• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Feb 12, 2008
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 54
  2. Negative: 13 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FEROZ
    May 3, 2008
    9
    its a gr8 album. They rock as usual. I don't understand what makes them give it a score of 51. it deserves above 89.
  2. ShaunM.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    I read in the last album reviews, people saying Simple Plan is a band for girls. It's not true I been a fan of them for awhile, they have great music. People who going to be a bully and say mean things should just leave this area and get a life cause Simple Plan and their fans(like me) don't care how much you like them.
  3. BarryC.
    Apr 9, 2008
    3
    An album for the sake of an album. A new attempt at some strange shell of a once great genre called punk. The album is completely uninteresting, and downright mind-numbing at times.
  4. SimonB
    May 13, 2008
    4
    I got to listen to the album personally. I expected to be blown away from how much it'd suck and be the repetitive drenching pop the latter ones were. Instead, I actually saw some form of change in the band. A few songs were good, the others took the whole basis of the singer's self-worth over anyone else. "Why is everybody complaining?" cries Pierre in just about every single I got to listen to the album personally. I expected to be blown away from how much it'd suck and be the repetitive drenching pop the latter ones were. Instead, I actually saw some form of change in the band. A few songs were good, the others took the whole basis of the singer's self-worth over anyone else. "Why is everybody complaining?" cries Pierre in just about every single song, like he's not part of the problems surrounding him. And please don't tell me the album's good because "they made it to be this way", because I'll just tell you you've become a fanboy or fangirl of a generic pop culture. Good SOUND doesn't make good music. Simple Plan's still a teen girl band for girls who need attention their parents clearly don't. Expand
  5. HowCouldThisHappenToMe?
    Feb 13, 2008
    0
    It's Simple Plan....what else do you need to say to justify the 0?
  6. JuliaA.
    Feb 16, 2008
    1
    Always been too cliche...and oh wow, they're so punk (not).
  7. SamW.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    As a 13 year old girl, I can really relate to the lyrics. Simple Plan understands me! They know what I'm going through. No it's not a little strange these 20-something men are writing about stuff that a 13 year old girl wants to hear. Simple Plan is hardcore guys!
  8. SteveO
    May 13, 2008
    0
    Simple Plan? Come on people, you're better then this.
  9. JessicaG.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    I agree with Tague...... screw what the critics say...Simple Plan really does get your attention.
  10. Nahid
    Mar 27, 2008
    4
    I have been a devoted fan of sp since i came accross their first album. It saddens me to say their music has deteroited to nothing but artificially manufactured noise in this album. In my opiniom its their weakest effort to date.
  11. SteveM
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    It is Simple Plan going pop, which provides some catchy moments. But musically, talent-wise? It is still Simple Plan. And that means endless cliches and overused phrases for lyrics...but isn't that what this entire genre has become? Personally, I enjoyed the album but I also am aware that it is only because I have listened to Simple Plan from the start, and have developed a taste for It is Simple Plan going pop, which provides some catchy moments. But musically, talent-wise? It is still Simple Plan. And that means endless cliches and overused phrases for lyrics...but isn't that what this entire genre has become? Personally, I enjoyed the album but I also am aware that it is only because I have listened to Simple Plan from the start, and have developed a taste for them. Plus, it is a far cry from their previous album "Still Not Getting Any". I wouldn't necessarily expect others to see the good in them, especially if this is the first Simple Plan CD they've heard. Expand
  12. ArleneC.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    I really love this album and could relate to the songs.
  13. LeeS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    8
    The song is very punk enough and its really Rock up my heart.
  14. KarinaO
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    The album is sick. period. screw all bad critics.
  15. AdamM.
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    A solid overall album! Every song sounded like a hit, and kept me wanting more Simple Plan.
  16. JoeM
    Aug 15, 2008
    9
    This is a brilliant album. I think that it is their best album yet.
  17. TagueW.
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    Screw what the critics say. This album is amazing. In terms of sound, this is their best. Almost every song gets me hooked. By far the best album I've heard so far this year.
  18. RandiS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    7
    anyone who rates lower than this i just trying to be cool. the album was actually good..
  19. Kristy
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Julia: Please note that the critics and haters are the ONLY ones calling Simple Plan "punks". The band and (most) fans are very aware of who they really are. They aren't punk and they don't try to be, so there really is no point in calling attention to the obvious and using it to insult them. As for the album...it is different, more commercial. I think it's a bit more Julia: Please note that the critics and haters are the ONLY ones calling Simple Plan "punks". The band and (most) fans are very aware of who they really are. They aren't punk and they don't try to be, so there really is no point in calling attention to the obvious and using it to insult them. As for the album...it is different, more commercial. I think it's a bit more mature, musically and lyrically BUT it is still the same depressive, clicheed lyrics over an upbeat, poppy sound. That's Simple Plan, and I wouldn't change it for the world :) Expand
  20. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This album is a great melodic album for someone who is looking for nice and catchy guitar parts together with great vocals. Now, before all the bashing begins, this album is for TEENS! Means an adult might not like this, that's alright. But for what it is, which is a melodic rock album for teens I give it a 9.
  21. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    This album is tied for the best album i have ever heard in my entire life. I love this record, and Simple Plan is my favorite band in the entire world of music. My favorite songs are "Your Love is a Lie", "Save You", "Generation", and "Time To Say Goodbye. This album is their best album ever.
  22. Sep 4, 2013
    7
    Better than "Get Your Heart On" By miles, had much more rememberable tracks and only a few forgettable. Definitely would recommend this to any Pop-Rock fan! Definitely not their best though!!

    *Ps. I love people who act like Simple Plan are a forgettable band will then go listen to today's pop and rap music or metal for that metal.. no rock band today even compares to the legends from
    Better than "Get Your Heart On" By miles, had much more rememberable tracks and only a few forgettable. Definitely would recommend this to any Pop-Rock fan! Definitely not their best though!!

    *Ps. I love people who act like Simple Plan are a forgettable band will then go listen to today's pop and rap music or metal for that metal.. no rock band today even compares to the legends from the 60s and 70s, but simple plan at least sticks with their own style and doesnt go too poppy.. well minus Get your Heart On*
    Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. The whining hasn't let up (see 'No Love' and 'Generation'), but the fun hasn't either. Credit the producers.
  2. Alternative Press
    80
    The release does establish Simple Plan as on e of the most consistent acts making music today. [Feb 2008, p.109]
  3. Simple Plan's plan--to get you bouncing, bobbing, and otherwise grooving--is still simple. And like all uncomplicated strategies, it's still remarkably effective.