavy accent and sometimes sings slightly off key, but in my opinion not enough to negatively affect the album, but actually adds character to it and couldn't imagine this album without Okereke's vocals.

    Banquet is by far my favorite, the "turning into myself" line has everything - the harmonics of the layered guitars, the start-and-stop tight mix of drumming and bass. The "I can't eat, I can't sleep" of "Like Eating Glass, the "so **** useless" coupled with the solo at the end of Positive Tension, everything about "Helicopter". This album is a true gem. I'm not one who usually enjoys most indie rock, but this has the energy and melody of pop punk with the thick sound of indie rock, and it works so well I'm surprised I don't see many others doing it, at least as well as Bloc Party has with this album.
    Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Genius, just genius. This debut album is probably the best i've heard in ages. Too many tunes that you would like to listen to over and over again, people who don't rate this album obviously don't understand music.
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    The run time of the album or the run time of each of the individual songs are of no concern. Whether or not you'll enjoy it is of real concern to you. Which you will, trust me. Donâ
  4. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    One of the most catchy and musically beautiful albums I've heard. Every track had me jamming to it and every listen made me want to listen again. There is nothing to hate about this album.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    Cracking debut from a band who have been pushing themselves from the start. 13 tracks and not a bad one to be found. Still sounds great years later. Fantastic guitar hooks, sublime bass lines and outstanding drumming. Musically hard to find fault, however the vocals/lyrics are the only thing this band don't excel at here.
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    Silent Alarm is a great debut album. The songs are really catchy and I loved each one of them. The vocals were amazing and the musicianship is great. All In All, Silent Alarm is a great album. A-
  7. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    The most passionate, inventive and intense indie album out there with many different colliding ideas and soaring ambitions, all packed into 13 unforgettable songs. Whenever I listen to this album, I find something new and always realise that its a new discovery. Greatly layered guitar work, passionate vocals, impressive drumming and melodic bass lines and I have to say it is always rareThe most passionate, inventive and intense indie album out there with many different colliding ideas and soaring ambitions, all packed into 13 unforgettable songs. Whenever I listen to this album, I find something new and always realise that its a new discovery. Greatly layered guitar work, passionate vocals, impressive drumming and melodic bass lines and I have to say it is always rare for any artist to have a good chemistry. Expand
  8. AndreI.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite albums.
  9. RobertS.
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    One of my favourite albums of all time. can never get bored of this.
  10. CassieD.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    This is my favourite album ever. Although there are no songs that stand out particularly the album as a whole brims with so much energy. Those who rated it a zero probably look for cheap thrills in their music. This is an album for life.
  11. JeffM
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    Bloc Party is by far one of the best new and upcoming bands, and this album alone is one of the best albums in the past 20 years. Truly amazing.
  12. MarkusR
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    An excellent introduction to a band with new ideas, a new sound, and nothing to prove to anyone, but themselves with their music. An auditory adventure with insightful lyrics, backed by one of the best drummers in the independent genre. Check out some of the more overlooked tracks like "Plans" and "Luno," and get moved by "Pioneers" and "Helicopter."
  13. jordanP
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Personally I love Bloc Party and there songs are awesome. But I wouldn't recommend Bloc Party to everyone but I would recommend the song Like Eating Glass. My personal fav is Pioneers for its climatic ending.
  14. diegoP.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    impossible to be still while listening to it!
  15. Duncan
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    This is a brilliant album with songs for all moods. It's a shame people feel then need to compare Bloc Party to Franz Ferdinand just because they're the current popular band.
  16. TM
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    Can be summed up in the all holy phrase, "no filler".
  17. JackM
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    Unreal Been Listening to is since it came out
  18. SeyiO
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    Absolutely awesome band.
  19. OscarP
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Every song is "THE SONG". It's absolutley amazing. And you can listen to this for ages without getting realy bored of it.
  20. BobJ
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Awesome album
  21. MichaelM
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    Innovative, magical, inspiring, pleasure to listen to...
  22. GabrielC
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Saw them live in Boston...Amazing Amazing Amazing!!!!!!
  23. c
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums ive heard in the past few years. They have a mix of emotion and great songs. Personally one of my favourite bands...
