User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 105
  2. Negative: 3 out of 105

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeH
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    awesome album! it's like the 2007 soundtrack for "logan's run" like imogen heap or bjork, karin has one of those original voices. this is the perfect album to sit in a dark room with and play it on surround.
  2. RG
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    if you have friends who doubt the depth of techno/dance...or think its just too cold for music, give them this album. hands down the best record in 2006, this album flows beautifully. i m not even gonna try and explain the female voice which just adds another dimension to the cryptic sound, but not in a scary way, its welcoming. but once u are in u cant stop dancing, fast and slow and if you have friends who doubt the depth of techno/dance...or think its just too cold for music, give them this album. hands down the best record in 2006, this album flows beautifully. i m not even gonna try and explain the female voice which just adds another dimension to the cryptic sound, but not in a scary way, its welcoming. but once u are in u cant stop dancing, fast and slow and absorb that voice. after few listens the lyrics start to gain more light and you go even farther into this world created by this duo. Expand
  3. willyl
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Adictive!, an album that feeds dreams and nightmares
  4. ToddW
    Sep 21, 2006
    8
    It took a couple of listens, but I think I get it. The "Gobblin' Glam" label is overwrought, but this is a fine album. The music is fresh and Karin Dreijer's vocals alone are worth the price of admission. I can leave her brother's Lurch-like meanderings, but their inventive electronica more than makes up for his shortcomings.
  5. thibaultv
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    This is one of the most original and refreshing albums of the year. I'm quite wondering how much Q magazine knows about music. OK, I understand you don't like this kind of music, but a magazine has to be objectif. And if you fancy to be a magazine that reviews albums, you must admit this is pure quality.
  6. NickG
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    This is the best record I have heard in years, it's close to perfect.
  7. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Well people from Q certainly have reason to feel like fools because 7 years later it's quite obvious that Silent Shout is modern masterpiece and one of very best albums of whole decade.
  8. CH
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    This improves upon Deep Cuts in every possible way, and takes the sound in an ominously dark direction that is much improved to the basic synth pop stuff they were doing beforehand. "We Share Our Mother's Health" and "Marble House" are the standouts, showing the range of Karen's voice manipulation in the former, and Olof's amazing technical work in latter.
  9. dana.
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    Q out of touch recently? They've always been out of touch! They awarded Ladies and Gentlemen We're Floating in Space and The Soft Bulletin 2 stars! And a Semisonic album stars.
  10. KootE
    Aug 11, 2006
    9
    Such an inventive and atmospheric record that you can still move to. Good work Q magazine for completely exagerating and distorting the review.
  11. BryanD
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    A stunning collection of songs. So much more than techno or "electric" though it may seem otherwise on the surface. My advice for approacing this band is similar to my advice for newcomers to Captain Beefheart. My lesson there is, "you must push the Captain away in order to embrace him." Here, it might be akin to, "you must puch the breakbeats away in order to embrace them." Or something A stunning collection of songs. So much more than techno or "electric" though it may seem otherwise on the surface. My advice for approacing this band is similar to my advice for newcomers to Captain Beefheart. My lesson there is, "you must push the Captain away in order to embrace him." Here, it might be akin to, "you must puch the breakbeats away in order to embrace them." Or something along those lines. On about the 3rd or 4th listening the entire album changes. Once you become familiar with the songs they turn themsevles inside out and reveal their truer nature. And, yea, you can still boogie to em. Collapse
  12. GerardD
    Nov 9, 2006
    9
    I can't understand how songs as "Like a Pen" can leave anyone unimpressed. Captivating music...
  13. ElliottM
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    That Q Magazine review infuriates me. I know the phrase gets thrown around a lot, but this is truly a masterwork, an essential modern album.
  14. Cables
    Aug 12, 2006
    8
    Q magazine makes entertainment weekly look intelligent. That's not a good thing. Buy this album.
  15. mihaiv
    Aug 14, 2006
    9
    Excellent. Very original.
  16. TylerT
    Aug 15, 2006
    9
    Amazing! Scary, and beautiful! Top 5 best I have heard this year.
  17. Cactuar
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    Wow, Q are so out of touch! What is wrong with them lately?
  18. EduardoO
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    My favorite album of 2006. This is gonna be a classic. The Knife created an scary trip to some sort of dark electronica... too bad they probably won't make anymore.
  19. DavidT
    Mar 16, 2010
    9
    Wow! totally unique! wasn't sure at first, but seriously keep listening to it and you will fall deep into the darkly sinister world silent shout creates. Silent shout 9.3/10 Neverland 8.4/10 The Captain 8.6/10 We Share Our Mothers Health 9.1/10 Na Na Na 7.5/10 Marble House 8.9/10 Like A Pen 9.0/10 From Off To On 8.3/10 Forest Families 7.8/10 One Hit 8.3/10 Still Light 8.1/10 I budged Wow! totally unique! wasn't sure at first, but seriously keep listening to it and you will fall deep into the darkly sinister world silent shout creates. Silent shout 9.3/10 Neverland 8.4/10 The Captain 8.6/10 We Share Our Mothers Health 9.1/10 Na Na Na 7.5/10 Marble House 8.9/10 Like A Pen 9.0/10 From Off To On 8.3/10 Forest Families 7.8/10 One Hit 8.3/10 Still Light 8.1/10 I budged it up to 9 for the overarching, incredibly dark, mysterious and sinister atmosphere achieved through each song on the entire album. Expand
  20. CatcherintheLye
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Ditto...but with Thom Yorke and The Mars Volta as the closest competition.
  21. DecepticonPom
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Album of the year so far...with little competition.
  22. RykerX
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    My favorite album since Illinois.
  23. matta
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    Wow, Q Magazine really dropped the ball on this one. I'm in disbelief at the ridiculously low rating, and I didn't even like the album as much as a lot of people I know. Anway, solid album. Not quite in the same teir as Notwist, 13 & God, Hood territory but still an interesting, extremely dark electronic album.
  24. SeniorSandwich
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    Why the f*ck would someone include Q magazine as a review source, people read that sh!t? delete that score and you'll end up with a more accurate overall.
  25. thomass
    Aug 11, 2006
    9
    I love that you took this path on your latest album! Big fan since the days of "Honey is Cool". Love the beats, and the wocals are still cutting edge.
  26. robert
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    This is a great album, and will be an album that I will go back to often, years from now. Definitely in my year end best list and most likely my album of the year.
  27. JuanB
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    We'd have have an 81 on our hands if it weren't for the idiocy of Q Magazine, just so you know.
  28. RicoD.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    This is the best thing I've heard all year. It's best played loud in a car when it rains. Some of the CD isn't really that dark (ignoring the lyrics). I just love this. It will be staying in my CD changer for a very long time.
  29. StephenB
    Sep 15, 2006
    8
    I've listened maybe 12 - 15 times now and quite like this album. Very modern, love the lyrics. I tell my friends it sounds like the "Anti-Abba"
  30. GuyH
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    This is a stunning album - and hard to describe. Uses sounds from various electronic genres but they mix together in a unique way. The most important thing is the songs - and they are the most consistent selection to be found on any album released this year.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. A much darker, more ambitious set of songs than the Knife's previous work.
  2. On Silent Shout, The Knife have shaken off their more tangential musical inclinations and produced an intensely cohesive album, a monochrome rainbow that has emerged from the unfocused torrential rainstorm of before.
  3. This is one of the most rich and accomplished albums of recent times. Essential.