Silent Shout

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 99
  2. Negative: 3 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2015
    9
    A really killer electronic album, even if you're like me and don't particularly dig the genre.
    The tracks are dark, layered, and often aggressive. The duo makes heavy use of steel drum sounds, but keep things varied. Silent Shout, Neverland, We Share Our Mother's Health, From Off to On, and Still Light are the highlights, but the whole thing is great.
  2. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    "A hideous mess of electro noodling..., tuneless vocals."

    Do people from Q have ears, though? It's the best electronic album of last 20 years. What's better than Silent Shout, maybe Teenage Dream by Katy Perry, right Q Mag?
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    This album is a classic, experimental but still catchy as hell. It deserved higher score than this. Hightlights are "Silent Shout", "We Share Our Mothers' Health", Marble House",... actually the whole album are highlights.
  4. May 29, 2013
    10
    This is a brilliant collection of groovy electronic tracks with haunting vocals and some nice ambient numbers too. The Knife don't really sound like anything else I've heard. I love them for that. They're a shining example of how different and creative you can be with synths. Incredibly rich and varied music. I almost find it hard listening to anything else after discovering them,This is a brilliant collection of groovy electronic tracks with haunting vocals and some nice ambient numbers too. The Knife don't really sound like anything else I've heard. I love them for that. They're a shining example of how different and creative you can be with synths. Incredibly rich and varied music. I almost find it hard listening to anything else after discovering them, Everything else just seems a bit samey and mediocre/ Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Well people from Q certainly have reason to feel like fools because 7 years later it's quite obvious that Silent Shout is modern masterpiece and one of very best albums of whole decade.
  6. Feb 17, 2012
    8
    This album is absolutely fantastic - the etheral darkness of it suits the jagged hookiness of the synths and to be honest, I think the vocals add to the otherworldlybe more than they do distract!
  7. DavidT
    Mar 16, 2010
    9
    Wow! totally unique! wasn't sure at first, but seriously keep listening to it and you will fall deep into the darkly sinister world silent shout creates. Silent shout 9.3/10 Neverland 8.4/10 The Captain 8.6/10 We Share Our Mothers Health 9.1/10 Na Na Na 7.5/10 Marble House 8.9/10 Like A Pen 9.0/10 From Off To On 8.3/10 Forest Families 7.8/10 One Hit 8.3/10 Still Light 8.1/10 I budged Wow! totally unique! wasn't sure at first, but seriously keep listening to it and you will fall deep into the darkly sinister world silent shout creates. Silent shout 9.3/10 Neverland 8.4/10 The Captain 8.6/10 We Share Our Mothers Health 9.1/10 Na Na Na 7.5/10 Marble House 8.9/10 Like A Pen 9.0/10 From Off To On 8.3/10 Forest Families 7.8/10 One Hit 8.3/10 Still Light 8.1/10 I budged it up to 9 for the overarching, incredibly dark, mysterious and sinister atmosphere achieved through each song on the entire album. Expand
  8. ClifC
    May 22, 2009
    8
    It would be the best executed electropop of the decade if some songs had not the exaggerated electronic vocals and the Eurovision Song contest feel in 1 or 2 songs. But the creativity is so damn big and some beats are amazingly innovative like "We Share Our Mother's Health".
  9. C
    May 14, 2009
    9
    A Classic with simple sounds and simple beats that is just so different to anything going at the moment. Lyrically it's very deep but mesmerising arpeggios got me long before I even knew what she was signing about. The only 'criticism' i have is the synth sounds. not a criticism as such because they are great, but they sound too harsh for this album IMO. I'd love to A Classic with simple sounds and simple beats that is just so different to anything going at the moment. Lyrically it's very deep but mesmerising arpeggios got me long before I even knew what she was signing about. The only 'criticism' i have is the synth sounds. not a criticism as such because they are great, but they sound too harsh for this album IMO. I'd love to hear the same sounds created on some old warm analogues...maybe that would ruin the overall experience though? Re:Spookrijder...I would say there is no enlightenment, if it ain't your bag then what can you do?? I will say though, the first thing that blew me away on this album was the intro to 'The Captain'...it's just shimmers like waves, relaxing the listener until that vocal comes in...then once the fantastic arp and beat comes in, forget about it. class. Expand
  10. CH
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    This improves upon Deep Cuts in every possible way, and takes the sound in an ominously dark direction that is much improved to the basic synth pop stuff they were doing beforehand. "We Share Our Mother's Health" and "Marble House" are the standouts, showing the range of Karen's voice manipulation in the former, and Olof's amazing technical work in latter.
  11. Chris
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    "We Share Our Mother's Health" and "Silent Shout" alone give this a 10 in my opinion. The synth work and vocal distortions are masterful, all while Karen's voice still retains a sense of humanism, and at multiple times during the course of the CD, brilliance. It is unlike anything I've heard in electronica, nay, anywhere in a long time. I would highly recommend anyone out "We Share Our Mother's Health" and "Silent Shout" alone give this a 10 in my opinion. The synth work and vocal distortions are masterful, all while Karen's voice still retains a sense of humanism, and at multiple times during the course of the CD, brilliance. It is unlike anything I've heard in electronica, nay, anywhere in a long time. I would highly recommend anyone out there to get the live DVD if available. Expand
  12. EinarJ.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    Stunning. Just, absolutely, defining electronica album. It's bleak descriptions, it's sounds flashing through your mind, it's videos you've seen and pondered about constantly, trying to solve their awkward puzzle, the haunting sound of the vocals, the grooves you fall in love with, without really recognizing it.. Just amazing. the title track is my personal favourite, Stunning. Just, absolutely, defining electronica album. It's bleak descriptions, it's sounds flashing through your mind, it's videos you've seen and pondered about constantly, trying to solve their awkward puzzle, the haunting sound of the vocals, the grooves you fall in love with, without really recognizing it.. Just amazing. the title track is my personal favourite, with it's divine rythmn and lyrics. 'Na Na Na' is the only song, i just don't care for. I think it's the vocals, but i just can't seem to like that song. I did not, at all, like this album instantly, save the title track, and it takes, i would say, about 5-20 listens to realize the Swed siblings have created a near-masterpiece. 'Forest Families', 'Neverland' and 'Like A Pen' are other highlights, and are certainly not the only one's... Just stunning. I will also agree, that the vocals need adjusting too, they annoyed me immensely in the beginning. Wonderful. Expand
  13. GC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    I listened to this CD for the first time today, and... wow! If I'd have known from day one how awesome this album is, I'd have bought it earlier. Sonic cathedrals, indeed. Also: please don't diss Q too much. I used to read it, and while I now see how crappy it is, it did help me in developing my musical taste. I read The Word now.