  24. JohnB
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    Silent Alarm really holds up well over time and never gets old which is a sign of a great album. I look forward to what this band can give us in the future.
  25. DanielH
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    After this album I'd have to say Bloc party is my favorite band. I love every song on this album excpet Plans and Compliments, which seem slower and less dynamic.
  26. MattW
    Apr 25, 2006
    9
    If this album is' re-inventing the wheel' as they say in one of their songs, it is a much better wheel than the old one, sporting 22" chrome alloys, spinners and some fat formula 1 tyres. Bloc Party have produced a bouncy, uplifting, powerful album with killer riffs and some surprising kasabian-esque melancholy moments. Cool as hell.
  27. BlakeM
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    Fantastic easily the best album of 2005, So here We Are may be the best song of all time its nearly perfect. great music form song 1 to 13 even the last song is a ripper, listen to this album
  28. hhovesharted
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    bloc party the best band in britain
  29. stevenh
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    this is the best album i have ever heard! bloc party is a really good band. even if you dont like this genre of music you might like it!
  30. hollyg
    Feb 26, 2006
    9
    awesome. dont you just love the drumming in like eating glass?
  31. NicoleN
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    intelligent, original, accessible. great. my favorite album of 2005.
  32. DaveK
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    Bravo! Best band of 2005 indeed!
  33. NathnL
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    best album ever
  34. MattA
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    I knew that this album was very, very good when I heard it back in march, but it really has held up well over the course of the year and is still, along with Wolf Parade, Okkervil RIver, Sufjan Stevens, and The National, one of 2005's absolute best albums.
  35. SeanD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    album of the year.
  36. SteveL
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    The best CD I've picked up in a long, long time.
  37. avid
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    it's actually a 9.5 for me. it could get better. but it's definitely the best record i bought this year. banquet just really pulls every string. you can't not love bloc party.
  38. Ryan
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album, well written down too the last chord. Some of the songs take a few listens to get there, but Compliments, Pioneers, and Positive Tension take me there.
  39. David
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Album of the year.
  40. EmiliyaP
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    Definitely the best moment of 2005
  41. toby
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    just a really good album. Its so raw and desperate you can just leave it on repeat for hours on end
  42. Jim
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    this albulm is a bloody masterpiece.One the first play it sounds rather bland but man it just keeps getting better along with franz, razorlight and the streets this is one of the best albums to come out of britian in 05, Kele is the man.
  43. AbidshanJ
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    Bloc Party makes The Killers, The Bravery, Kaiser Cheifs, and Franz Ferdinand sound like a complete joke.
  44. Roly
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Class
  45. AlexeyA
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    No question - it's an album of the year! Truly an insperational work. A pleasure to listen.
  46. AidanD
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    First time of listening,after the most draining day, sent the most invigorating naturally high fused pulse trough my body,just couldnt help but get up and dance!
  47. RasmusL
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    There's absolutely no doubt about it. The songs are so poignant and intelligent. Believe me, a few tears have ran down my cheeks at some point when I have listened to songs like Blue Light, Plans and This Modern Love. And then there is Banquet
  48. Poldo
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    the best punkish album i've ever listened to! nothing more to add. this album is wicked awesome
  49. laurah
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    i love this album..its the best...but i dont like the last song complaments its rubbish..i love banquet,this modren love,like eatin glass and all of them reali
  50. AliC
    Jul 14, 2005
    9
    Yep, it's great. And my girlfriend thinks so too. So there.
  51. BlakeT
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Incredible. Just when you think it's getting a little repetitive, it shoots off into another amazing direction. One of the best efforts of the last 5 years
  52. Jerome
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Before 2005 i was obsessed with old school hip hop but have made a complete turn in taste due to this album. Bloc Party are just perfect with every track they make. Each song is so incredible that its hard to pick a favourite, but This Modern Love would have to stand out against the others because of its raw emotion. 10/10
  53. tome
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    A band who achieve vertical liftoff and maintain horizontal balance beam rhythm at the same time. Impish implosions offset by chordal harmonic explorations allows for multiple live interpretations. It boxes and unravels like string theory itself. Great musical physics and enlightening metaphysics make the beat danceable and reverential in alternating patterns. A booster shot for the whole body.
