Silver & Gold [Boxset] - Sufjan Stevens
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    For the most part, Silver & Gold stays true to Stevens' predilection for kitchen sink, lo-fi chamber pop, but he plays fast and loose with the formula.
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    89
    With more than two-and-a-half hours of music and enough extras to keep children of all ages occupied deep into the long winter's night, Stevens once again pulls off a wondrously wide-eyed antidote to the boring Christmas album.
  3. 60
    We're given a playful, fun, but ultimately unrewarding compilation for anyone other than completionists.
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    70
    It's very odd, varies wildly in tone and has its fair share of clunky bits, but it's all done in the spirit of fun and is always endearingly sincere.
  5. 70
    The darkness that gripped Stevens during his last outing seems to be still tugging at his heels. But compelling as those moments are, more fun are the tracks where he puts his expansive imagination to use and lets go a little.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    75
    It's an ugly, beautiful, totally fascinating Christmas album, made by the only artist crazy enough to tackle the season in all its sprawling absurdity.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    78
    Unlike the meticulously pleasant Songs for Christmas, which more or less sounds exactly like what a casual fan (or detractor) might expect a Sufjan Stevens Christmas box set to sound like, the music inside Silver & Gold can be as downright strange as its accompanying accessories.
  8. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    All in all, Silver & Gold makes for a nice paring with Stevens' previous Xmas box set collection Songs for Christmas.
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    60
    So much, in other words, that wading through it feels as much of a chore as a joy.
  10. 100
    Part of its success is due to Stevens' uniquely ambivalent position, at once ingenious and ingenuous.
  11. 80
    Overall the compilation makes its way towards a bigger story of many ideas, emotions and textures.
  12. Dec 11, 2012
    70
    Inspired, frustrating, wayward, indulgent, funny, heartfelt and eclectic, taken in one sitting it's far too much, like gorging on the most excessive turkey dinner with all the trimmings. [Jan 2013, p.97]
  13. Dec 11, 2012
    70
    Some of the fun songs work on a larger scale and bear repeating.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    Sufjan Stevens adds some interesting electronic vibes to some standard Christmas Songs and other songs meant to emote the feelings people goSufjan Stevens adds some interesting electronic vibes to some standard Christmas Songs and other songs meant to emote the feelings people go through during the holidays. My favorite are the standards. I tried playing this as the backdrop for our Christmas Eve party, but my older sister (she likes R&B and jazz) wasn't having any of it, and I had to keep putting Sufjan back on when she turned it off. It's MY house you know! Sheesh. Hey! There's another tense, negative Christmas emotion for Sufjan to turn into music -- hating your siblings! lol Full Review »
  2. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    It is Christmas Eve, so I'm afraid I don't have a lot of time to spend on a review, but if you liked Songs for Christmas, I think I can safelyIt is Christmas Eve, so I'm afraid I don't have a lot of time to spend on a review, but if you liked Songs for Christmas, I think I can safely say you won't be any less happy with Silver and Gold. It's truly another gem from Sufjan. What a great present for the whole family! Full Review »