  14. HarryG.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    A different sound than Deep Cuts, more darker and manic.
  15. GerbilD.
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    Stunning album. Pulsing shimmering beats evoke a glassy Nordic world of shadowy forests and icy sea-scapes; sophisticated, at times heartrendingly beautiful (From Off To On) and at all times breathtaking.
  16. MattG
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Easily the best album of 2006 in my opinion. The lyrics are powerful and enlightening, and i completely disagree with prefix magazine. The vocals are stripped of anything accessibly human, leaving nothing but emotion. I think it really shows how good of a singer she is to retain so much meaning in her words after all of the effects thrown onto her performance. There is much to experience Easily the best album of 2006 in my opinion. The lyrics are powerful and enlightening, and i completely disagree with prefix magazine. The vocals are stripped of anything accessibly human, leaving nothing but emotion. I think it really shows how good of a singer she is to retain so much meaning in her words after all of the effects thrown onto her performance. There is much to experience with Silent Shout. Expand
  17. dana.
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    Q out of touch recently? They've always been out of touch! They awarded Ladies and Gentlemen We're Floating in Space and The Soft Bulletin 2 stars! And a Semisonic album stars.
  18. c.
    May 28, 2007
    9
    i love the record, but it surprises me who else does. whenever i play it around those who have never heard it they always ask who it is and nod...
  19. EduardoO
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    My favorite album of 2006. This is gonna be a classic. The Knife created an scary trip to some sort of dark electronica... too bad they probably won't make anymore.
  20. Cactuar
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    Wow, Q are so out of touch! What is wrong with them lately?
  21. BryanD
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    A stunning collection of songs. So much more than techno or "electric" though it may seem otherwise on the surface. My advice for approacing this band is similar to my advice for newcomers to Captain Beefheart. My lesson there is, "you must push the Captain away in order to embrace him." Here, it might be akin to, "you must puch the breakbeats away in order to embrace them." Or something A stunning collection of songs. So much more than techno or "electric" though it may seem otherwise on the surface. My advice for approacing this band is similar to my advice for newcomers to Captain Beefheart. My lesson there is, "you must push the Captain away in order to embrace him." Here, it might be akin to, "you must puch the breakbeats away in order to embrace them." Or something along those lines. On about the 3rd or 4th listening the entire album changes. Once you become familiar with the songs they turn themsevles inside out and reveal their truer nature. And, yea, you can still boogie to em. Expand
  22. RG
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    if you have friends who doubt the depth of techno/dance...or think its just too cold for music, give them this album. hands down the best record in 2006, this album flows beautifully. i m not even gonna try and explain the female voice which just adds another dimension to the cryptic sound, but not in a scary way, its welcoming. but once u are in u cant stop dancing, fast and slow and if you have friends who doubt the depth of techno/dance...or think its just too cold for music, give them this album. hands down the best record in 2006, this album flows beautifully. i m not even gonna try and explain the female voice which just adds another dimension to the cryptic sound, but not in a scary way, its welcoming. but once u are in u cant stop dancing, fast and slow and absorb that voice. after few listens the lyrics start to gain more light and you go even farther into this world created by this duo. Expand
  23. GuyH
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    This is a stunning album - and hard to describe. Uses sounds from various electronic genres but they mix together in a unique way. The most important thing is the songs - and they are the most consistent selection to be found on any album released this year.
  24. MikeH
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    awesome album! it's like the 2007 soundtrack for "logan's run" like imogen heap or bjork, karin has one of those original voices. this is the perfect album to sit in a dark room with and play it on surround.
  25. NickG
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    This is the best record I have heard in years, it's close to perfect.
  26. JackD
    Jan 5, 2007
    7
    I love The Knife, and this album is quite decent. But "scary"? Absolutely not. This isn't "horror pop", it's "halloween pop". Anyone scared by this needs to listen to some Coil, Nurse With Wound, or even the newer Gary Numan releases... Overall worth hearing if not buying, but I wish Karin would write some lyrics that someone besides just HER would find emotional/intellectual merit in.
  27. brandon
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    The Knife's sound is unrivaled by pretty much anything else in music right now. They are daring and unique, and for that Silent Shout is an album that should be in everyone's collections.
  28. stellaplastic
    Jan 2, 2007
    8
    hyperventilatingly addictive
  29. RykerX
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    My favorite album since Illinois.
  30. willyl
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Adictive!, an album that feeds dreams and nightmares
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. A much darker, more ambitious set of songs than the Knife's previous work.
  2. On Silent Shout, The Knife have shaken off their more tangential musical inclinations and produced an intensely cohesive album, a monochrome rainbow that has emerged from the unfocused torrential rainstorm of before.
  3. This is one of the most rich and accomplished albums of recent times. Essential.