  54. Sandy
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    A wonderful debut album of considerable power. It remains interesting throughout and even the lesser tracks are better than most of their contemporaries best efforts. Not only does this album sound fresh and exciting, it contains intricate and generally superb drumming throughout. Bloc Party are a wonderful breath of fresh air. Others have listed most of the stand-out tracks but I think A wonderful debut album of considerable power. It remains interesting throughout and even the lesser tracks are better than most of their contemporaries best efforts. Not only does this album sound fresh and exciting, it contains intricate and generally superb drumming throughout. Bloc Party are a wonderful breath of fresh air. Others have listed most of the stand-out tracks but I think She's Hearing Voices deserves a special mention. Silent Alarm is an incredible debut. Expand
  55. JTown
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    what is not to love about this album?
  56. PhilJ
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    just a great rock album..top 5 of the year!!
  57. CraigB
    Jun 25, 2005
    9
    What a debut. Incredible, fast-paced drumming slightly Taylor Hawkins-esque (Foo Fighters). Very talented drumming solos at stages inncluding those on the opening track, "Like eating glass". The 2 guitars used by lead singer Kele Okereke and Russell Lissack go together perfectly, creating a perfect blend of laid back guitar rock and fast paced punk rock. The vocals from Kele stream with a What a debut. Incredible, fast-paced drumming slightly Taylor Hawkins-esque (Foo Fighters). Very talented drumming solos at stages inncluding those on the opening track, "Like eating glass". The 2 guitars used by lead singer Kele Okereke and Russell Lissack go together perfectly, creating a perfect blend of laid back guitar rock and fast paced punk rock. The vocals from Kele stream with a Cockney accent. Lyrics are strange at some points, but fit in well with fast paced, feel good songs such as 'Helicopter'. The drums come out again in 'positive tension', and the opening 3 songs of the album give us the impression that the band can only have a fast an active side. Untrue as 'So here we are' shows us. An opening drum roll kind of beat builds up to Kele's stunning voice which is not evident in other parts of the album. Songs like 'So here we are' and 'This modern love' give us impressions of heart break and another side to Bloc Party. All in all, an incredibly impressive debut, and a jam packed 2005 tour will surely propel them to new heights come the end of 2005. And im going to see them twice this year! Cant wait, BP all the way. Expand
  58. BennyB
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    A brilliant debut. What a drummer!
  59. Stephen
    Jun 16, 2005
    9
    Stellar album, among the best I've heard in the past 2 or 3 years. It isn't bogged down by the numbing simplicity of some of the bands they are for some strange reason clumped with; the songs are varied, and the arrangements can be very intricate. The rhythm section is incredibly tight, and Kele's vocals aren't the most tuneful, but have a subtly fierce, soulful Stellar album, among the best I've heard in the past 2 or 3 years. It isn't bogged down by the numbing simplicity of some of the bands they are for some strange reason clumped with; the songs are varied, and the arrangements can be very intricate. The rhythm section is incredibly tight, and Kele's vocals aren't the most tuneful, but have a subtly fierce, soulful quality that fits in very nicely. And the songs? Awesome. I dare you to listen to 'Banquet' and 'Price Of Gas' sitting still. Other highlights include 'Like Eating Glass', 'Helicopter' and 'So Here We Are', although most of the remaining tracks are strong as well. I don't see much appeal in 'Plans' though... not especially exciting and not especially melodic, definitely a weak spot. For the first 12 tracks though, it's among the most thrilling albums out there. Expand
  60. LupoLupo
    Jun 13, 2005
    9
    A very great album!!
  61. arnaud
    Jun 12, 2005
    9
    sheer brilliance: magnificent lyrics, more than accurate drums, fascinating voice, thrilling guitar riffs and so on. This will be one of the life defining albums that i'll allways remember
  62. JeremyJ
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    It's feel good music. There isn't a serious and political overtone like much of rock music today. Just feel good music when we all desperately need to.
  63. mikes
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Has the same elements that Gang of Four did on Entertainment! , it sounds fantastic. My favorite so far this year.
  64. Ben
    May 29, 2005
    9
    First Nine songs all amazing. Then a little lull, hence the 9, but amazing last three songs. Best rock CD since OK Computer.
