Silent Alarm - Bloc Party
Silent Alarm Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 213 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This multiculti London four-piece (making their full-length debut with 'Silent Alarm') has been heralded in seemingly every music magazine in the world as 2005's answer to Franz Ferdinand.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 100
    Silent Alarm doesn't just maintain Bloc Party's post-dance-punk appeal, it blows the fucking lid off. [Apr 2005, p.100]
  2. It may fit neatly with the now-sound, but Bloc Party's debut album, Silent Alarm, feels more like a modern-day dance-punk standard-bearer than a second-stringer or also-ran.
  3. Sensitive enough to charm you, yet with songs hard enough and strong enough to keep you from getting bored, Silent Alarm is already a strong contender for debut album of the year.
  4. Draws as much from Madness as Joy Division. [Apr/May 2005, p.131]
  5. Removing the formulae and sensual stimuli from the Party leaves little that’s substantive or innovative. Even the most cursory of examinations would show the group to be an “it” band and not much else. However, Bloc Party’s absurdly good at being an “it” on Silent Alarm.
  6. 70
    Silent Alarm's innovation, sense of urgency and sleek production are enough to comfortably elevate Bloc Party above the post-punk rabble. [Mar 2005, p.106]
  7. Many of the tracks (including "Positive Tension" and "This Modern Love") are so choppy and discontinuous as to give you the same nauseous feeling you get when you hear a Mars Volta record.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 121
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    The run time of the album or the run time of each of the individual songs are of no concern. Whether or not you'll enjoy it is of real concernThe run time of the album or the run time of each of the individual songs are of no concern. Whether or not you'll enjoy it is of real concern to you. Which you will, trust me. Donâ Expand
  2. avid
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    it's actually a 9.5 for me. it could get better. but it's definitely the best record i bought this year. banquet just really pulls it's actually a 9.5 for me. it could get better. but it's definitely the best record i bought this year. banquet just really pulls every string. you can't not love bloc party. Expand
  3. bretc
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    ignore the list of influences and hype...just listen a couple times
  4. SeyiO
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    Absolutely awesome band.
  5. Nickl
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    I've been listening to this album for about two months now in the frigid cold of minnesota and very seldom does it leave my cd player. I've been listening to this album for about two months now in the frigid cold of minnesota and very seldom does it leave my cd player. It's a great album, worth your time and money, and it will be on a lot of year end top ten lists. Expand
  6. AliC
    Jul 14, 2005
    9
    Yep, it's great. And my girlfriend thinks so too. So there.
  7. LJ
    Mar 31, 2007
    0
    Mega crap! Wow, I don't why people love this. The lead singer can't even sing. If you want great music, listen to Hard-Fi and Mega crap! Wow, I don't why people love this. The lead singer can't even sing. If you want great music, listen to Hard-Fi and Editors who are much better. Expand

See all 121 User Reviews