  65. benb
    May 26, 2005
    10
    quality album, realy mellow and chilled out!! dont leave home without this in your car!!
  66. BrandonB
    May 23, 2005
    10
    They take their winning sound and formula and mold it into 14 songs each with their own unique and interesting personalities. The strongest set yet by a new wave dance rock outfit.
  67. Andrew
    May 20, 2005
    9
    Stunning album...........songs that take over your mind and body....
  68. Fuji
    May 18, 2005
    9
    I live in Australia and had not heard of Bloc Party until a friend called me up and told me it was "doing his head in" how good this album was. I then saw it in a sydney cd store and did something ive never done before and thats buy an album based on a friend having never heard any of it. I put it in the car and by the time i got 500 meters down the street i was a fan. By the time id I live in Australia and had not heard of Bloc Party until a friend called me up and told me it was "doing his head in" how good this album was. I then saw it in a sydney cd store and did something ive never done before and thats buy an album based on a friend having never heard any of it. I put it in the car and by the time i got 500 meters down the street i was a fan. By the time id driven the 4 hour drive home i was a total addict. This is by far the best CD of 2005. Nothing will beat it either.Amazing stuff. Cant wait to see em live in Sydney. God Bless Bloc Party Expand
  69. TravisS
    May 17, 2005
    10
    This album is the best I've heard of 2005 thus far. I'd like to know the music the people like that gave this album lower than a 7. I can understand people hating all the pop indie-rock british albums coming into the U.S., but this band can't be put aside. Their lyrics, melodies and beats are all really good. Anybody who likes a good upbeat indie-rock album should pick this up.
  70. MarcAndreB
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Wow! i know i told you earlier this year that arcade fire was the best cd of the year...but the walls in my living room are no more since i putted this bloc party in my system! So melodic, intense... some kind of pop-rock-psychedelic-dance your ass off!!! I must admit it, this is my new baby!
  71. matthews
    May 3, 2005
    9
    eric m... this cd is good, and just because they are "popular" (where I'm from, Regina, it's not exactly mainstream) does not mean they are not talented. This album shows promise and I hope to see a follow up album by Bloc Part.
  72. MikeG
    May 2, 2005
    10
    This is the best record of the year so far. One of the best live acts as well, which took place at the stick. Long live the Magic Stick in Detroit!!!
  73. MikeS
    Apr 29, 2005
    9
    It make take a solid listen or two, but if you give it a chance this album will grow on you. In my opinion Best first offering since Arcade Fire and for me it's the easiest to listen all the way through since Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots.
  74. CeilingTiles
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    People with bad taste be warned -- This is not for you.
  75. GaryM.
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    This is the band I've been waiting for. This is an amazing album full of great, great songs which include "This Modern Love" and "Banquet". Too cool.
  76. JonN
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    I'm sorry. Someone said that Bloc Party are this year's Franz Ferdinand. WHAT???? Strange comparison! This is easily the best debut album I've heard in about 5 years, so brilliant that it hasn't been out of my CD player for 3 weeks.
  77. simonl
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    i cant fault this album at all. it has everything a indie listener is looking for. great fast tracks like 'helicopter' and 'banquet', and then the more melodic songs like 'so here we are' and 'this modern love'. to top it off there are the other songs in the middle like 'pioneers' and 'like eating grass'. it is fair to say that i cant fault this album at all. it has everything a indie listener is looking for. great fast tracks like 'helicopter' and 'banquet', and then the more melodic songs like 'so here we are' and 'this modern love'. to top it off there are the other songs in the middle like 'pioneers' and 'like eating grass'. it is fair to say that 'silent alarm' is a genuine masterpiece by pure indie/punk lovers and anyone who buys this album and faults it is as kele would say "a newboy". i went to see them live at the london astoria and it was the best gig i have ever been to, i might go as for to say as they are better live. i wouldnt be wrong in saying that they are the best band in the world right now. GREAT LYRICS, GREAT MUSIC, GREAT BAND. live long and prosper bloc party!!! Expand
  78. AnthonyP
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    Great album - best ive heard in years. this is my kind of rock music. can't wait to see them at reading!
  79. MikeW
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    Franz Ferdinand they are not. No, they're much better than that. This is an outstanding debut from a band that is sure to be around for a long time. If you haven't got this album yet, get out of that cave and buy it now.
  80. MusicMaven
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    I like the Killers and Franz Ferdinand. They've got miles of style, and some solid songs to boot. Bloc Party doesn't have the style, but man have they got the substance - in spades. They've blended a lot of edgy post-punk influences (Gang of Four, Wire, Sonic Youth) into a diverse set of songs while adding enough melody to compete on the pop playing field. Track-for-track, I like the Killers and Franz Ferdinand. They've got miles of style, and some solid songs to boot. Bloc Party doesn't have the style, but man have they got the substance - in spades. They've blended a lot of edgy post-punk influences (Gang of Four, Wire, Sonic Youth) into a diverse set of songs while adding enough melody to compete on the pop playing field. Track-for-track, Silent Alarm is better than both Hot Fuss and Franz Ferdinand. Best album of 2005, so far. Expand
  81. ZapB
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    This CD is really good.. I don't think they compare too closely with Franz Ferdinand, they are more straight ahead rock, where this is more like punk. The songs on this CD seem deeper and more varied than FF too. I like this CD a lot after hearing it just a few times.
  82. jao
    Apr 10, 2005
    9
    wow, they really are that good.
  83. gareths
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    if you buy silent alarm the be prepared to throw all your other CDs away. because nothing comes close to this.
  84. JordanB
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Definitely the best album I've heard so far this year, it satisfies from front to back, and does what has proven so difficult for so many indie bands recently - it sounds fresh. For those of you who wish you could love Franz Ferdinand more than you actually do, and are looking for something deeper in sound and emotion, this is your album.
  85. JoeC
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Awesome!!! Can't stop listening to it!!
  86. NiallB
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    Just buy it
  87. ErikZ
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    Within an hour of first "evaluating" Silent Alarm I had bought two tickets to see them this April and placed an order with Amazon UK. No, they're not "sexy." But what
  88. bretc
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    ignore the list of influences and hype...just listen a couple times
  89. DevinB
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    This album sounds like the beginning of a revolution. Sure, dancepunk has been done before, but Bloc Party bring a sense of focus and tightness to the genre that I've not yet heard. Expect huge things from these guys.
  90. Nickl
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    I've been listening to this album for about two months now in the frigid cold of minnesota and very seldom does it leave my cd player. It's a great album, worth your time and money, and it will be on a lot of year end top ten lists.
  91. MarkyP
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    This album is just great. Energy, feeling and challenge all in one CD. Get it !
  92. LawrenceP
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Simple and deep music at the same time. One of the best debuts in recent times.
  93. romanevil
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    ...Pure emotions...intelligence...variety of sounds...sometimes the hype is not fake !!!
  94. JeromeH
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    This is the best album I've listened to all year (of already 120 2005 releases). I can admit I'm a music elitist, and if I hadn't heard this album before all the hoopla surrounding Bloc Party had occurred, I wouldn't have gone in listening to them with an open mind. That said, I'm not a fan of Franz Ferdinand and see narry a similarity beyond geography (and This is the best album I've listened to all year (of already 120 2005 releases). I can admit I'm a music elitist, and if I hadn't heard this album before all the hoopla surrounding Bloc Party had occurred, I wouldn't have gone in listening to them with an open mind. That said, I'm not a fan of Franz Ferdinand and see narry a similarity beyond geography (and that's only if you're so myopic to view the UK as one entity). The reviewers aren't giving this band enough credit in terms of songwriting ability. It's deeper than simply "hook and catchy". Anyway, I like 9 of the 13 songs, which is a ratio only comparable to Modest Mouse, Les Savy Fav, and Arcade Fire in terms of releases from last year. This album is watin high and pretty until something can knock it off the 2005 perch I've made for it. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Silent Alarm is dance rock, but highly caffeinated.
  2. 60
    Occasional flashes of brilliance transcend the deja-vu pastiche. [Apr 2005, p.113]
  3. Removing the formulae and sensual stimuli from the Party leaves little that’s substantive or innovative. Even the most cursory of examinations would show the group to be an “it” band and not much else. However, Bloc Party’s absurdly good at being an “it” on Silent Alarm.